We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-class and good taste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I knew this hotel before, for its spectacular look (and membership to Relais&Chateaux) but only this year I really checked-in. First best thing about is the location, one of the highest-situated in Santorini, hence the fabulous panoramic view that takes the breath away, literally, wherever you look. Second best thing is the building. An historical house, one of the few latin mansions still existing on the island, with gorgeous ceiling-paintings and decorations, all old and classic yet very fancy in the same time.
Then comes the rooms, most of them being the former mini caves that once formed the medieval compound, splattered around the main building and down the hill, in a total lack of geometry, and that makes it more eye-catching. All of them are painted in ochre, have different names and sizes, some have private pools or jacuzzi or else, depending on the relief. I stayed a weekend in Floria, a studio with a big comfy bed, kitchinette, huge flat tv, antique furniture (lovely!) and an impressive underground stony bathroom.
I was up all day and busy and I may not have seen every little thing about the hotel but I got to interact with the staff (very international and pro, I so liked that!) and I found time to check the spa and the pool but what really blew my mind was the main sunbeds terrace beautifully set-up into a ruined (!!!!) space within the property - an unique design, I have to admit - it just can't get more pictoresque and comfy in the same time!
I also don't know the dinner but breakfast and lunch was delicious and the restaurant terrace is a serious competition for your senses - simply the best view from Pyrgos.
Special thanks goes to the staff and to Vladimir the concierge, so professional and a true needsolver, he knows everything around inside-out!
Oh, did I mentioned the surprise and the fun I had with the donkey who cared my luggages up and down the hill?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manuel_munteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stay in Zannos 7-11th October 2013 .

I was realy surprised when we park our car and man full in white with a donkey come to pick us up to the property.

The property located on highest point of Pyrgos village and realy separate from all the others with unique construction of 18s century .

The host welcome us on the entrance and propose to refresh us with glass of water as well as propose us glass of champagne to let us fill on vacations as he say. Champagne was nice and still our favorite drink for next 4 days.

The staff was very friendly always smile and very helpful ,we feel like home .

Vladimir the manager of that bountiful house give us a lot of recommendation for exclusive local taverns with fantastic food as wall he arrange for us a fantastic yacht trip around volcanic island of Santorini with nice meal on the board and sunset with champagne in the sea. We had dinner in Zannos restaurant and food was amazing as well as the sunset view from the restaurant. The room we had Junior Suite Theodosia was clean and decorated with antiques located under the church . I very disagree with some bad comments of some other visitors and more than that this place is like museum and most of the antics are familiar not one that they buy from the store, this house are different and provide us with feeling that return us few centurys back that something we miss in our new modern world.

I will recommend this place to my friends and for peoples who would like to feel specials

We with my wife definitely will be back in that specific hotel with long and bountiful history that Vladimir tell us on the history tour around the hotel on day of our arrival

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Михаил К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent a week here in May 2013. Pyrgos is a typically Greek island whitewashed village. We were driven to the car park at the foot of the village and a porter with a donkey was waiting to escort us up to the hotel. Suitcases were loaded onto the donkey and up we climbed. Staff were very attentive and showed us to our room. We were allocated in a cave-like room under the hotel. We hadn't realised this would be damp with a lot of condensation. Unfortunately as it was Early May when we stayed the weather was not too warm. Had it been hotter we would have been at the pool and the cave-like room may have been dryer. Staff were very friendly but there were at least two staff members were still training and didn't have a good command of the English language and at least two or three orders at mealtimes were mistranslated. While staff were trying to be as helpful as possible there was still a lot they had to learn about service which for a five star hotel we didn't think was good enough.

Room Tip: Don't go for a cave room in early season or if you suffer from claustrophobia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here last year and had a great time, the service was excellent, and a walk around the surroundings of this secluded hotel showed a glimpse of the local life. Breakfast provided a great start to the day and when we asked for some extra croissants on one morning, the waiter said there wasn't any left however, 10 minutes later the chef had baked some especially for us!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kunal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I can only say how wonderful this Hotel is,the Manager,Vladimir,he has the best sense of humour,he is awesome!That is what we all think,& his team also are superb,nothing is too much trouble!They could not do enough for us!We all arrived for a week together most of us knew one another,as we were from U.k.Wales &The Isle of Man,we were tired,cold & starving,nine of us sat down to eat @ 10 p.m.,I bet the chef could have wept!Well we had a fabulous meal,they also supplied us with a most fabulous Opera singer,Edwarde,he sang "The Wedding Song" to our daughter & her Fiance!The breakfast,s are delicious,there food is gorgeous!All the rooms are different,very comfortable,beautifully lit,lots of lamps!We all have said it was the best & most memorable Holiday of our lives,some of us have stayed in the"Best Hotels" in the world,but none as much fun,peaceful,rejuvenating as this one,none of us wanted to leave & go home.
There is so much to do in Santorini,and you do need comfortable shoes,trainers,sandals,that don,t slip,we hired a Catamaran,for 26 of us,fabulous swimming,food,wine etc...again excellent staff,wonderful sights,& swimming.Thank you to everbody,from all of us for the very Best time ever!!

Room Tip: Any they are all different, :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 730JackieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were taken a bit by surprise when the taxi dropped up off in a car park and porters picked up our bags and set off up the hill. There is no vehicular access to the hotel. The views from the top of the hill is however lovely. Our room was a cave which made it dark and the marble bath/shower looked good but the lack of a curtain meant that everything in the bathroom got wet and on the occasion that we tried a bath the hot water ran out with only a few inches of water in it.

So, fantastic location but not unique enough to excuse the shortcomings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScarboroughDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Where do I start???

Ummm, the food is good.

So our room was a cave that had no windows except in the door, not ideal really! It was so dark we had to ask for an extra lamp to be put in. This helped a bit. The shower, which is in the bath, had no curtain or door so the floor ended up being ridiculously soaked.

A major grippe is that how does a 5* hotel not offer wifi in every room. This is not difficult to offer. The only place you can get it is by the pool or in the reception room. The latter is right next to the breakfast/dining room but you can't even get it in there. Pretty ridiculous really.

Anyway the hotel is beautifully situated. The views of the whole island are lovely. The staff are interesting, the waiters are charming and always smiling but the managers, well. When we ask for a bedside light bulb to be replaced (desperately needed as per above) it never happened. 3 days of asking we gave up. When we asked at 10.30pm for a taxi to be booked for 10am the next morning we were guaranteed it despite the manager being more interested in chatting up a blonde. The next morning the cab for Thira had not been booked. So we had the to take Eddie the driver (lovely chap), this of course costs 20 euros hotel transfer fee rather than around 10E for the taxi!!! Also a word of warning the pool is tiny and was very cold but it was very late september.

However all these little bad things do not make this a terrible hotel. Actually we had a good time because: Pyrgos is fantastic. Its not too inundated with tourists and the village is quaint. Selene restaurant and its separate cafe and Pyrgos taverna near the petrol station are highly recommended. Franco's on top of the hill is also very recommended for sunset cocktails.

This hotel could be fantastic with just a few tweaks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
1 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
1 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orizontes Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zannos Melathron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zannos Melathron Hotel

Address: Main Street, Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range: £125 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zannos Melathron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zannos Melathron Hotel where history meets luxury..Location: Zannos Melathron Hotel situated on the highest level of the most picturesque settlement of Pyrgos village in Santorini. Santorini is easily accessible via air and boat transportation. The hotel is situated 5 km from Santorini airport and 6km from Athinios port.ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN:A 19th century mansion built by Michael Zannos, a master of the time, in 1750. The famous designer Giannis Tseklenis is responsible for the renovation and the decoration of all suites and public areas of Zannos Melathron. A man with inspiration and finesse who loves Santorini revived and completed in the best way Zannos Melathron that fills its visitors with pretty pictures and lovely emotions. As per 2015 Zannos Melathron is fully renovated and functions under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Zannos Melathron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zannos Melathron
Zannos Melathron Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing