We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tuscan Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
the large bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
the large bedroom
the smaller bedroom with the push-pull  sofàbed
our front lanscape
a corner of the garden
the garden and the bbq area
a view on the garden
the surrounding countryside
pool edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
BamfordOw...
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tuscan Gem”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have been visiting Italy in general and Tuscany in particular for a few years now and we have finally found our ideal holiday home – Casa Gelsomino in Castel San Gimignano. I can only echo the comments from other reviewers because the apartment (it’s spotlessly clean), its location, the gardens and the views are all stunning, but the real bonus for us was the owner, Carlo, and his family. The welcome we received (Emanuela, the cake was delicious) and the kindness we were shown were beyond any expectation – nothing was too much trouble. Carlo’s parents are remarkable - I won’t say how old they are, but I just hope to live that long and be that fit! They are always on the go, looking after their huge garden, crops and animals and we really enjoyed their company on many occasions during the two weeks, despite our limited command of Italian. They are warm and generous (forever supplying fresh produce from their extensive smallholding) to the extent we wanted to bring them home with us. On a practical note there is a very good restaurant in the village (Tre Archi) and a well-stocked local shop staffed by two helpful and friendly ladies who were very welcoming despite my broken Italian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzlemAyaz
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finding peace in nature while you are very close to the big cities like Siena, Firenze. You are at the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Very nice garden and clean apartment with 2 rooms and a large bath. One of the rooms have a queen size bed while the other room has pull sofa. The pull sofa is also very comfortable for two. The owners and the neighbors are very friendly and they love to show u around. The garden is very nice and big, also very well kept. It is located very near to San Gimignano where you should locate the navigator to Castel San Gimignano not to San Gimignano. When you reach the Castel San Gimignano it is very near to the center. The grocery store is very near and you can deliver food, soap, vine, cheese etc. whatever u want. Take a walk in the garden and see the farm with trees and planted fields. It was nice place, u will not regret.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hagai2013
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“A perfact place to stay, words cannot describe”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Indeed, it was a perfect place to stay in during a vacation, starting with the warm hospitality we have received from Emanuela and Carlo, the well equipped flat, the comfortable kitchen and bedrooms, and the marvelous pool. Words cannot describe the wonderful landscape view from the pool and the enchanted feeling sitting, relaxing and watching the view.

We really appreciate Carlo's good advice regarding to places to visit and how to get there. Carlo was always available when ever needed.

In a 1 to 10 scale, no doubt that this place is entitled to a 10 score.

Nava and Hagai

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
We are deeply proud of your review: we'll get more energy from it to improve our work and we really hope to guest you again! Our best wishes for the future.
Emanuela and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie16...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful and relaxing place to stay - a home from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I honestly cannot recommend this place high enough, we had a wonderful stay here.
Carlo and his family (including his wonderful parents who live next door) made us feel very welcome, when we had a problem and needed to stay an extra night they were very accommodating and helpful. The apartment was spotless and contained everything you could need for a stay and the beds were very comfortable!
The garden and pool area were beautiful and with amazing views over the Tuscan countryside and you immediately feel relaxed.
Castel San Gimignano is a lovely hamlet with a well-stocked local shop and the restaurant (Three Arches) was fantastic.
I am more than happy to recommend this to others and would also say this apartment is suitable for people with mobility problems as it has a walk in shower, located on the ground floor and there is flat walkway to the pool.
We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful gardens and stunning views and the wonderful hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, perfect location, fabulous hosts !”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a fantastic time. Carlo, Emanuela and their parents made us and our young children feel very welcome. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the gardens and pool were beautiful. We really enjoyed staying in Castel San Gimignano - the village shop had everything we could possibly need and the restaurant served great food with a warm welcome. We would happily recommend this to others, and would love to return ourselves !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerChrist...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Place and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The apartment was very clean,comfortable and updated. The pool was great. We couldn't get our son out of it. The views from the pool were wonderful. The apartment had everything we needed for our stay. Carlo and Emanuela were very kind and hospitable as were Carlo's parents. They made us feel at home. The location was beautiful and we would most definately stay there again. It is a great place and it is centrally located in the heart of Tuscany. When we think of our trip to Italy we will always remember Casa Gelsomino and the wonderful family that welcomed us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area.
Liked least: It was hot in the apartment with no air conditioning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Dear Guest, we are honored to had you in our property and we thank you so much for your review!!!
we really hope you can come back here for a lovely holiday and a glass of good wine !!!
Emanuela and Carlo thank you all for your kindness!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2012
First of all, our best thanks to have chosen our property for your holiday. We are very proud of the feelings you felt during your staying here: this gives us the necessary strength to improve our work.
Many many thanks !!!!...........and we hope to guest you here again!!!!!
Emanuela and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing