We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel! Couldn't possibly ask for more!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orizontes Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orizontes Hotel & Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel! Couldn't possibly ask for more!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is situated in one of the best locations in order to reach all tourist attractions on the island. The hotel staff always has a smile on their face, making our stay pleasing. Moreover, the room was clean and comfortable with a breath taking view.

In the morning the buffet was served with american breakfast. On our first night at the hotel we ate at the Restaurant, the food was good and affordable! The variety of the menu had local foreign meals making it really difficult to choose what you wanted the most! The two girls at the Restaurant offered us some Vinsanto (local wine) on our last night when we ate there again.

Being back home and writing this review makes me nostalgic! i want to go back to that paradise!

Room Tip: We staid in a superior double room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Maddie L…Thank you very much for your nice words for the hotel and for our staff.. Specially we are very happy that you had good memories from your vacation…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    84
    47
    24
    19
See reviews for
33
146
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ylojarvi, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travel a lot and we've never experienced such rude staff and poor customer service. Lousy breakfast, the food ran out before their time. Balcony only two plastic chairs in the hallway. Room descriptions told the large room, we got a small room and the clerk on the day of arrival taken no regard to our complain of the size of the room. The next day, we learned that we were wrong. Paying clients will never be treated as if we were treated.
We recommend that customer service training for all staff. One should consider, for whom the hotel is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear ’kr50’,
As we explained to your companion ‘piipi’ on 15 July 2013 , we are very sorry to read this review form your part as well for our hotel. We have been contacted by Booking.com and we explained our side regarding your booking and complaints. We are still in communication to solve the misunderstanding. The hotel is indeed under new management since April 2013 and we’re doing our best to please our guests and to offer the best service. We would have loved to help you leave our hotel with a nice memory and we tried to solve the problem on the spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de couros
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

hotels shouldn't treat people according to their social position. we've worked very hard to be able to spend vacations in santorini, and book 5 days in the orizontes hotel in half board.
reasons why:
- half board dinner had left overs from the last day, and we didn't even got offered a glass of water. a beer in the hotel costs 5 euros, in a restaurant with view to the sea, is 2,5 eur.
- the staf have always a bad mood face, unless you're willing to spent all your cash in the hotel and order 5 euros beers all day long.

- in the dinning room, an old lady was smoking,during our lef overs meal, and me and my wife said to one of the employees that it was uncofortable to us, since it's forbidden doing it. but later, we've found out she could sqmoke, because she was the owner of the hotel...from where i come from, the example always comes from top.


. we had a fantastic hollydays in santorini, the island is very beautifull, with lots of activities to do alone or as a couple, but the standar of this 4 stars hotel are the lowest i've ever seen. luckily there are hundreds of hotels in the island, so next time, i'll definitely be looking for one of them.

Room Tip: select an hotel near thira or oia, or else you will need to rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helixmendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Helixmendes thank you for taking your time writing this review.

The half board menu in our hotel is a weekly menu. It is communicated by our reception and the staff in the restaurant to our clients so it cannot be leftovers from last night as you are saying. This is very serious accusation!.

The hotel is runned by two man (Fotis and Gregory) and there is no an old lady owner of the hotel!

We are happy to know that you had good vacations in Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were looking for a cheap but nice hotel, and that's exaclty what we got - in fact I couldn't believe the price we got when I saw the quality! The room was small for a superior room however it was immaculate, clean, modern, with a private terrace and view over the sea. the staff were extremely helpful, suggesting places to eat. We took their suggestion and had the most wonderful meal! The pool is huge and not too busy with other guests. We also had good bar service whilst sat at the pool, and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate, which we could eat inside or by the pool. Very relaxing, friendly and a great place to stay. The location of Pyrgos is good - close to the main town of Fira but quiet enough to get back and relax without the hustle and bustle and busy-ness of Firat. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear 'Sally W' . Thank you very much for your kind words.We will be very pleased to welcome you to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hotel Orizontes is one of the best thing in Santorini Island. I went there for my honeymoon. Me and my wife both loved the hotel. Staffs are pretty cool and friendly, helped me with city tour and car rental. You can get the best view from this hotel. Nice pool and restaurant. I will definitely stay in this hotel if I go to Santorini again. Fotis you were great. It was a perfect honeymoon for me

Room Tip: Try the honemoon deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank ShahedurR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear “ShahedurR”, we are very happy that you stayed in our hotel for your honeymoon and that you loved our hotel. You are always welcomed again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Ok, it is in a nice place, nice pool and one very polite waitress, the blond one, but that is all. We orded a room for two with seaveaw and extra place in our room, there should be enough room for four and big balcony. What we got? A room where is two beds and open patio to the corridor. And not extra space. When we tried to get some reduse only explain was that "the other company has made those decriptions at booking.com....and you have orded room for two...that is standard room, you have got what you ordered, no reduse." All what they do here is lifting their shoulders and that's that. Costumers fault, not theirs. So avoid this hotel if you want to get good service and to get what you have ordered. Breakfast seemed to be good but food ended before 9 am.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank piipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We are very sorry to read this review for our hotel. We have been contacted by Booking.com twice and we explained our side regarding your booking and complaints. The hotel is indeed under new management since April 2013 and we’re doing our best to please our guests and to offer the best service. You had booked the Standard Sea View room for 2 and that is what we gave you during your short stay in our hotel. We didn’t downgrade you as you have been claiming all over the internet. We realize that we might have not been able to please your needs but you never said anything when you checked in so that we could find from the very beginning a solution to your problem. You used the room without any complaints and you even came to the front desk before checking out to arrange a taxi. It was not only when you came back to check out that you DEMANDED a discount claiming that the room is not what you had booked. You continued by bringing up a discussion you overheard during your check in with some other guests of our hotel from which you assumed that we gave away YOUR room to them. We tried to explain to you why there is no reason for discounts and that YOUR room had nothing to do with theirs but you kept insisting on getting a reduction to your room rate. Actually you wouldn’t listen to us. You said you don’t care about what we have to say and that you had made your decision. You wanted us to discount you otherwise you would go online and write bad reviews. As a new management we are sincere and we don’t succumb to blackmailing. We would never “pay” someone not to write or to write something nice for us. All we want is that our guests have some unforgettable moments during their stay here that worth telling the world.
We would have loved to help you leave our hotel with a nice memory but you chose to be absolute. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write some nice words about the bar staff and we would like to confirm you that the breakfast closes every day at 11:00, never earlier...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hotel Orizontes is a great hotel with the most perfect view i have ever seen. Me and my friends had the most fun and a magical week in santorini and it was mostly because of the staff of the hotel. Petra and Madalina were very nice and kind and made the best cocktails and we had a lot of fun in their company. Greg and Foti were the best managers and made our stay the perfect vacation. We are looking forward to coming back every year in Orizontes Hotel. Thank you for the best time we ever had!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the "caldera" are the best ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear “Alina M” , Thank you for your kind words. You are welcomed every year in our hotel. :) 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
6.6 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
2.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.6 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zannos Melathron Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orizontes Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orizontes Hotel & Villas

Property: Orizontes Hotel & Villas
Address: Main Street, Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orizontes Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orizontes Hotel & Villas is ideally situated between the town of Fira and Pyrgos village offering breathtaking panoramic views of Santorini island, the renowned Caldera and Volcano, Fira, Oia, Akrotiri and the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean. The hotel is build on top of a hill surrounded by vineyards and combines the traditional architecture of the Cycladic islands with modern interior design. Enjoy a relaxing swim in our beautiful swimming pool - one of the largest on the island - overlooking Santorini or explore the picturesque surrounding area. The hotel is only 3km from Fira town and within walking distance from the traditional village of Pyrgos, the biggest winery of the island - SantoWines, Prophet Elias Monastery, the Art Space private museum of art and many local tavernas, restaurants, cafes and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your Orizontes Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orizontes Santorini Hotel Pyrgos
Orizontes Hotel Santorini
Orizontes Hotel & Villas Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing