We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My friend and I were lucky enough to experience this amazing Hotel. We were staying at Kastelli Resort, Kamari Beach when we were given the opportunity to experience Zannos Melathron Hotel. We were greeted at the door by all the staff and was offered sparkling white wine on arrival. We were told about the hotels hsitory and given lots of great pointers about Pyrgos including where to experience local food cooked by a Greek lady in her own kitchen. The views were unbelievable from the hotel. We stayed in the Theodosia suite which was one of a kind. Every suite is different. It was clean and tidy and had amazing view from our windows looking over Santorini. The pool area is extremely relaxing and staff are always close by to assist with anything you may require. We watched the sunset while sipping a cocktail which felt very surreal. Breakfast the next morning was to die for. Honestly the food is so fresh and your hot breakfast actually comes out HOT! The fresh warm chocolate croissant melted in my mouth followed by fresh fruit, bacon and eggs. Yum! When we did have to check out we were extemely sad to be leaving such an amazing place. A huge thank you to the staff as they accomodated our every need without an hastles!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Look no further... Zannos Melathron the perfect place for a stay in Santorini. You will want to smuggle the staff home in your suitcase. Alexander, George, Marie, all fantastic, at this beautifully maintained, perfectly situated hotel. A short drive from Fira, with a fantastic view, restaurant and amenities. Alexander will sit with you each morning after breakfast to review the plans for your day, make restaurant plans, and simply charm your socks off. We did a lot of research preceding a trip around the globe, and this is a spot that just didn't disappoint! Don't question this, book it.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Jschmidlapp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This place was beyond amazing, from the moment we arrived to complementary wine, to the fabulous advice on touring Santorini, to the amazing breakfast spread. One of my best hotel experiences EVER - and I've been to MANY hotels around the world.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here for three nights, and it was the highlight of our trip to Greece. The manager of the hotel (Alexander) is beyond gracious. He stayed up until midnight to greet us with champagne, a tour, and an upgrade of our room. The room itself was huge and beautiful. The breakfasts were copious and delicious. Whenever we asked for sparkling wine or champagne, he refused to let us pay. He also steered us in exactly the right direction, helping us avoid tour buses and choked streets, so that we enjoyed Santorini and our low-key holiday. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Syl025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I have no words to describe the feeling of this little palace. As a typical Relais & Chateaux, Zannos hotel has the proper standards, luxury, grandeur, privacy, mystery and exceptional restaurant. Plus panoramic view of the island since it is located at Pyrgos village, second highest spot after the monastery of Profitis Ilias.

The location:
Pyrgos is one of the most attractive villages of Santorini located north of the capital Fira town. Chatting with local people which have many stories to tell, you hear myths and legends creating a mysterious atmosphere..

I would recommend it for couples seeking a romantic hideaway with privacy and peacefulness.

The experience in few sentences:
Large suites with warm colors, kingsize beds, classic interiors and deluxe room amenities. A welcome bottle of Santorinian wine from Sigalas winery which is the most famous wine maker of Santorini. Breakfast at the restaurant with unforgettable view of Santorini accompanied by summer jazz tunes. The cuisine was typical Relais & Châteaux, gourmet Greek traditional blend of Santorinian and Cretan dishes.

The service was of 5 Star level with the feeling of the warm treatment of having friends at home.

The manager, Alexandros was not just a hotel manager but also a receptionist, a maître, a sommelier, a storyteller, a host, and a travel guide. All in one!

Must do in the Hotel:
The wine tasting experience hosted by Alexandros explaining the origins of the wine varieties and the Santorinian winery tradition.

Must visit near the hotel:
The Castle called “Kasteli” it is few steps from the Hotel. Also visit the Santo Wines center of wine tourism to experience a wine tour and buy wines and other local products!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

From arrival to departure, this hotel is one of the best run establishments I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

The manager ( Alex ) & staff of the hotel are so unbelievably friendly and attentive. Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 days and we didn't want to leave!! We wanted for nothing, and could have asked for nothing more. The food was excellent and reflects the beautiful fresh local cuisine, the rooms were always immaculately kept and standards of decor and & finishings were exceptional.










The view will take your breath away, coupled with beautiful sunsets/rises make for true peace.

If you want an authentic slice of culture, with the benefits of highest standard of luxury and the most relaxing scenery you could ever want for

You will not regret your decision!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We ended up at Zannos completely by accident. Having shown up at Carpe Diem down the hill at 7am without actually telling them we would be arriving so early we learnt that check in wasn't until 2pm and our room was currently being occupied. Oh dear. However, the manager there said not to worry, we will put you up in another hotel this evening and you can come back here tomorrow. We were a little dubiuous as we'd spent alot of time researching our hotels for our honeymoon, but there was absolutely no need to worry. We arrived at Zannos and was greeted by Alexander, a very warm and friendly host. We immediately felt more relaxed as we were led to breakfast with views overlooking the island (stunning) and met Little George, the world's best waiter. That breakfast was awesome. We sampled so many different things and George kept offering us more things to try. Having just got married and taken two flights to get to Santorini, plus spent two hours loitering at our original hotel - this was exactly what we needed. The food was delicious and the goegeous church next door meant the view was picturesque everywhere we looked. George told us about the area and trivia abotu Greece and Santorini which my husband was fascinated with.

Once we had finished breakfast our bags we taken to our room for us, which we were informed, would be in the villa. We got there walking down the cobbled pretty streets (we were shown the pool on the way) to find a large patio area with sunbeds, gazebo and a lower patio area with tables/chaairs etc. The villa has three rooms, but we were the only guests in it that day. When we walked in we were amazed. We'd heard that some hotels have cave rooms but we didn't think we'd stay in one. It was huge, and cool and lovely. We had our own stone bath (huge) in the room, his and hers sinks, a shower (again in the room), a double bed, TV, minibar, toilet room, and big huge ivory curtains that hung from the ceiling and tied at each side the the room. Beautiful!!! My husband wasn't too sure about Santorini when we booked it, but he changed his mind when we got to Zannos,

Our favourite bit of our stay was the spa. It's just up the street (literally 20 second walk) and is built in to some ruins. You go through the gate, down the stone steps and find romantic lighting, soft music and then the spa room - wow! A huge retangular spa in a cave, just for us!! We loved it. So romantic and perfect for a honeymoon couple.

We were so sad to leave Zannos, we wish that we had found them on the internet before we booked our hotel. 5 star service, definiately worth paying a bit more. Sadly our proper hotel wasn't a patch on this place.

Don't hestitaate to book here, it was great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
1 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
0.5 mi away
Orizontes Hotel & Villas
1.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zannos Melathron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zannos Melathron Hotel

Address: Main Street, Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range: £130 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zannos Melathron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zannos Melathron Hotel where history meets luxury..Location: Zannos Melathron Hotel situated on the highest level of the most picturesque settlement of Pyrgos village in Santorini. Santorini is easily accessible via air and boat transportation. The hotel is situated 5 km from Santorini airport and 6km from Athinios port.ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN:A 19th century mansion built by Michael Zannos, a master of the time, in 1750. The famous designer Giannis Tseklenis is responsible for the renovation and the decoration of all suites and public areas of Zannos Melathron. A man with inspiration and finesse who loves Santorini revived and completed in the best way Zannos Melathron that fills its visitors with pretty pictures and lovely emotions. As per 2015 Zannos Melathron is fully renovated and functions under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zannos Melathron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zannos Melathron
Zannos Melathron Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing