We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gambling fun”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potawatomi Carter Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carter
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Casino is right off the snowmobile trail. We snowmobiled there and spent the night. Had a nice room rate with match play offer. Rooms are nice and quiet. Pool area is nice and has a hot tub. Construction is on going and will affect the pool area from mid-Feb. to April. Restaurant choices are very nice. Prices aren't half bad either. Food was very tasty. Had the dinner buffet and couldn't beat it with soup, salad and dessert. They do a good job keeping the cigarette smoke controlled. I am a non-smoker and cigarette smoke bothers me but didn't have a problem here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrome61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have stayed several times last being Monday Sep 16 the rooms are clean food has always been great. Had the breakfast special l3.49 all I need to start my day. Well as you may know some win some lose. I lost but my wife came out way to the plus side but than that can change real fast.. I like the place and it's close to home 45 miles.

Room Tip: Join the players club right away to get free things you may get a free room the next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slug r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We reserved a double queen/whirlpool suite. We arrived 4 hours early on a Friday, and our room was ready. Rooms were VERY reasonable, AND with the game play that we received for both nights, one night ended up being free. We checked in and immediately started gambling. We thought the slots were VERY loose, considering we live in Green Bay, and we think Oneida are VERY tight. We ended up winning that night and gambled on that and our play money all weekend. Never spent a penny of our money gambling. We went to the Seafood Buffet that night. I don't eat seafood, so just got the salad bar. It was all "ok". We used the whirlpool that night which was VERY enjoyable. I would say the shower stall is WAY too small. My fiancé is a BIG man, so he ended up washing up in the whirlpool. I'm little, and I barely fit in the stall. The next morning, we had the breakfast buffet, which again was "ok". Neither meal at The Springs were amazing, but nothing horrible either. We ate at the bar restaurant that night which WAS amazing. The wrap was so good, and my fiancé got the burger with the pineapple on it and LOVED it. I would say our only issues were the shower stall, no chairs on the patio, and the housekeepers were VERY VERY noisy in the morning above us when they were cleaning the room. We didn't get to sleep in either morning. BUT, the casino is NOT smoky at all, all the workers are very friendly and courteous, and the hotel is very clean. It was a great weekend and would stay again. Would probably have to ask for an upstairs room so we could actually sleep

Room Tip: Close to the casino or upstairs, as you can hear the housekeepers walking around cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

very nice hotel and casino ... great decor and clean.
be prepared to wait at check on ... i thought the crew could have run this a little smoother and faster.
the bar had a great special for hotel guests - buy one get one free! however there seemed to be only one bartender.

specifically wanted to play craps. they have a small tanle run with a one man crew - the three dealers i met were friendly and helpful ... but they closed table as soon as it was empty. guess they would rather have dealers standing at empty 3 and 4 card poker tables!
i would not play slots here ... machines are expensive and tight!

i will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandeerrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to get outta town. We chose carter Potawatomi casino and hotel. We got a whirlpool room for $163(with tax). That included 2- $40 promo for the casino. The room was dated. The tv in the room was an old tube flat screen. There were a few stains in the whirlpool. Not exactly dirt but most everything was dingy from age. They could use a major remodel or updates. They make enough in the casino to pay for it. What I really liked was everything was open 24/7. The restaurants closed at 2ish but the pool, sauna, fitness room, etc never closed. The bars food was amazing. It's sports bar style, very laid back and comfy. Overall I had a good time but would have been better to come home with $$$ from the casino.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeepfrk_cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were just at this hotel last weekend with a few friends. This is in a rural area, so we expected decent prices for the room. They were over $120 per room. That was for a basic room, no fridge. They did have free wifi and good Ice shakes in the bar area. The room had a very foul smell. We waited and then came back in a few hours and the smell was there. When we called the front desk, the girl at the front desk said she would see what she could do. Eventually she showed up with a bottle of room deodorizer from the housekeeping closet. She said herself that she could not believe the smell... We did not get an offer to change rooms or anything. The other issue we had was with the service in the breakfast buffet area. It was almost impossible to get coffee with the breakfast. In the same area at dinner I ordered a glass of Cabernet and she brought me white wine, I was almost finished with my meal before she said she "tracked down" red wine. Very poor service from all of the wait staff.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chev007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for one night in June 2013 for my boyfriend's birthday. The casino offered a birthday lunch for him so we thought we'd try it and spend the night at the hotel too. Our room was huge!! We stayed in a King deluxe. Room 232. The staff was very friendly!! We have stayed here before and we have never had a problem! I know that we will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claaschopperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Potawatomi Carter Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potawatomi Carter Casino Hotel

Address: 618 State Highway 32, Carter, WI 54566-9193
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Carter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carter
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Potawatomi Carter Casino Hotel, situated in scenic Forest County, offers guests the best of both indoor and outdoor entertainment. Surrounded by hundreds of miles of snowmobile and ATV trails, guests can hit the trails for an afternoon of riding and sightseeing then enjoy the evening inside in one of the many areas of the casino, hotel or restaurants. Potawatomi Carter Casino's hotel is also newly renovated. A recent ten month long project, now completed, definitely has its rewards. Guests entering the lobby will now notice the warmth and glow of a fire place, complimented by a lounge area for our guests to relax and a new business center. Don't miss the new feature wall of the lobby, highlighting the Forest County Potawatomi while checking in. As guests walk through the hotel to reach their room, you'll notice the rich wood that gives that warm comfortable feeling. Each newly renovated room offers that comfortable, cozy feel you can only get one other place, home. When guests first walk into their room, they are not walking into just any hotel room. They are walking in to a warm, inviting atmosphere equipped with, what guests are calling, "the most comfortable beds they have ever slept in." All of the rooms feature a 47'' HD TV, suites have two TV's, free Wi-Fi, a Keurig coffee machine, refrigerator and microwave and in room safe. While staying don't forget to check out the recreational facilities. Guests can enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the hot tub and sauna or run an extra mile in the fitness center, all located on the lower floor of the hotel. While visiting, guests will find two areas for their dining pleasure. Located right on the casino floor, The Flames Sport Bar is the ideal place to watch any and all sports. The dining room is surrounded by televisions so guests are sure to see their favorite team, whichever sport it may be. But, they'll have a hard time missing anything on the large 165" screen! Who wouldn't want to stop in, have a drink and enjoy some delicious food? Located just down from the hotel lobby, the newly renovated Springs Restaurant, has an open, inviting concept dining and bar area. Guests will find daily featured specials for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The new menu features a selection of omelets, skillet breakfasts, salads, sandwiches and a variety of dinner entrees to include steaks and seafood. The bar in The Springs restaurant brings its own flair to the facility. With fourteen tap lines, guests are sure to find a draft that will compliment any entree on the new menu. Each month, a microbrew is highlighted, showcasing five different types of drafts. Most of these come from Wisconsin, so what better way to taste the flavors of the state, without having to drive the distance. This area also features a new lounge area with comfortable leather couch and chairs so guests can relax in style while enjoying the company of friends and family. The casino floor offers an unparalleled experience in the area. Open round the clock, with over 500 slot machines to choose from, guests will have a hard time finding just one favorite to play. Guest will always find a variety of newer slot machines, video poker and progressive machines with more machines arriving almost daily. Just off the casino floor located by the Bingo hall, a wide variety of Class II machines available for the eighteen year old gamers wanting to test their luck. Table Games opens daily at ten o'clock offering Three Card Poker, Let it Ride, Blackjack, Roulette and Craps available weekends or by calling ahead. Bingo is open Wednesday through Sunday and offers a wide variety of games for everyone. Bingo goers will find there are early birds games offered each day before regular bingo games start too. Bingo also offers state of the art electronics available for guests. The newly revamped Carter Club, which is the Potawatomi Carter Casino's award winning loyalty program, now consists of six different tiers. Each has a set of benefits that goes along for our guests to enjoy. Guests can easily earn the points they need to become part of the tier they desire. The Carter Club also offers enticing discounts on property, exclusive invitations to both on site and off site events and gifts for Golden Eagle and Eagle players. Also located in the hotel is the conference center. From small meeting spaces and private events to large seminars or holiday parties, Potawatomi Carter Casino Hotel has who guests are looking for. With various menu options, a newly renovated hotel and non-stop casino action just steps away, guests can host the ultimate event. So whether you're looking for the perfect spot to getaway or a place to gather friends and family for that special event, Potawatomi Carter Casino Hotel is the place to Make your Escape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Potawatomi Bingo Northern Lights Hotel Carter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing