We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“marvelous views, excellent hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
the large bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
the large bedroom
the smaller bedroom with the push-pull  sofàbed
our front lanscape
a corner of the garden
the garden and the bbq area
a view on the garden
the surrounding countryside
pool edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
yonatan b
1 review
“marvelous views, excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This room is wonderfully located in the high hills of Tuscany. The panoramic view is absolutely stunning. The pool is nice (although it was rather cold when we stayed and we did not get in). The hospitality was also wonderful, with warm, delicious home made cookies that were waiting for us upon our arrival, and willingness to address all our requests. The amenities are fair: the number of bed cloths and towels provided were limited, the kitchen was well equipped, air-condiiton and wi fi worked perfectly well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
We are so happy about this review:it helps us to work always better. Thank you so much again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJ1981
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful house, great location, wonderful people. Everything we were hoping for and more, we did not want to leave. We cannot wait to return to Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, peaceful and relaxing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Honored and happy to guest people like you!! Thank you again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The small hamlet, the region the house and especially the people made this one of our most favorite places. We are an active couple and biked every day around the region and for cyclists the region is the best. So much to see and do.but you do need a car. The nearby town of Volterra is well worth several visits as is San Gimignano.
The lovely sisters at the local supermarket just across the road helped us every day with our Italian and our hosts were the loveliest people we met on the whole tour. Carlo goes out of his way to help you and his parents are the true Italians that we all love to meet. We thank them greatly for the cherries each morning....
Great restaurant, great little bar great people....we'll be back and i'd recommend this place to anyone who loves the out doors.
Everything is clean and tidy. We had nothing to complain about...Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We are very happy you spent a lovely time here with us!
We'll be very happy to guest you again!
Our kindest greetings
Emanuela,Carlo and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings with all that you need in a holiday rental”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment has everything you need. We spent a week here with our two young children. The surroundings were lovely with a fab pool we tried to get in every day. The hamlet has a local shop, cafe bar and great restaurant, we could not fault the food. Carlos and his family are very welcoming and we hope to go back when we visit Italy again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
We are very happy,you spent a lovely holiday here with us. We thank you once again , for the high respect and the care you had during your staying here. We really hope to guest you in future. Ciao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here as had previously stayed near San Gimingano .Excellent facilities, lovely surroundings, bar, restaurant, and shop nearby. About 15 mins from San Gimingano , Colle d'elsa , (supermarket) ,easy reach of Poggibonsi for Train to Florence.
Tip obtain directions to apartment as not easy to find from main road,
ideal location for Tuscan break, would highly recommend , although carlo's parents cannot speak much English , extremely friendly and helpful, enjoyed their supply of fresh home cooked biscuits upon arrival and fresh fruit (cherries) from their garden. Would happily recommend for couples/ family groups with own transport, most enjoyable stay

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
We are very happy and honored for your review: this gives us the right feeling to go on!
Thank you so much!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CELIA VIC...
2 reviews
“Beautiful apartment in the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We've been in April this year in Casa Gelsomino,and I only can write nice words about our staying there. The house is very nice, with a lot of light and a beautiful view over the garden and Tuscany valley beyond. It is very confortable and clean,and has all you can need. Even a swimming pool that we did not used as the weather was still not warm enough, but must be great in the summer time. The house is located really close to San Gimignano and Volterra, but you can move very easily to Siena, Firenze, Pisa or Lucca. The owners, Carlo and his wife, as well as his parents, are very kind, welcoming and respectful.
We had a very nice stay during Eve time, and we hope to come again one of these years.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
It's a great honor for us , receiving a review like yours.
Thank you so much again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erkobezer...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic and so central to the whole region”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 6 nights (not enough time) with my family and enjoyed every minute of it. The apartment was spotless and the kitchen was well apointed for self catering. Carlo's mum and dad were so sweet to our children (Ciao Nonna e Nonno) who enjoyed the attention. The village was quaint with a bar, great resturant, mini-mart and Colle Di Valle d'Elsa was only 10min away by car with a large COOP supermarket with everything you needed. If you go to Tuscany and want an authentic local experience you MUST stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Carlo's family
Liked least: There is nothing to say here
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
We are very proud of this review and most of all we want to thank our guests once again ! Our kindest greetings and many kisses to your lovely children, with the hope to have you here in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing