We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful and relaxing place to stay - a home...”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
the large bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
the large bedroom
the smaller bedroom with the push-pull  sofàbed
our front lanscape
a corner of the garden
the garden and the bbq area
a view on the garden
the surrounding countryside
pool edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Natalie16...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful and relaxing place to stay - a home from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I honestly cannot recommend this place high enough, we had a wonderful stay here.
Carlo and his family (including his wonderful parents who live next door) made us feel very welcome, when we had a problem and needed to stay an extra night they were very accommodating and helpful. The apartment was spotless and contained everything you could need for a stay and the beds were very comfortable!
The garden and pool area were beautiful and with amazing views over the Tuscan countryside and you immediately feel relaxed.
Castel San Gimignano is a lovely hamlet with a well-stocked local shop and the restaurant (Three Arches) was fantastic.
I am more than happy to recommend this to others and would also say this apartment is suitable for people with mobility problems as it has a walk in shower, located on the ground floor and there is flat walkway to the pool.
We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful gardens and stunning views and the wonderful hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, perfect location, fabulous hosts !”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a fantastic time. Carlo, Emanuela and their parents made us and our young children feel very welcome. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the gardens and pool were beautiful. We really enjoyed staying in Castel San Gimignano - the village shop had everything we could possibly need and the restaurant served great food with a warm welcome. We would happily recommend this to others, and would love to return ourselves !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerChrist...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Place and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The apartment was very clean,comfortable and updated. The pool was great. We couldn't get our son out of it. The views from the pool were wonderful. The apartment had everything we needed for our stay. Carlo and Emanuela were very kind and hospitable as were Carlo's parents. They made us feel at home. The location was beautiful and we would most definately stay there again. It is a great place and it is centrally located in the heart of Tuscany. When we think of our trip to Italy we will always remember Casa Gelsomino and the wonderful family that welcomed us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area.
Liked least: It was hot in the apartment with no air conditioning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Dear Guest, we are honored to had you in our property and we thank you so much for your review!!!
we really hope you can come back here for a lovely holiday and a glass of good wine !!!
Emanuela and Carlo thank you all for your kindness!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2012
First of all, our best thanks to have chosen our property for your holiday. We are very proud of the feelings you felt during your staying here: this gives us the necessary strength to improve our work.
Many many thanks !!!!...........and we hope to guest you here again!!!!!
Emanuela and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TeamReid
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house & amazing hospitality”
Reviewed 24 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Casa Gelsomino with our two young children and had the most incredible time. Carlo was a helpful, informative and gracious host. He gave some great tips on where to visit and how to get around, and was always available if we had any questions.
If you want to want to escape the usual tourist traps in a quiet "local" village but still be central to a load of stunning attractions, including Siena, the Chianti region, San Gimignano and the lesser known, but arguably more interesting Monterigioni, I would highly recommend Casa Gelsomino.
The apartment was very clean, spacious, extremely well appointed and very good value for money. The beds were really comfortable(a must for us!) and there was plenty of space for our two young children aged 6 months and 2.5years. It was also lovely to be greeted with a bottle of local wine and home-made pastries by Emanuela.
If you do come here, we would definitely recommend doing the walk from Abbadia a Isola to Monteriggioni, stopping at the Bear Bar for lunch (Carlo can provide the details!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality & location
Liked least: Only having a brief amount of time there - so much to see!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2012
We are very proud of this review because it 's by a family like ours and we know what it means finding a place where to spend a "normal" relaxing holiday . So we can only thank so much our very special guests! and hope to have you and all your lovely family here again !
You all and your wonderful country are in our hearts!
Emanuela e Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 16 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family
Liked least: better internet acces
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mariussco...
Scozia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, great family!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We recently found ourselves in Tuscany with no where to stay due to our original accomodation being totally unacceptable. So searching the web we found Casa Gelsimino
and contacted them. Within a few hours we found ourselves in the most stunning of locations. The apartment is very modern and very clean with everything you could need
for a stay in this most beautiful parts of Tuscany (although nice wine glasses would have enhanced our enjoyment of the local wine even more). The pool, gardens and views
are all of the highest quality and Carlo and his family had everything prepared and ready for us upon our arrival. Having said that, the sound proofing in the apartment
is not the best and it may not be suitable for families with very young children or babies especially if you get a particularly noising neighbour above you. Some games or
other entertainment might be beneficial too if you decide to stay in the apartment of an evening especially as the tv only offers Italian channels. That aside, we found
Casa Gelsimino absolutley charming. Carlo and his family really were the perfect hosts. They were there whenever advice or information were needed and his parents showed
us around their farm and olive groves and even invited us into their own home to give us a gift of cantuccini and wine. That for us is the true mark of this apartment,
the warm, friendly welcome that you receive from Carlo and his wonderful family. Grazie Carlo e Emanuela and your family. You rescued our family holiday and reminded us
of why we just love Italy so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the Malandrini family
Liked least: The sound proofing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2011
Many many thanks to our guests for their kind review. We are very happy to give you something you enjoyed
and we'll try to improve our hospitality following your suggestions.
Thank you so much to stay with us.
Our best regards.
Emanuela e Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing