We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a gropup of 8 adults and rented 4 suites at Poderre Tignanello at the top of this famous Antinori vineyard. Based on our research we new we would be satisfied but had no idea of the perfection we would be a part of for a week during the busy harvest season. The staff is second to none, anywhere in the world, and provided us with first class service at every turn. The area is surrounded by numerous other excellent restaurants but make sure to enjoy the Tratorria on the grounds, it too is exceptoinal. Whether you want to just stay on the property and relax or explore the entire Chianti region this is the place! If you enjoy cooking make sure to schedule a cooking class that is held on site in their new cooking/teaching facility, it too is a great experience-and Mateo is a wonderful host and instructor. I am positive we will return.

Thank you Fonte de Medici

Room Tip: This is a "hilly" area, if you have difficulty getting around or climbing steps advise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Fonte de' Medici Sept 2013, the place we rented was a large house, the grounds were just beautiful. Restaurant right on site with free breakfast included, we had a supper there it was amazing. The house was big and spacious, full kitchen, very tidy. The front desk staff and the restaurant were very nice and accommodating.

The only cons we had about the place was that it has virtually no mirrors except for the ones in the bathroom over the sink. ( We were there for a wedding in the area and a mirror would have been useful for getting ready ). It was also very dark, needed more lighting, or stronger light bulbs.
The other thing was that I did not rent a car when I was there, and that was a must if you want to see anything around there. There are no buses or taxis. I had to wait over an hour to have a taxi come get us, and it cost quit a bit..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Charming details add to the loveliness of the villas and apartments! The grounds were "postcard" views everywhere you looked. The meals in the restaurant were exquisite. The mountain bikes were great for a morning ride! We really enjoyed the cooking class we took with Matea!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRIVAS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Many of the reviews echo the same sentiments we experienced during our stay earlier this month. The villas-and rooms within villas-are classically appointed with all the conveniences one would expect for today's traveler. A walkers/hikers paradise, with beautiful grounds surrounded by the world famous Tiganello vineyard and winery. As others have mentioned, its best to get there by your own car if possible as the surrounding towns/vineyards become far more accessible. Easy to find off the Autostrada between Siena and Florence, it makes a fantastic base for visiting both towns as well as the Tuscany/Chianti region's wine road: SS222. As an example, it was perfect to spend the day in the cultural/activity based intensity of Florence, and in 30 minutes be "home" by the pool in tranquil Fonte de' Medici with a glass of wine at the ready as the sun set over the vineyard. The restaurant is more than capable, with a beautiful patio overlooking the pool and vineyards. A great place to start your day.

The staff is quick to help with suggestions, and to set up tours at Tenuta Tiganello down the road as they are not normally open to the public. Erica in particular was a fantastic source of information.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jpeterman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Simply fantastic ! Location, welcome, staff, food...
The rooms are extremely comfortable and well kept.
The Restaurant serves traditional food very well executed.
Prices are within limits and good value for money.
The Resort is 30 minutes from Siena and Florence.

Simply great !!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Face_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had my daughter's wedding here, and aside from the magic of the day, this is probably the most gorgeous place I've ever been. Our villa was wonderful, rustic but well equipped, and the flavor of the real Italy was everywhere. The included breakfast was incredible - you won't want to eat lunch, but don't miss it. Fonte had arguably the best food we had in all of Italy, and that's saying a ton. I could have stayed here forever. Our entire group felt that way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauriec620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed only two nights and walked around almost every waking hr of the day amidst vineyards that have been producing some of the best wines in tuscany for centuries. Important to realise that you best organise your own rental car or you walk a lot, because tansport is not cheap and easy to organise, even if thestaff is so accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask the staff details that you can chose from, there are so many different options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LidaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefiridolfi
6.4 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
797 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
496 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
553 reviews
3.1 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici

Address: Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50026 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa > Montefiridolfi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montefiridolfi
Price Range: £137 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Double rooms, 20 apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonte De` Medici Hotel Montefiridolfi
Agriturismo Fonte De' Medici Montefiridolfi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing