We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location amids some of Italy's oldest vineyards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed only two nights and walked around almost every waking hr of the day amidst vineyards that have been producing some of the best wines in tuscany for centuries. Important to realise that you best organise your own rental car or you walk a lot, because tansport is not cheap and easy to organise, even if thestaff is so accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask the staff details that you can chose from, there are so many different options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LidaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was one stop during a 2 week trip thru Italy for our 10 year anniversiary. It instantly became a highlight. We were there during early spring and probably got the place close to empty. The staff were always very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are charming and well spread out around the property. The restaurant is affordable and the dishes are delicious. The gardens, tennis court and pool also appear well kept. The location is the real gem. Close to a number great little towns like Grieve in Chianti. Very close to Florence but far enough away to be very peaceful.. Great proximity to Badia e Passignano, a must-see vineyard, cellar and restaurant owned by the Antinori family. Close to a number of other top Chianti producers.

Room Tip: If you stay on a Monday when the kitchen is shut. Go to Grieve in Chianti (20 mins drive) and buy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I spent about 15 days in Italy. The first week of our vacation was a whirlwind of activity from Milan to Lake Como, Venice and Florence. The second week we spent at Fonte de Medici. This was a fantastic place from the staff, the grounds, the view, the food and the apartment. It was a very friendly, relaxing place. Our apartment was great with a wonderful view and patio looking over the vineyards, watching beautiful sunsets. Upon our arrival, there was a great welcome basket and a list of nearby towns and which day their weekly markets were. We loved getting up in the morning, having breakfast and setting out on our daily exploration. We say many beautiful small towns, with their great markets that we shopped in and bought something new for dinner most nights. We met one of the loveable cats, named Fifi, who met us everyday when we came back to our apartment. We took a tour of the Antonori winery and ate at the wonderful restaurant. Great food and great service. We will definately return here someday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3156CJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We first stumbled across font de Medici in 2009 when in Tuscany planning our 2010 summer wedding. We loved the location and simplicity of the surroundings that we wed in certaldo approx 10 miles away and held our reception party within the grounds of font de Medici under starlight.
We returned in sept 2012 with our 15 month old daughter to find our expectations and memories remained as fond as we had left back in 2012.
The location of font de Medici gives you a great base to explore nearby Florence and other Tuscan cities, whilst returning to rolling vineyards and a glass of wine under the Tuscan evening sun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Simply put, this is a fantastic hotel that I would recommend to anyone. The service is very helpful by Italian standards. Italians tend to not behave like "servants" but rather like humans when serving you. I prefer this anyhow. They are not always ultra prompt, but they are very friendly. Not to say they are slow, but life moves at a different pace in Tuscany.
The bikes do suck, but they work! Get over it! If your such an avid cyclist bring your own bike! Or rent one in nearby Florence.
The food is delicious, and the restaurant is beautiful and located right beside the pool.
The location is in the countryside so rent a car if you want to go on excursions.
The rooms are beautiful and clean, and tuscany is magnificent!!
We absolutely loved fonte de Medici and plan on returning. Trip of a lifetime indeed!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geofftmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were part of a group to take over the property for a wedding. 40 from Ireland and 40 from Canada and what a time we had. The wedding was in a Castle not far from this property. We spent 6 nights and it was amazing. We were in the Pino Nero and it was lovely. Beautiful bright bathroom and lovely sitting room . The food at the Trattatoria was very good and the service and hospitality from all the staff was perfect. Everyone spoke english and the girls at the front desk were so elpful with directions etc. We did lots of day trips as it is close to many villages. I was told upon check in that wifi might be iffy from our apt and I would have to go by the office or pool, however I had wifi the entire time. I highly reccomend this property.

Room Tip: We were in Pino Nero and loved it but we were in several apartments and they were all equally charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were surprised on the proximity of this hotel to nearby towns. As you drive up to the hotel, you see lush vineyards all around. We stayed in the Riesling room - a spacious one bedroom suite with kitchen, fireplace, and landscape views. It's pricey, but overall, the hotel has a wonderful feel to it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DQUON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefiridolfi
6.4 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
808 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
657 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici

Address: Via Santa Maria a Macerata 31, 50026 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa > Montefiridolfi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montefiridolfi
Price Range: £102 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Double rooms, 20 apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonte De` Medici Hotel Montefiridolfi
Agriturismo Fonte De' Medici Montefiridolfi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing