We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of KALLISTI Tavern

KALLISTI Tavern
Ranked #13 of 21 Restaurants in Pyrgos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading several positive reviews, we were more than disappointed. Indifferent service, carelessly prepared food. Ordered the owner's recommended dishes. Santorini tomatoes (way too many tomatoes, croutons like bullets), smashes yellow peas (tasteless), homemade pie (flavorless and stale), fish of the day (very poor, four small white fish, full of bones, served with an overlooked boiled potato and flavorless coleslaw made with no dressing).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    92
    27
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Greek food”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We came here twice during our stay in Pyrgos. I would recommend booking as it is always busy (we had to wait an hour the first time we came). The service was good considering how busy it was. The tomato balls were the best we had in Santorini. It had a relaxed atmosphere. It is worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincessSunshine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were exploring the island in our hire car and came across Prygos. We parked up and thought this place looked nice. It's very rare that I don't read a review beforehand but we were starving! The staff were friendly. It was a good spot to watch mad drivers ignore the roundabout on the road below us! We both ordered salad. Husband ordered Greek and I ordered Summer salad. I was expecting typical Greek food...but wow. The salads were huge and the flavours amazing. I was really surprised at the quality and standard. Really wish we could have gone back for an evening meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

It was an excellent meal with decent prices and pure Greek flavors. The service was also good, and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis-Voula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service... one of the best in Santorini”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our lunch at Kallisti Tavern would rank as our best meal in Santorini (we ate at restaurants in Oia, Fira and Pyrgos). Charming restaurant located in the centre of Pyrgos village.

Absolutely loved the grilled white aubergine salad. The moussaka and stuffed beef burger were excellent too! Lovely service and very reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanwalkwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KALLISTI Tavern also viewed

 
Pyrgos, Santorini
Pyrgos, Santorini
 
Pyrgos, Santorini
Pyrgos, Santorini
 

Been to KALLISTI Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing