We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for its grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I have no words to describe the feeling of this little palace. As a typical Relais & Chateaux, Zannos hotel has the proper standards, luxury, grandeur, privacy, mystery and exceptional restaurant. Plus panoramic view of the island since it is located at Pyrgos village, second highest spot after the monastery of Profitis Ilias.

The location:
Pyrgos is one of the most attractive villages of Santorini located north of the capital Fira town. Chatting with local people which have many stories to tell, you hear myths and legends creating a mysterious atmosphere..

I would recommend it for couples seeking a romantic hideaway with privacy and peacefulness.

The experience in few sentences:
Large suites with warm colors, kingsize beds, classic interiors and deluxe room amenities. A welcome bottle of Santorinian wine from Sigalas winery which is the most famous wine maker of Santorini. Breakfast at the restaurant with unforgettable view of Santorini accompanied by summer jazz tunes. The cuisine was typical Relais & Châteaux, gourmet Greek traditional blend of Santorinian and Cretan dishes.

The service was of 5 Star level with the feeling of the warm treatment of having friends at home.

The manager, Alexandros was not just a hotel manager but also a receptionist, a maître, a sommelier, a storyteller, a host, and a travel guide. All in one!

Must do in the Hotel:
The wine tasting experience hosted by Alexandros explaining the origins of the wine varieties and the Santorinian winery tradition.

Must visit near the hotel:
The Castle called “Kasteli” it is few steps from the Hotel. Also visit the Santo Wines center of wine tourism to experience a wine tour and buy wines and other local products!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

From arrival to departure, this hotel is one of the best run establishments I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

The manager ( Alex ) & staff of the hotel are so unbelievably friendly and attentive. Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 days and we didn't want to leave!! We wanted for nothing, and could have asked for nothing more. The food was excellent and reflects the beautiful fresh local cuisine, the rooms were always immaculately kept and standards of decor and & finishings were exceptional.










The view will take your breath away, coupled with beautiful sunsets/rises make for true peace.

If you want an authentic slice of culture, with the benefits of highest standard of luxury and the most relaxing scenery you could ever want for

You will not regret your decision!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We ended up at Zannos completely by accident. Having shown up at Carpe Diem down the hill at 7am without actually telling them we would be arriving so early we learnt that check in wasn't until 2pm and our room was currently being occupied. Oh dear. However, the manager there said not to worry, we will put you up in another hotel this evening and you can come back here tomorrow. We were a little dubiuous as we'd spent alot of time researching our hotels for our honeymoon, but there was absolutely no need to worry. We arrived at Zannos and was greeted by Alexander, a very warm and friendly host. We immediately felt more relaxed as we were led to breakfast with views overlooking the island (stunning) and met Little George, the world's best waiter. That breakfast was awesome. We sampled so many different things and George kept offering us more things to try. Having just got married and taken two flights to get to Santorini, plus spent two hours loitering at our original hotel - this was exactly what we needed. The food was delicious and the goegeous church next door meant the view was picturesque everywhere we looked. George told us about the area and trivia abotu Greece and Santorini which my husband was fascinated with.

Once we had finished breakfast our bags we taken to our room for us, which we were informed, would be in the villa. We got there walking down the cobbled pretty streets (we were shown the pool on the way) to find a large patio area with sunbeds, gazebo and a lower patio area with tables/chaairs etc. The villa has three rooms, but we were the only guests in it that day. When we walked in we were amazed. We'd heard that some hotels have cave rooms but we didn't think we'd stay in one. It was huge, and cool and lovely. We had our own stone bath (huge) in the room, his and hers sinks, a shower (again in the room), a double bed, TV, minibar, toilet room, and big huge ivory curtains that hung from the ceiling and tied at each side the the room. Beautiful!!! My husband wasn't too sure about Santorini when we booked it, but he changed his mind when we got to Zannos,

Our favourite bit of our stay was the spa. It's just up the street (literally 20 second walk) and is built in to some ruins. You go through the gate, down the stone steps and find romantic lighting, soft music and then the spa room - wow! A huge retangular spa in a cave, just for us!! We loved it. So romantic and perfect for a honeymoon couple.

We were so sad to leave Zannos, we wish that we had found them on the internet before we booked our hotel. 5 star service, definiately worth paying a bit more. Sadly our proper hotel wasn't a patch on this place.

Don't hestitaate to book here, it was great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and we didn’t want to leave.

First of all Alexandros, the manager, surprised us by sending a little donkey to take both us and our luggage to the hotel. Walking through Pyrgos’ calderimia to reach the hotel is the most wonderful walk I’ve ever had.
When we arrived at the 250 years old building, we were informed about the story of the hotel. We had a magic night of wine tasting, and stories telling.

Everyday we had breakfast with the breathtaking view of Santorini, since the hotel is set on a high spot of the island! We also saw the best sunset, while relaxing by the pool with a glass of Vinsanto Wine! Also most of the days, we were alone in the pool, like it was only for us.

The food was excellent, and I would recommend you to let the chef decide for your food. Every meal we had, was a tasteful trip.

The service and the stuff were excellent, and they made our stay there magnificent.
I would definitely go to Zannos again, and I would absolutely recommend it to couples who need rest, and absolute service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Pyrgos is a beautiful little village up in the mountain with the traditional cycladic small houses whitewashed little calderims and .....no access to cars at all.It was a pleasant surprise to see that our transport was .... a cute little donkey.That was an experience.
At the main entrance Alexander welcomed us so warm and friendly that immediately the greek hospitality spirit embraced us.We were introduced to the rest of the stuff as we were shown to this amazing building which apparently is almost 300 years old.Dinner was absolutely exceptional.The atmosphere,the views,the service.George the waiter had a very good knowledge of all the dishes served.Alexandros's knowledge in wines is unbelievable.Yannis the chef after we finished dinner came to introduce himself and asked if everything was ok.The whole team made us feel so welcomed and relaxed that i would strongly recomended to anyone who wants to visit Santorini but wants to do something really different than the usual sea side things.Congradulations and thank you.we will definetely come back!!

Room Tip: Let Alexander - the Manager to choose for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avril_darum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

we were thrilled to see the property and more so when we learnt that it is a 250 years old mansion.
Aphrodite was very helpful and a lovely person to interact with.Our suite ,called Anna , was fabulous .A duplex suit ,it had 2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms and a little kitchenette too. it was actually living back in time.The location ,Pyrgos, was also great though bit away from Fira. it had a cute market square with some eateries . It had fabulous views of the sea and we almost had the swimming pool to ourselves. there was an olive tree just by the pool ! The breakfast was great and the service was good. the place exudes romance totally.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayshreegurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days during our honeymoon on the recommendation of a friend.

Upsides:
EXCELLENT service. Aphrodite, the manager, was wonderful. She arranged airport transfer and sent a bellboy to meet us at the car and schlep our bags up the rest of the hill. She recommended and booked us at a great local restaurant--totally off the beaten path with simple, fresh authentic food. She helped us with endless questions and got us a rental car. She also gave us a cell phone to reach her at any time, from anywhere.

INCREDIBLE food. The chef, Peter, is truly very talented. We travel a lot and eating out is one of our hobbies, both in NYC and abroad. We ate at the hotel on our first night there and it was one of our best meals ever. My husband was raving about this dinner for days. Breakfasts were delicious and enormous, with fresh, house-baked bread, honey, yogurt, fruit, anything you want, basically. Bonus fact: Aphrodite and Peter are engaged--one of Santorini's cutest couples!

Secluded. Thira and Oia are crowded and can feel overrun with tour bus groups, even at the end of September. Not so in Pyrgos, which is a small, charming, medieval village on a hilltop. The views are still great--out over the island to the Aegean. It's a great base camp for exploring the island while avoiding the crowds.

Comfortable, reasonably luxurious. The rooms are nicely decorated and lit. Zannos is an old ship captain's house, beautifully renovated with all of the original detail in place. We had massages in the spa/wine cellar; afterward, the masseuse (Mickey--she was great) lit candles and left us to enjoy the spa facilities in private. Totally luxury. Amazing view from the pool and dining areas.

Downsides:
Mildew. Unfortunately, our suite had a mildew smell. On the one hand, a cave room is charming and cool, but it must be hard to keep the ground water from seeping in. It felt damp and seemed like they'd just added a fresh coat of paint over the black mold on the walls. I'm allergic so woke up stuffy mornings.

Dark room, no view. We had a large double suite but it had only one window, in the door, which faced a wall. We didn't spend much time there.

If you need to be connected, this might not be your best option. Wi-fi is available only in the main building, not in rooms. That's just he nature of the thick earth walls of the cave rooms.

I'd absolutely recommend this place. It's a great base camp for exploring Santorini. Definitely eat at least one dinner there, rent a mode of transport and get out of your room to explore the island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leonine_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
0.5 mi away
Orizontes Hotel & Villas
1.7 mi away
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Calderas Dolphin Suites
#2 of 7 in Megalochori
212 reviews
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suites of the Gods Spa Hotel
Suites of the Gods Spa Hotel
#6 of 7 in Megalochori
448 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zannos Melathron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zannos Melathron Hotel

Address: Main Street, Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range: £130 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zannos Melathron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zannos Melathron Hotel where history meets luxury..Location: Zannos Melathron Hotel situated on the highest level of the most picturesque settlement of Pyrgos village in Santorini. Santorini is easily accessible via air and boat transportation. The hotel is situated 5 km from Santorini airport and 6km from Athinios port.ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN:A 19th century mansion built by Michael Zannos, a master of the time, in 1750. The famous designer Giannis Tseklenis is responsible for the renovation and the decoration of all suites and public areas of Zannos Melathron. A man with inspiration and finesse who loves Santorini revived and completed in the best way Zannos Melathron that fills its visitors with pretty pictures and lovely emotions. As per 2015 Zannos Melathron is fully renovated and functions under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zannos Melathron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zannos Melathron
Zannos Melathron Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing