We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gaerwen Fish And Chip Shop
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Gaerwen
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent fish (cod) & chips cooked to order. Local patronage pretty obvious while eating my lunchtime meal in my car in the car park. A real pity this chippie has no eat-in potential. It is what it is, a brilliant little food shack in the middle of the island of Anglesey. The only downside was the poor young girl frying the fish. Welsh was clearly her first language, her English let her down somewhat. But she can certainly cook fish & chips really well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb Cooked to order Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

From the road this does not look like the sort of place to stop at - BIG MISTAKE!! The Fish was superb - freshly cooked whilst we waited. This is fish and chips at it's best, I'm only sorry we didn't find out just how good until the last night of our holiday!

There is also the added bonus of off road parking which is brilliant as it is on the A%.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a great chippy tea here. Fish and chips to die for. Its a shame they are not open for longer hours. But in quite location so understandable

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebaybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best chippie on Anglesey”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Ok, let's get this straight. There's no restaurant, it's a fish and chip takeaway. It's on the old A5. Small off road car park right next to the chippie. It looks unassuming. There's only a sandwich board outside to say its open. It's a small converted former residential property. But make no mistake, this place serves the best fish and chips on the island. The fish, cod, is fresh, firm and deliciously battered. Chips are cooked to perfection. I've used the place over a number of years and I've never had that rank fat taste.

Lunchtimes, there's a constant stream of locals who pull in. Builders, council, long haul operators, I've seen all and they go out of their way to lunch here. I do the same and will happily plan a beach walk rounded off with cod and chip lunch. Bit out of the way home, but worth it. Great batter, brilliant chips, my favourite takeaway for miles and well worth a detour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Astralsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaerwen Fish And Chip Shop also viewed

Benllech, Island of Anglesey
Moelfre, Island of Anglesey
 
Gaerwen, Island of Anglesey
 
Newborough, Island of Anglesey
Valley, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Gaerwen Fish And Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing