We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We first stumbled across font de Medici in 2009 when in Tuscany planning our 2010 summer wedding. We loved the location and simplicity of the surroundings that we wed in certaldo approx 10 miles away and held our reception party within the grounds of font de Medici under starlight.
We returned in sept 2012 with our 15 month old daughter to find our expectations and memories remained as fond as we had left back in 2012.
The location of font de Medici gives you a great base to explore nearby Florence and other Tuscan cities, whilst returning to rolling vineyards and a glass of wine under the Tuscan evening sun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Simply put, this is a fantastic hotel that I would recommend to anyone. The service is very helpful by Italian standards. Italians tend to not behave like "servants" but rather like humans when serving you. I prefer this anyhow. They are not always ultra prompt, but they are very friendly. Not to say they are slow, but life moves at a different pace in Tuscany.
The bikes do suck, but they work! Get over it! If your such an avid cyclist bring your own bike! Or rent one in nearby Florence.
The food is delicious, and the restaurant is beautiful and located right beside the pool.
The location is in the countryside so rent a car if you want to go on excursions.
The rooms are beautiful and clean, and tuscany is magnificent!!
We absolutely loved fonte de Medici and plan on returning. Trip of a lifetime indeed!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geofftmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were part of a group to take over the property for a wedding. 40 from Ireland and 40 from Canada and what a time we had. The wedding was in a Castle not far from this property. We spent 6 nights and it was amazing. We were in the Pino Nero and it was lovely. Beautiful bright bathroom and lovely sitting room . The food at the Trattatoria was very good and the service and hospitality from all the staff was perfect. Everyone spoke english and the girls at the front desk were so elpful with directions etc. We did lots of day trips as it is close to many villages. I was told upon check in that wifi might be iffy from our apt and I would have to go by the office or pool, however I had wifi the entire time. I highly reccomend this property.

Room Tip: We were in Pino Nero and loved it but we were in several apartments and they were all equally charmi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were surprised on the proximity of this hotel to nearby towns. As you drive up to the hotel, you see lush vineyards all around. We stayed in the Riesling room - a spacious one bedroom suite with kitchen, fireplace, and landscape views. It's pricey, but overall, the hotel has a wonderful feel to it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DQUON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

5 women friends were travelling together and we stayed in the Mamola apartment. We have all vowed to come back...together and with our husbands. Our Villa was remote, yet not too far from anything. The service was fantastic, the facility was clean and it felt like home. We loved every minute of our stay. We enjoyed the tennis court, fitness centre and the swimming pools. Mostly we loved watching the sunset every evening from our outdoor terrace with a fire crackling in the fireplace. All our evening meals were shared here. We enjoyed cooking and relaxing in our surroundings. Lunch was fantastic, as was the cooking class and wine tasting organized by Erica and Julia. Thank you for making our stay incredible. We did not want to leave!! Love from the happy Canadian women!! p.s. thanks for the wine...delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic location from which to see the amazing landscape of Tuscany. You will need a car, but the surrounds and views are simply magnificent! The Fonte de Medici is a nice place, great pool and ok breakfast, but the service we received when we arrived was poor. We were not shown around, nor given good instruction on where things like the gym, restaurants, markets were. In general, the girls at the desk seemed more interested in having their smokes outside (3 in 30 minutes that we saw) than taking care of their guests. We also cooked for ourselves a couple of nights and found the kitchen very limited. We don't mind the cramped cooking area, but not having simple things like a sharp knife or a simple salad bowl was disappointing. Finally, if you are a couple looking for some quite time, this may not be the place for your as there are a lot of families and kids enjoying the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borzi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just spent a week in this agriturismo with another family. There are lots of positives: rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is very good (although not 5 star hotel quality), the pool and the pool area are great, views magnificent, there is a nice tennis court and a small, but workable gym, and the location is just perfect with Firenze and Siena nearby. Service is also very good, and we made a nice tour to the Antinori cellars. Fonte de Medici is just a very nice place to visit, and we had a great time together there.

The price is fairly high obviously, and is linked to the location and the quality of all premises. What left room for improvement was evening dining at the restaurant, more about that in the restaurant review.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefiridolfi
2.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
572 reviews
6.4 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
779 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
491 reviews
10.2 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
853 reviews
3.1 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici

Address: Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50026 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa > Montefiridolfi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montefiridolfi
Price Range: £132 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Double rooms, 20 apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonte De` Medici Hotel Montefiridolfi
Agriturismo Fonte De' Medici Montefiridolfi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing