We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
142
56
19
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
56
19
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building welcome drink old mansion breakfast room natural light hotel pool dim lighting favourite bit greek salad yummy food cab driver spectacular views private jacuzzi our honeymoon squeezed orange juice hotel is situated great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We were originally booked to stay in Hotel Thalassa in Kamari but after complaining about the standard of the room, we were moved here at no extra cost. The design of the hotel is wonderful and the all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The suite we stayed in was very clean, fresh towels were supplied twice a day and we really felt spoilt. As it is a very small hotel we had the pool to ourselves for most of the week - it almost felt like our own. Although Pyrgos is a small village there are a couple of very nice restaurants and a taxi to Fira only costs 10 euros. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We booked our stay in Santorini quite late and many of the higher class hotels were already booked. Zannos Melathron was available and when we looked into it, we found that it was written up in Conde Nast publications and thought that we couldn't go wrong.

We're in agreement with the other reviewers in that the hotel, its welcoming tradition, its grounds, and the view are all beautiful. The service is impeccable, the food is outstanding as breakfast was a pleasure each day. We did however take the bad with the good.

We are also in agreement with other reviewers in that the rooms are overpriced and "raw". Having just stayed at the Grand Bretagne in Athens (gorgeous hotel) we were disappointed by our accomodations at Zannos. We stayed in the Nickolaus room and found it to be very musty, dirty, and the bathroom left much to be desired - including an overflowing drain on the bathroom floor - hence the need to wear slippers all the time in the room. The bed was uninviting with lumpy pillows and a simple (not cozy at all) bedspread. The air conditioning did work well however.

Since there are only 9 rooms at the hotel and we were told they were booked the entire week, we didn't complain until we left. They told us that we should have said something to them earlier because they could have moved us...but how could they have moved us if the hotel was booked? They blamed our discomforts in the room on the resoration of the hotel to the Neoclassical genre in which it was found. For over 500 Euros a night, Relais and Chateau should be ashamed. The hotel grounds and service are lovely, but if you like coming home to a clean, luxurious haven at the end of each day, this hotel is not for you.

Also note that Pyrgos is about a 20-35 minute drive from Fira and Oia, the central spots on the island. We rented a car and really enjoyed discovering the island that way. Cabs are difficult to attain, although the hotel will supply you with a cell phone which calls the hotel so that they can call transportation for you.

We investigated other properties on the island and recommend the other Relais and Chateau hotel Katikies in Oia. If we travel to Santorini again, we will most certainly stay there.

Tripadvisor.com helped us in planning this trip so we want to give back by writing this review and posting our photos. We hope it is helpful.

Stayed: September 2006
16  Thank LightPacker802683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

The hotel was horrible - the room that we received (paid 400 Euros per night) was an absolute damp - very humid and moist. I got sick and stayed sick for a month, following my stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank Agomesmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

The hotel is pretty nice but the room that was given to us was very bad, one of the rooms facing the inside walls where no sunsine ever entered. The room was extremely damp, a lot ot constant humidity. Basically, the room where we stayed in was like a cave. Both of us left the hotel after a 6 night stay feeling sick from the constant humidity and moisture.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank pitsvetkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

I stayed at the Zannos Melathron in May 2006 for part of my honeymoon. It was a very nice stay. We were picked up at the airport by the hotel staff and then driven into the town of Pyrgos (which is a few miles from Thira--the most known part of Santorini). Once we got to Pyrgos we were greeted by a donkey and I took the donkey through a maze of walls up to the top of the hill, where the hotel is located. It is an old mansion, that was built by Captain Zannos and restored. We got to the hotel and were greeted by the manager, Alexander, with champagne. We had the Vidianos Suite which was beautiful. We had a kitchen, living area, and large bathroom/bedroom. The only complaint I had (and I have heard is a common one through Greece) is that the air conditioner did not work that well and it can get humid. We had dinner in the hotel overlooking Thira and Oia the first night. The meal was excellent and I had fresh fish that was caught that day. However, be prepared because the food at the hotel is quite expensive. Generally, we ate our meals in the town of Pyrgos or in Thira. There is a pretty good tavern in Pyrgos called the Pyrgos Tavern. The pool at the hotel is very nice but it was quite cold in May. My husband and I fell asleep and we were surprised by a place of fresh fruit when we woke. We also received 2 free bottles of their own wine and a bottle of champagne on arrival. It was a nice stay, especially if you want to be in a very quiet environment. If you are interested in staying on the cliffs of Santorini, then this is not the place for you.

3  Thank rutgerjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews