We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My partner took me here for my 40th and we stayed for 2 nights. We were a little concerned on arrival as the little bus left us at the bottom of a hill with our luggage. Not too long to wait however and a porter came walking down to greet us. We were told normally donkeys would be used to carry us up the steep hill but it was late and they were asleep. Be prepared for the very steep climb. The effort was well rewarded, what a fabulous unique hotel. The manager, Alexander met us with fabulous Greek canapés and a cold glass of wine. Our bedroom was wonderful, cave like with little nooks, candles were lit. Food was divine, nothing was ever any trouble. Quiet, clean, relaxing and views breathtaking. If you like hotels steeped in history with an imaginative dream like atmosphere, you will appreciate this hotel. You do have to travel outside to see other parts and explore. We would go back, but alas so many other destinations to visit and so little time. I will always remember this trip with a smile.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sammi517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Zannos Melathron Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

We spent a few days of our honeymoon there.
It's on the highest hill of the island and you have to access it on foot. But the luggage is carried by personnel.
View from terrace is amazing at sunset.
Staff is very friendly and The food is good.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasvets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

just came back from our holiday at zannos, great hotel, great service with attentive people top of the top, beautiful wine, beautiful view and great spa, food are amazing.ten thumbs up..keep up a great work....thank you all..we had a blast at zannos melathron.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The ZM is in an architecturally splended building -- essentially a converted mansion. After spending way too much time in modern hotels, it's amazing how much more relaxed we became while staying at a property with some real character. We had a small but cozy room off the main building; it had a cave-like feel, which provided a welcome respite from the sun. The service was stunning, and the manager Aphrodite did a wonderful job of explaining the sights around the island and central town. The views of Santorini from the main dining area were stunning. All in all, the service and food and views were truly worth the price. We'll definitely stay at this property if we return to Santorini.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This was our first taste of Greece -- our first stop on our honeymoon. We LOVED it! The sprawling property is a short stroll to a most-delicious restaurant called Penelope's, yet Zannos gives you no real reason to leave!

It has a beautiful view overlooking the island, is set in a charming town with very low tourism traffic, has an enjoyable pool and food and drink anytime you want -- delivered to you at your choice spot.

The staff become friends within a few short hours. From the moment Micha comes to carry your bags from the bottom of a decent climb up the steps to when Alexander gives you the grand tour... nothing is too much for the qualified and gracious folks at Zannos. Vassia even booked our ferry transfer for us and had it brought to our next hotel. What hospitality! Then there's George! We highly recommend the wine tasting with George! It's so fun and set in the hotel's wine cave, lit only by candlelight. Love!! Oh, plus there's a private spa you can use anytime you want -- just give the staff an hour or so heads up.

Oh, and the rooms:) We didn't spend much time inside, but when we did, it was quite enjoyable as well! Fruit and wine greet you upon your entrance, the bed was perhaps the most comfortable we had our whole trip, and the bathroom and sitting areas were also large.

The restaurant boasted delicious food. We only ate breakfast and lunch there and went out at night but were never disappointed. Fresh-squeezed orange juice, yummy omelettes and chocolate-filled croissants got our day going... rocket salad and a Greek sandwich kept us going mid-day... and George's caprihanas with fresh strawberries were an incredible nightcap!

A couple of other notes -- rent an ATV/quad to get around (Vassia can help you, of course) and visit Eros Beach (Alexander will give you directions!)

If you want to feel like the king and queen of this castle, this is your place. It felt the most special of our whole honeymoon:)

Room Tip: The rooms above the pool are two levels and overlook the island, but I don't think there's a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newsformaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We spent an early-October weekend on Santorini and we were lucky enough to choose Zannos Melathron Hotel in Pyrgos. It was FANTASTIC! We were greeted by Alexander, manager of the Hotel with a very warm welcome and as our luggage was carried to our room we received a small tour of the premises. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and cosy, with crispy clean, sparkling white linen! Amazing views from Hotel’s terrace, where we enjoyed our delicious, nutritious breakfast and in the evening, slowly sipped our cocktails watching the stormy clouds racing in the sky! George and Yiannis offered us excellent service and Alexander was an amazing host. Always extremely polite and discreet, Alexander tipped us on the most off the tourist road restaurants and places to visit. He took personal interest in our comfort and wishes and made this one of the most peaceful, relaxing and joyous weekends of our lives. Recommended beyond any doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I dont normally write any reviews but this one worth spending time on. From the minute we arrived until we left it was a pure pleasure to be at the hotel. Both Alexander, George and the rest of staff made our stay very comfortable and exciting. Alexander, the manager recommended a few places to visit and we loved it because it kept us away from busiest places on the island. We had an amazing room, superior breakfast made by very very attentive and fun George and simply could not have had a better base to experience the beautiful island. Some say it is a bit of a walk uphill, it is about 3 minutes and yes with bags it is not ideal, but we did not tell when we were arriving so it is up to you to make the arrangement. Although having said that when staff saw us with our bags they immediately helped us and there would be my only comment - make sure you tell them when you are arriving and they will take care of you. So I hope you enjoy stunning setting of this beautulf hotel and you can meet the best hosts I have met to date. This place is an Example!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oksana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
1.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
453 reviews
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
3.6 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
962 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
4.6 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zannos Melathron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zannos Melathron Hotel

Address: Main Street, Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range: £124 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zannos Melathron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zannos Melathron Hotel where history meets luxury..Location: Zannos Melathron Hotel situated on the highest level of the most picturesque settlement of Pyrgos village in Santorini. Santorini is easily accessible via air and boat transportation. The hotel is situated 5 km from Santorini airport and 6km from Athinios port.ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN:A 19th century mansion built by Michael Zannos, a master of the time, in 1750. The famous designer Giannis Tseklenis is responsible for the renovation and the decoration of all suites and public areas of Zannos Melathron. A man with inspiration and finesse who loves Santorini revived and completed in the best way Zannos Melathron that fills its visitors with pretty pictures and lovely emotions. As per 2015 Zannos Melathron is fully renovated and functions under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zannos Melathron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zannos Melathron
Zannos Melathron Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing