We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Dini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Dini
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

we have stayed here twice now, both times in Room 105, the two bedroom apartment on the ground floor.
the first year booking in was a nightmare as the room wasn't ready until after 3:00, and our flight arrived around 10:00am, with the 2 hour drive, we were left to wander around and discover the area for two hours, not something we wanted to do since we hadn't slept for 36 hours, never mine, the room was lovely as is the apartment and the pool is a god send despite the bloody wasps which were worse the first year.
the second year we knew that access wouldn't be until after 3:00 although still a pain, as you need to vacate your room by 10:00am, and bearing in mind the flights are early, most are gone by 08:00am, giving the staff 7 hours to clean a few rooms!
weather beautiful, countryside beautiful, Italy well beautiful, would we go again, well we have done this area to death, but probably as it is soooo relaxing

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

On the arrival to villa Dini 15:20, expecting to go straight into our appartment to crash, we were unable due to cleanners having not cleanned it!. I explained to reception that I had been travelling since 01:30am, I received no appology, it states on the paper work you can check in between 15:00 & 19:00. We stayed here for two weeks in a two bedroom appartment 105. The appartment was spacious, nice & cool, great retreat from the mid-day sun. The kitchen was well equiped with a 4 ring hob, oven, pots & pans but no microwave "big plus" there's a large ceiling fan which works well. The 1st bedroom is very large, 1 double bed with another single, 1 large wardrobe but not enough hangers, again a large ceiling fan, which is great. The 2nd bedroom "The good points" ,it's half the size but still a good size with a large wardrobe, dressing table & again a large ceiling fan which works very well. The "Bad Points" if you have got someone of a larger build upstairs you can hear every move they make or if they walk flat footed. Also there was a waste water pipe which runs from the appartment above through your bedroom, so if somebody above likes getting up early on their holiday & start washing up, your gonna hear about it when they pull that plug!! The bathroom was a good size no problems other than on arrival there were no other spare toilet rolls . We had no problems with a fresh change of linen & towels half way through. In a summary the pro's out weigh the cons, so I would stay here again but wear ear plugs at night or drink more lovely Tuscan wine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My review is just for the restaurant at the sister hotel. I emailed Filippo at the restaurant prior to our departure, to book a table for my husbands 40th birthday. As I am gluten, wheat and dairy free, I asked if he could cater for this and he said he could. On our arrival, the waiter informed me of my menu for the evening and then advised us what the rest of the family would be eating. The kids would never have chosen their meals, but to all of our surprise they enjoyed all of it! My gluten free pasta tasted like normal pasta! It' was by far the best meal of our whole holiday and I wish now that I hadn't just saved it as a surprise meal and we that we should have gone there more during our holiday! Thank you Filippo!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

A little apprehensive after reading review - but pleasantly surprised. No musty smells from the shower, a toilet that flushed every time and an adequately stocked kitchen, apartment very clean.
Was made aware that disposit was required and that linen only changed once a week, before we travelled - although a change of towels would be appreciated.
We must have been lucky - travelling late in season, as we had no problem with noise from the upstairs apartment.
Restaurant attached to sister hotel 300m away, although a set menu excellent food, good value & service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

This apartment was very basic and we expected more for the price we paid to Thomson. We arrived via the side door and walked into spiders webs. The place had a fusty smell and a very unpleasant smell of open drains which we traced to the shower cubicle. The bathroom was very basic and the toilet very difficult to flush. The towels provided had to last us a week as we objected to paying 21 euros to change them. Not even a bottle of water awaited us and the shops were many miles away. We had to pay 100 euros as deposit for a key. The kitchen was poorly equipped and a dirty sponge was left for our use. Due to lack of insulation there was noise until late at night from the flat above. Tuscany however is fabulous, we've been several times to Tuscany but would never go back to this villa nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LancashireSuemac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel San Gimignano
2.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
6.6 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dini

Property: Villa Dini
Address: Localita Decimo | Via di Castel San Gimignano, 53030 Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Castel San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Castel San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Dini 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Dini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dini Hotel Castel San Gimignano
Villa Dini San Gimignano/Castel San Gimignano, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing