We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orizontes Hotel & Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel!!!
Beautiful pool and pooldeck with amazing view and sunset.
Nice room actually we had a small suite with a sofa area and another tv which was good and a sunset view.
Very nice restaurant around the pool, very good and very cheap!!
Good background music

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enca26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear ‘Enca26’…Thank you very much for your kind words…We are very happy that you liked your room….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    89
    49
    26
    23
See reviews for
37
153
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

When I found Orizontes online, I couldn't have been more excited. I was so happy to have found a beautiful hotel in Santorini for a very reasonable price. I even showed all of my friends the website because I was so excited to be staying at such a nice hotel with my boyfriend in Santorini. When we first arrived, I was very nervous that I had made a mistake. The room that we were first given was so tiny and looked absolutely nothing like the photos on the website. There was nowhere to put our suitcases or our clothes and the washroom was sliding glass doors that felt like it was two inches away from the bed. It was uncomfortable going to the washroom knowing that my boyfriend was lying in bed literally right beside me with a piece of glass between us. We were so upset and felt like we had been scammed. They changed our room the next day to a bigger and better room but the air conditioning was broken so they once again had to move us and because of all the fuss, they upgraded us to a suite (no charge). The suite had two floors with the bed upstairs and a living room, kitchenette, and washroom on the main level. There was a big balcony with a gorgeous view and a hot tub, but of course, the hot tub was broken. In regards to the rooms (since I had a chance to view three different ones), they really aren't that nice. The website is deceiving when it comes to showing you what the actual rooms look like. When we mentioned that to one of the girls at the front desk, her reply was that 'all the rooms don't look the same'. Well, that's helpful.

Aside from the rooms, the hotel has a very beautiful pool with an incredible view. My boyfriend and I enjoyed hanging out by the pool (it was windy though). We had lunch a few times at the restaurant by the pool and we thought that the food was great! The staff are very friendly and helpful, with booking excursions, calling taxis, getting you towels and telling you where to go and what to do on the island. So this was all a very positive part of our stay here.

What we really did not like was the location. Once again the website tells you that you are a lot closer to Fira (one of the main towns) than you actually are. On our first night we walked through the village of Pyrgos (where the hotel is situated) and it was a ghost town. We did not understand why it was so quiet if we were in Santorini during tourist season. We did eat at a very beautiful and delicious restaurant two minutes away and across the street from the hotel, that has a nice garden and great view of the sunset (I forget the name), but also empty. We then discovered Oia the next night and Fira the night after and both towns were so busy and full of nightlife that we realized we were definitely not staying in the right area. We went back to both towns and payed for taxis every night or else we would have been very bored with nothing to do.

Overall, our stay at this hotel wasn't that bad and we were sad to leave Santorini. We were just very disappointed in the location and with the rooms, and how we felt that the website was very deceiving about both.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear ‘Devin S’ we thank you for your kind words for our staff and we are very happy that you liked our restaurant ,the pool area and the view.

I respect your point for the Pyrgos village but most of our clients choose Pyrgos village specially because it is much calmer comparing to Fira . Pyrgos village is also chosen because it is very conveniently located .It is 10mn driving distance from Fira , 10mn from Akrotiri, 10mn from the beaches , 10mn from the Airport , 10mn from the port…

We are also very happy to learn that you appreciated your room upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel & villas for our honeymoon and we have to say that we would HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. The views from this hotel are AMAZING. It has panoramic views and you can view the entire island from this hotel. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and very clean.

Management and all staff were superb and extremely helpful when we needed. The staff could not do enough for you. The food was great, breakfast was constantly topped up and if we asked for anything they would provide it if it had run out. During the day if you decide to hang out by the hotel they have great food and drinks choice and again if you ask for anything off the menu they will attempt to please and provide it if they are able to do so. The pool and views at this hotel are absolutely beautiful, so if you don't want to move for a day or two you can, they provide everything on sight and the food and drinks are affordable.

I could write all day about this hotel, highly recommended for anyone looking for a place to stay away from all the hustle and bustle but close enough to visit the entire island. Perfect location to get around, the buses are great and are more like coaches so great way to get around if you don't want to hire a car or quad. Within 10 mins you can get to the capital of the island, to the beach, bars, you name it and from Fira (the capital) you can get a bus for 1.60 euros to anywhere on the island.

Beautiful island, SUPERB hotel, BRILLIANT staff, AFFORDABLE food and drink, guests extremely friendly.

Cant wait to return and my wife and I will most definitely be booking ORIZONTES for our stay.
A Huge, Huge thank you to Petra, Nicos, Madelina, Aggeliki, Fotis, Gregg, and the rest of the friendly and most helpful gang.

Jason

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are brilliant but not necessarily essential as the moment you leave any room at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JasonG421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear JasonG421…Thank you very much for your nice word and the recommendation …We enjoyed very much your company and it was OUR pleasure to have you in our hotel during your honeymoon. All our staff wishes you all the best in your life and we really hope to see you again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Santorini, my parents and I spent such a lovely time in this hotel. Beautifull view, the pool area is incredible!
The staff is very kind and very accomodating, I felt at home! Thank you so much to everyone who has made our trip the most unforgettable family vacation ever! Madelina, Petra and Nikos were GREAT with us during breakfast and dinner! :-)
I can't wait to come back!
Touristic services were also great, reception gave us great advice on what to do on the island. My favorite was the sailing with Blue Lagoon!!
I'd love to plan another vacation at this hotel. We became good friends with a couple staying at the hotel. Lovely memories! Such wonderfull people!

We are now back in Paris to reality.

Merci beaucoup ;-)

Pamela, Vivian and Xavier !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unbelievableee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Pamela, Thank you very much for your nice words for the hotel and our staff…We enjoyed very much your company, with your smile you always gave energy to our team. I also enjoyed very much the very interesting conversation with your father ,Xavier and hopefully I will be able to visit and sail with him in the Lake Titicaca…We look forward to see you and your family again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is situated in one of the best locations in order to reach all tourist attractions on the island. The hotel staff always has a smile on their face, making our stay pleasing. Moreover, the room was clean and comfortable with a breath taking view.

In the morning the buffet was served with american breakfast. On our first night at the hotel we ate at the Restaurant, the food was good and affordable! The variety of the menu had local foreign meals making it really difficult to choose what you wanted the most! The two girls at the Restaurant offered us some Vinsanto (local wine) on our last night when we ate there again.

Being back home and writing this review makes me nostalgic! i want to go back to that paradise!

Room Tip: We staid in a superior double room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Maddie L…Thank you very much for your nice words for the hotel and for our staff.. Specially we are very happy that you had good memories from your vacation…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ylojarvi, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travel a lot and we've never experienced such rude staff and poor customer service. Lousy breakfast, the food ran out before their time. Balcony only two plastic chairs in the hallway. Room descriptions told the large room, we got a small room and the clerk on the day of arrival taken no regard to our complain of the size of the room. The next day, we learned that we were wrong. Paying clients will never be treated as if we were treated.
We recommend that customer service training for all staff. One should consider, for whom the hotel is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear ’kr50’,
As we explained to your companion ‘piipi’ on 15 July 2013 , we are very sorry to read this review form your part as well for our hotel. We have been contacted by Booking.com and we explained our side regarding your booking and complaints. We are still in communication to solve the misunderstanding. The hotel is indeed under new management since April 2013 and we’re doing our best to please our guests and to offer the best service. We would have loved to help you leave our hotel with a nice memory and we tried to solve the problem on the spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pyrgos hotels

Rio de couros
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

hotels shouldn't treat people according to their social position. we've worked very hard to be able to spend vacations in santorini, and book 5 days in the orizontes hotel in half board.
reasons why:
- half board dinner had left overs from the last day, and we didn't even got offered a glass of water. a beer in the hotel costs 5 euros, in a restaurant with view to the sea, is 2,5 eur.
- the staf have always a bad mood face, unless you're willing to spent all your cash in the hotel and order 5 euros beers all day long.

- in the dinning room, an old lady was smoking,during our lef overs meal, and me and my wife said to one of the employees that it was uncofortable to us, since it's forbidden doing it. but later, we've found out she could sqmoke, because she was the owner of the hotel...from where i come from, the example always comes from top.


. we had a fantastic hollydays in santorini, the island is very beautifull, with lots of activities to do alone or as a couple, but the standar of this 4 stars hotel are the lowest i've ever seen. luckily there are hundreds of hotels in the island, so next time, i'll definitely be looking for one of them.

Room Tip: select an hotel near thira or oia, or else you will need to rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helixmendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory S, Manager at Orizontes Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Helixmendes thank you for taking your time writing this review.

The half board menu in our hotel is a weekly menu. It is communicated by our reception and the staff in the restaurant to our clients so it cannot be leftovers from last night as you are saying. This is very serious accusation!.

The hotel is runned by two man (Fotis and Gregory) and there is no an old lady owner of the hotel!

We are happy to know that you had good vacations in Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
0.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
649 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orizontes Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orizontes Hotel & Villas

Property: Orizontes Hotel & Villas
Address: Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orizontes Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orizontes Hotel & Villas is ideally situated between the town of Fira and Pyrgos village offering breathtaking panoramic views of Santorini island, the renowned Caldera and Volcano, Fira, Oia, Akrotiri and the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean. The hotel is build on top of a hill surrounded by vineyards and combines the traditional architecture of the Cycladic islands with modern interior design. Enjoy a relaxing swim in our beautiful swimming pool - one of the largest on the island - overlooking Santorini or explore the picturesque surrounding area. The hotel is only 3km from Fira town and within walking distance from the traditional village of Pyrgos, the biggest winery of the island - SantoWines, Prophet Elias Monastery, the Art Space private museum of art and many local tavernas, restaurants, cafes and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orizontes Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orizontes Santorini Hotel Pyrgos
Orizontes Hotel Santorini
Orizontes Hotel & Villas Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing