We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Tuscany!”
Review of B&B Il Borghetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Il Borghetto
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of Tuscany!”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Do you want to be in the country but close to a major city? Il Borghetto is an ideal place. It is centrally located and has easy access to many of the major tourist attractions, e.g. Siena, Greve, San Gimignano, San Casciano, and Impruneta (famous for its pottery).
Il Borghetto is a small, charming and intimate Inn, only 9 rooms, each beautifully and tastefully decorated with Italian antiques. Italian marble is every where.
The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and offer incredible service. The staff has not changed for the 13 years I have been going there. They have become friends.
They offer a great breakfast with locally made jams, bread, fresh cheeses and a variety of fruits. You can order eggs and espresso coffee or whatever your heart desires. Authentic Italian food can be custom ordered for lunch or dinner, and it is delicious.
The Inn is owned and managed by an Italian family, father, daughter and son. They all speak English.
They produce a highly rated wine from grapes growing on their property and excellent olive oil. They conduct tours of the property and wine tastings.
An added bonus: Etruscan tombs are found on the property.
Lydia Titcomb

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARTFOCUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Delightful place, great surroundings, breakfast to improve. English unspoken, but the staff is helpful.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eskaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Beautiful setting in the hills of Tuscany. Wonderful room (Jr. Suite), good bed, linens, bathroom. Nice breakfast. Carmella and Christina are wonderful, devoted to helping with suggestions of where to eat, what to see, what to do. We took the vineyard tour/wine tasting on site and it was the most pleasurable tour that we have been on. PS. no internet, one tv in the lounge.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

May 1, 2009
Knowing that we were staying for the wine tour and dinner at Costello di Verazzano in Greve, we didn't want to drive too far afterwards. Fortunately, we chose Il Borghetto, which proved to be one of the best stays during the 3 weeks in Italy. We arrived from Florence within an hour and were warmly greeted by Cristina Tomei who opened the security gates and showed us around. It is located in "ground zero" of Chianti heaven with beautiful, postcard scenery. We could see cypresses, olive, and vineyards stretching into the valley below and beyond. The best views were on the terrace where we had a memorable breakfast typical Tuscan cheeses, cereals, cold cuts, and bread.
Our room was luxurious and spacious with quality amenities. There was still a night chill and the heating system did not work. Nonetheless, our short stay here was a welcome respite from our last stay in Florence.
If you are looking for a country inn outside Florence and have a car, look no farther. And the price is right.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful week at this lovely B&B just about an hours drive from Pisa airport. Situated high on a hill surrounded by vineyards there are great views all around. The gardens are peaceful and extensive with a lovely swimming pool. The house is furnished with many antique pieces and is very comfortable. If money allows a Junior Suite is preferable. The staff, Cristine, Paola and Carmella are exceptionally helpful offering suggestions regarding where to eat, places to visit etc We enjoyed some home cooking on a couple of occasions when we didn't want to go out for a full meal and can especially recommend the pasta dishes and cakes. The owners live nearby and have their own vineyard and their (very good) wine can be bought at the house. Il Borghetto is a great place from which to begin to discover Tuscany. We visited Radda in Chianti, Siena, San Gimignano, San Casciano, Castellina in Chianti while staying there.

  • Liked — The welcome, the helpfullness and pleasantness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Il Borghetto for one week in late October. The hotel is an old farm house that sits overlooking a vineyard. It is very beautiful and picturesque. It is ideally located for day trips to all the Tuscan towns. Our little apartment met our needs. However, you do not get any housekeeping services. You have to pay extra for clean towels and bed linens. The kitchen does come complete with everything you would need to cook and enjoy meals. The bathroom is small and like most European hotels does not include a tub.

Our main complaint with this hotel was that it did not have heat. The last week in October was very cold with nights in the lower 40s. This would not have been a problem if the hotel had heat. The literature on the hotel says that it is equipped with heat, but the owner said they don’t turn it on until November. The hotel information also said that it had working fireplaces in some of the apartments. When we asked if we could get a fireplace we were told that none of the apartments had them. This was a bold face lie from the owner. We had to go and pay for another hotel on a night when the temperature dropped below freezing. We also were told that air-conditioning was not provided during all the summer months so you will want to check your dates in the summer as well.

The reception at the hotel by the owner was cold and unpleasant. He was abrasive and rude. However, he was only one of the three owners. The other two, who run the restaurant, are very kind. The food is wonderful and is offered three nights a week. You will want to take advantage of their lovely meals.

In summation this hotel would be more suitable for warmer months. In the spring the vineyards would be beautiful and the weather more agreeable for the accommodations.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — no heat
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldivaCharl0tte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefiridolfi
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
478 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
765 reviews
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
#1 of 1 in Montefiridolfi
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Macinello
Agriturismo Macinello
#1 of 3 in Montefiridolfi
29 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Borghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Borghetto

Property: B&B Il Borghetto
Address: Via di Collina 23, 50026 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa > Montefiridolfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Montefiridolfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Borghetto is a B&B and Winery situated in the hills of Chianti, just 20 minutes by car from the centre of Florence and 40 minutes from Siena. The Azienda Agricola extends for 30 hectare, comprising of olive groves and vineyards and produces Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Chianti Classico and Merlot red wine. The Etruscan Tomb of the Archer is located in the property. The Tomb dates back to the 7th century B.C. Il Borghetto houses nine rooms, a large dining room, the b&b’s kitchen, has a vast garden that surrounds the property and a swimming pool.Breakfast is served on the open air veranda in the garden: a rich choice of fresh fruit, cereals, local cheese, homemade jams from the orchard and homemade cakes. Lunch and Dinner is available by request, we prepare Tuscan meals with vegetable from our Organic Vegetable Garden and local product. We organize Cooking Classes and Wine Tasting. We can help you in organizing daily cultural visits as well as Gastronomic Itineraries and Bike Tours.The Inn is open from April to November. The Junior Villa is available all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Il Borghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Hotel Montefiridolfi
B&B Il Borghetto Montefiridolfi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing