We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday Lunch!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went to Ty Newydd for a Sunday Lunch recently, and i have to say it was probably the best i have ever had! The new renovations make the place look stylish and contemporary, which seems worlds apart from the old decor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batmanuel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    181
    114
    35
    37
See reviews for
85
319
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is a bit of a mixture. We stayed in one of the front facing rooms, which are large with a spacious bathroom and great shower. Clean and well looked after, bed very comfortable. There was a wedding while we stayed, but it was to the rear and caused us no problems. The staff were on the whole helpful and friendly in an efficient sort of way. The restaurant is very nicely done and the food very good in the evenings. There was a certain lack of attention of detail, we arrived late, as planned, were in the restaurant before it closed, but they appeared distracted, no promised bread, reminded about water and one person had to search for cutlery, messages not passed on by reception.
watery scrambled eggs, instant coffee and tinned fruit for breakfast seems very 1960's and not worthy of a four star hotel. I would like to give it a four, but somehow it doesnt quite make it

Room Tip: get one of the rooms on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a living social deal which included either a meal from the set menu, or money toward a meal from the a la carte menu. We opted for the a la carte option and were not disappointed.
The food was lovely, the service was excellent, all in all a very enjoyable evening.
The restaurant has undergone a major face lift and is so much better for that.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgriffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break here, friday night was very good, but saturday night the hotel was hosting a wedding, people where running up and down the corridors till 3:30 am, so not much sleep. We had a standard room with window looking inwards. it was a small and dark room. The food was acceptable for the deal we had, but drinks are expensive. If you are looking for a quiet get away from it weekend country break, make sure you go on a weekend when a wedding is not booked. Did make the receptionist aware of the noise problem on checkout but it feel on deaf ears. Would we go back possibly if there was not a wedding on!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettyfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently attended an evening function at this hotel. We found the drinks to be very expensive and the hog roast buffet to be very basic. The hog roast consisted of shredded ham and pork, and the buffet a very basic lettuce salad with halved jacket potatoes and chips. No dessert. Not impressed.

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed on a KGB two night break deal that included a two course dinner in mid June,our room was spacious clean but looking a bit tired As other reviewers have stated the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment program and if they make the bedrooms as good as the refurbished restaurant then they will be first class.Our meal in the restaurant on the first night was excellent as was the breakfast on both mornings,good quality and tasty.
Staff were friendly and helpfull and will give you all the info on local walks and places to explore,
we did a nice two mile walk to a fantastic waterfall and luckily the weather was fine,really enjoyed it.Overall we had a great two night break and as the ongoing refurbishment progresses to other bedrooms this will become a great country hotel.

Room Tip: I do believe there are some ground floor refurbished bedrooms available now. one more tip if you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Larryp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although we have lived locally for many years,we had not visited the Tynewydd country hotel, but decided to give it ago today, my what a surprise . The grounds are lovely and what we saw of the reception area and restaurant was very clean and tastefully decorated. The staff were polite, very helpful and nicely turned out. We had the 3 course special at a price of £15.95, excellent value for money, and each of our meals were very good indeed, well cooked and well presented. This was an absolute joy today, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hirwaun
5.7 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
315 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
941 reviews
12.1 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
416 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Property: Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Address: Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, Aberdare CF44 9SX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Aberdare > Hirwaun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Newydd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ty Newydd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd Country Aberdare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing