We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous property with wonderful hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sherezade...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous property with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The property was perfect and exactly as advertised. It is clean, spacious and well maintained by the owners. The pool is gorgeous with views over rolling hills, olive groves and woodland. Although it is shared, we almost always had it to ourselves and it felt like it was our own private pool. The property is well located for discovering famous and less well known but even more attractive Tuscan hilltop towns and about 40 mins from the coast. The owners are very helpful and welcoming - a plate of home made biscuits still warm from the oven was there to greet us. Gifts of home grown tomatoes and basil from the owners parents who live on site were equally delicious. This is the ideal spot for using as a base for exploring Tuscany or equally good as a venue for unwinding and relaxing with a bottle of chianti by the pool.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The finishing flourishes and personalised service offered by the hosts and their family
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We are really proud for your review! Thank you once again and . . . hope to guest you in the future! Ciao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
500jersey...
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Lovely - Felt Like Home”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We relaxed from the moment we arrived. Although the apartment was still being cleaned, Carlo invited us to sit by the pool. What a gorgeous place to begin. We could smell the lavender in the air as we gazed out over the grove of olive trees. Carlo's parents (whom we called Nonna and Nonno) offered us espresso and gelato. They invited us into their kitchen to spread out our Michelin map and consult with them about our planned itinerary. That was the beginning of a great week together. The apartment was very clean, with generous size and bright rooms with high ceilings. Well equipped kitchen. Gorgeous views. Castel San Gmignano was convenient to just about everywhere and there's a café (for breakfast) and Tre Arche restaurant within walking distance for dinners. We loved the hospitality of Carlo's parents - so fun to practice our Italian with them, and what lovely tomatoes they gave us from their garden. This is an exceptional place to stay. The weather was hot, though. The pool was the perfect antidote, although we would have appreciated an electric fan (no air conditioning). Also, if you need a sofa, I suggest renting the first floor apartment instead.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, hands down. Some of the most gorgeous views we had in Tuscany were right in our own back yard.
Liked least: Needed electric fan, kitchen sponge.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We are honored of guesting you all !!!!! And hope,really hope to have you here again ! Thank you once again ,for your suggestions too!
Ciao a tutti voi!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BamfordOw...
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing location”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Last year we rented Casa Gelsomino (the 2-bedroom apartment at this property) and it was the reason we came back - we had been looking forward to it for a year! The location is perfect for exploring Tuscany, the accommodation is well-equipped and comfortable, the views are stunning and the people are as charming and friendly as ever. Carlo and Emanuela are the perfect hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Ana and Renzo (Carlo's Mum and Dad) live on site and are absolutely delightful, friendly and generous. We spent time with them last year and were able to do this same this time and, despite the language barrier, we got on famously - it doesn't half improve your Italian! Hopefully we will return very soon. As a bonus there is an excellent restaurant (Tre Archi) within a few metres of the apartment and a very well-stocked village shop run by twin sisters who are so helpful (again no English, but it's part of the fun) - their freshly-cut prosciutto is to die for.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
We don't know how to thank your guests, for the second year with us!
You are very kind !!!
We'll be waiting for the 3th time!
Thank you once again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenspowar...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning view”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely apartment to stay in and very spacious. It provided everything we needed and we felt right at home. Carlo is the perfect host, and his parents who live on site where very kind to us and our little boy. The pool was a little cold at this time of year but plenty of space to relax outside and enjoy the amazing views! It also provided the perfect base for exploring the rest of Tuscany. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: May 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
We can "only" be so happy and very proud of your thinking!
Thank you once again and a great kiss to your child!!!!
hope to guest you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimster77
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week at Casa Verbena with my husband, 16 year old niece, 3 year old son and 1 year old son. We loved the pool and the view. Every morning we walked up to the bar for cappuccino and almost every evening we walked to Tres Archi for dinner. The host's mother and father are on site and loaned us umbrellas, gave us fresh laid eggs, helped us with the washer. Very sweet people and even though they didn't speak English, they tried to communicate with us anyways and were the nicest people. The host speaks perfect English and he helped me figure out how to deal with a minor medical situation with my niece, answering questions on how things worked in Italy. It is a little remote but you can get to dozens of restaurants within 15 minutes. It is about halfway between he adorable little town Volterra and Colle de Val de Elsa.

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMZ1968
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious and friendly owners”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this three bedroom, one bath apartment for a week. The unit is nice, new, clean and above all very spacious.

The owner was nice; we didn't see him much, but his elderly parents live in the next unit and are super nice; despite not speaking the same language they were a joy.

Note that this is CASTEL San G., not San G. itself. A bit remote though central. The nearby restaurant Tre Arche is excellent.

Very nice pool with a great view. Easy parking.

Overall very happy with rental. They could improve slightly by providing trash bags (street pickup one block away), more than one roll of toilet paper, and more than one dishwasher detergent packet. These were however minor issues.

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and location.
Liked least: No air conditioning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Aug 2013
We are very proud of this review! we thank our guests very much and we'd like to have you here again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.