We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
142
56
19
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
56
19
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building welcome drink old mansion breakfast room natural light hotel pool dim lighting favourite bit greek salad yummy food cab driver spectacular views private jacuzzi our honeymoon squeezed orange juice hotel is situated great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

From arrival to departure, this hotel is one of the best run establishments I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

The manager ( Alex ) & staff of the hotel are so unbelievably friendly and attentive. Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 days and we didn't want to leave!! We wanted for nothing, and could have asked for nothing more. The food was excellent and reflects the beautiful fresh local cuisine, the rooms were always immaculately kept and standards of decor and & finishings were exceptional.

The view will take your breath away, coupled with beautiful sunsets/rises make for true peace.

If you want an authentic slice of culture, with the benefits of highest standard of luxury and the most relaxing scenery you could ever want for

You will not regret your decision!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We ended up at Zannos completely by accident. Having shown up at Carpe Diem down the hill at 7am without actually telling them we would be arriving so early we learnt that check in wasn't until 2pm and our room was currently being occupied. Oh dear. However, the manager there said not to worry, we will put you up in another hotel this evening and you can come back here tomorrow. We were a little dubiuous as we'd spent alot of time researching our hotels for our honeymoon, but there was absolutely no need to worry. We arrived at Zannos and was greeted by Alexander, a very warm and friendly host. We immediately felt more relaxed as we were led to breakfast with views overlooking the island (stunning) and met Little George, the world's best waiter. That breakfast was awesome. We sampled so many different things and George kept offering us more things to try. Having just got married and taken two flights to get to Santorini, plus spent two hours loitering at our original hotel - this was exactly what we needed. The food was delicious and the goegeous church next door meant the view was picturesque everywhere we looked. George told us about the area and trivia abotu Greece and Santorini which my husband was fascinated with.

Once we had finished breakfast our bags we taken to our room for us, which we were informed, would be in the villa. We got there walking down the cobbled pretty streets (we were shown the pool on the way) to find a large patio area with sunbeds, gazebo and a lower patio area with tables/chaairs etc. The villa has three rooms, but we were the only guests in it that day. When we walked in we were amazed. We'd heard that some hotels have cave rooms but we didn't think we'd stay in one. It was huge, and cool and lovely. We had our own stone bath (huge) in the room, his and hers sinks, a shower (again in the room), a double bed, TV, minibar, toilet room, and big huge ivory curtains that hung from the ceiling and tied at each side the the room. Beautiful!!! My husband wasn't too sure about Santorini when we booked it, but he changed his mind when we got to Zannos,

Our favourite bit of our stay was the spa. It's just up the street (literally 20 second walk) and is built in to some ruins. You go through the gate, down the stone steps and find romantic lighting, soft music and then the spa room - wow! A huge retangular spa in a cave, just for us!! We loved it. So romantic and perfect for a honeymoon couple.

We were so sad to leave Zannos, we wish that we had found them on the internet before we booked our hotel. 5 star service, definiately worth paying a bit more. Sadly our proper hotel wasn't a patch on this place.

Don't hestitaate to book here, it was great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and we didn’t want to leave.

First of all Alexandros, the manager, surprised us by sending a little donkey to take both us and our luggage to the hotel. Walking through Pyrgos’ calderimia to reach the hotel is the most wonderful walk I’ve ever had.
When we arrived at the 250 years old building, we were informed about the story of the hotel. We had a magic night of wine tasting, and stories telling.

Everyday we had breakfast with the breathtaking view of Santorini, since the hotel is set on a high spot of the island! We also saw the best sunset, while relaxing by the pool with a glass of Vinsanto Wine! Also most of the days, we were alone in the pool, like it was only for us.

The food was excellent, and I would recommend you to let the chef decide for your food. Every meal we had, was a tasteful trip.

The service and the stuff were excellent, and they made our stay there magnificent.
I would definitely go to Zannos again, and I would absolutely recommend it to couples who need rest, and absolute service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Pyrgos is a beautiful little village up in the mountain with the traditional cycladic small houses whitewashed little calderims and .....no access to cars at all.It was a pleasant surprise to see that our transport was .... a cute little donkey.That was an experience.
At the main entrance Alexander welcomed us so warm and friendly that immediately the greek hospitality spirit embraced us.We were introduced to the rest of the stuff as we were shown to this amazing building which apparently is almost 300 years old.Dinner was absolutely exceptional.The atmosphere,the views,the service.George the waiter had a very good knowledge of all the dishes served.Alexandros's knowledge in wines is unbelievable.Yannis the chef after we finished dinner came to introduce himself and asked if everything was ok.The whole team made us feel so welcomed and relaxed that i would strongly recomended to anyone who wants to visit Santorini but wants to do something really different than the usual sea side things.Congradulations and thank you.we will definetely come back!!

Room Tip: Let Alexander - the Manager to choose for you
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avril_darum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

we were thrilled to see the property and more so when we learnt that it is a 250 years old mansion.
Aphrodite was very helpful and a lovely person to interact with.Our suite ,called Anna , was fabulous .A duplex suit ,it had 2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms and a little kitchenette too. it was actually living back in time.The location ,Pyrgos, was also great though bit away from Fira. it had a cute market square with some eateries . It had fabulous views of the sea and we almost had the swimming pool to ourselves. there was an olive tree just by the pool ! The breakfast was great and the service was good. the place exudes romance totally.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayshreegurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews