We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a boutique hotel than b&b”
Review of Torre dell'Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre dell'Arte
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Really lovely place to stay, it had to be the most comfortable nights sleep I had in Italy, very comfortable beds crisp clean linen, fluffy ample good quality towels. The room was spotlessly clean and every day they made bed, cleaned the room if it was free when the cleaner did her morning rounds. Each room has stunning art work and is simply but stylishly decorated. The gardens have a few loungers and everything is immaculately kept. Breakfast was a great selection of pastries, fruit, yoghurts etc. again some of the best I had in Italy. The hotel is a good 5- 10 mins drive to downtown Viareggio and you do need a car as its not walkable to the beach, however the trade off is its much better value for money and far superior quality. There is a pizzeria and restaurant down the road so you can eat locally if you don't want to head back into town. We spent an evening drinking beer and eating take out pizza in the garden whilst playing football with the kids so it was a bit more flexible. The owners are lovely friendly but have limited English and don't have card machine so pay in cash.
Feels more like a boutique hotel a b&b understates it somewhat

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoozeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for Carnevale in nearby Viareggio, could not have been more pleased with our accomodation. Beautiful inside and out. There are only 5 or 6 guest rooms, so be prepared to call the hosts when you arrive. They arrived shortly after we called; drew us a quick map to guide us to Carnevale and recommended the best street to park as they were checking us in. The room was great: good size, clean, comfortable, and very stylish. It displayed the artwork that was prevalent throughout the building. We appreciated the shutters on the windows that could be closed to keep the light out in the morning; and the smell of the cornetti baking as we came down for breakfast. The breakfast was adequate: an assortment of breads, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and beverages...no meat, though. It's a good distance from the train station, but is great if you are driving: easy to find and plenty of parking (parking would have been infinitely more difficult for the hotels along the waterfront...).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trashtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

There are only few hotels and b&bs in Torre del Lago (the little town near Viareggio where Giacomo Puccini was born), which is now a leading italian gay and gay friendly destination, with some nice discos and a wonderful beach, the Mama Mia; many b&bs are gay owned and managed, but this isn't the case of Torre dell'Arte, a multi-family managed b&bs. They bought and restored last year an old liberty villa, and now they can offer a very nice play to stay, with a familiar and warm level of service.
Good breakfast, parking, and free wi-fi connection are provided.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco_mazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Stayed in this B+B for 3 nights in July in the garden annex room. Comfortable room, a little on the small side, with king size double bed, modern bathroom with good shower and efficient air-conditioning. Garden outside with sunbeds and tables. Fantastic breakfast served by owner - good range of cereal, italian breads, meats and cheese. Only negatives were - staff spoke limited english, no credit card facility so need to pay cash and location away from Pisa, Viareggio and the Beach meant car hire was essential. So, great B+B, shame about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneG_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Loupa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EGtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iolanda1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torre del Lago Puccini hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosy
Villa Rosy
#2 of 3 in Torre del Lago Puccini
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Butterfly
Hotel Butterfly
#1 of 3 in Torre del Lago Puccini
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Vittoria
B&B Vittoria
#1 of 17 in Torre del Lago Puccini
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caffeletti B&B
Caffeletti B&B
#2 of 17 in Torre del Lago Puccini
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B  Le Villi
B&B Le Villi
#3 of 17 in Torre del Lago Puccini
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Libano
Bed & Breakfast Libano
#7 of 17 in Torre del Lago Puccini
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre dell'Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre dell'Arte

Address: Via Aurelia 85, 55048 Torre del Lago Puccini, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Torre del Lago Puccini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Torre del Lago Puccini
Price Range: £67 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre dell'Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower of Art is an old villa with turret, in late-Liberty style, completely restored. Surrounded by gardens is provided with an eight cars capable parking. The six large rooms are inspired by scenes and characters of Dante's Hell (Paolo and Francesca, Bertrand de Born, Malebranche, Count Ugolino, Rain of Fire, Centauri) and they contain, inspired to these themes, a paintings collection from Luisa Petruni Cellai. The paintings, after being exposed at the Museo Italo Americano of San Francisco (USA) from May to July 2007 were permanently placed in the several rooms of the villa. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, safe and bathroom with shower. Starting from Summer 2014, breakfast won't be served anymore; however, our kind customer could use our common kitchen with limitation. Coffee Bar / Restaurant & Supermarket surround the Bed-No-Breakfast so we don't expect any issue for our Customers. The location of Torre dell'Arte is an ideal point for excursions and activities in both Versilia and Tuscany in general. Comfort, elegance and tranquillity is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre dell'Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing