We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Haiti El Rancho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Haiti El Rancho
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Petionville
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was great! I had the most amazing time. The rooms are so spacious. The water pressure of the shower is a vacation within itself. The staff was great, they anticipated my needs before I could ask. It felt like a resort in the middle of the city. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: First floor rooms lead you right to the bar!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaarani B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Haiti El Rancho, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mrs Patricia,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards

Mr Cha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    134
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
89
79
69
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

No doubt one of the most beautiful hotels in Haiti. Menu was unimaginative, food was good but not matching to $16.50 per burger price tag. Service was okay, but again, should be better for this place.

Why the one star then? I was here on a business meeting with a large group, and brought my family along to enjoy the pool. I ran into a number of other families I knew as they were out celebrating Mothers day. Despite having 15 or so young kids in the pool, it became obvious to all that there was an older man making out with two teens, right around all the kids, in the middle of the afternoon on a busy Sunday. There was also another questionable situation happening as well that creeped us all out.

I have seen this in hotels in Haiti often enough, prostitution and situations with underage kids. We usually chase them off ourselves, or make management aware of what is going on, and they usually are right on it. We made a complaint to management, and they acknowledged that a number of other people complained as well, but they refused to do anything about it. After approaching the head manager, he also acknowledged the situation, but refused to do anything about it. Despite us letting him know that we and many other families would not be returning again, he chose to defend this creep over the business of a dozen or so families, quite possibly more as we will let the rest of our friends in the PAP area know the type of business they run.

I take this sort of thing seriously, and don't want my money going to support this sort of abuse and illegal activity. Whether you believe it was prostitution or not, (we are not naive though), we were quite surprised that management here would allow such behavior in the pool to happen around so many children. (Their staff was even walking by high-fiving the guy.) Disgusting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Graybeard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaarani B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Haiti El Rancho, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for feedback.

Firts of all we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered during your visit.
During weekend time, we open our magnificent garden pool to all of those wanting to spend a nice and funny day with us and we do not charge a single HTG, while enjoying the pool facility.
We try not to leave our entrance open to non desirable persons and we are very focused on that.

Last sunday the GM of the hotel and I were at the hotel during the whole day and we´ve talked to two ladies that were pointing out a bad behaviour coming from one of our guests. We did not have any other complaint regarding such an issue and there were more than 80 guests enjoying the pool on that particular sunny Sunday.

At NH Hotels, we do care about things related to human dignity and we certainly care about our guests satisfaction and comfort. We did not see anybody making out in the pool for all our guests were having fun and enjoying a relaxing and sunny day at the pool and should we actually see that kind of behavior, we would have taken the necessary steps to avoid it.

We are very sorry for we couldn´t match your spectations last Sunday and we would like you to give us a second chance if you want to enjoy a nice pool day at Petionville because, I assure you again, that we do not allow things as you have describe in your report to happen in our HOTEL and our usual and frequent guests are our best heritage and legacy.

Best regards

Mr Cha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

NH Haiti El Rancho is an exceptional hotel and I greatly enjoyed my stay there. The rooms are spacious and clean, the restaurant has a good selection and breakfast is delicious (but a bit pricy). The location is absolutely great -- after a long day of navigating city traffic it was a pleasure to retreat into the peace and quiet of El Rancho and yet to be in the middle of Petion Ville. Major plus -- plenty of parking so our friends and business partners could visit in the evening for drinks and not have to fight for parking spot.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank voyageintransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaarani B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Haiti El Rancho, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for 17 nights at the El Rancho Haiti and enjoyed it very much. The room was excellent for 2 adults and 1 child: 1st floor, direct access to the garden and pool, large, comfortable and clean. The staff was outstanding... every single day but especially when one of us needed medical care. What they arranged for us was beyond being just "supportive!, it was "outstanding". We will be back for sure

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaarani B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Haiti El Rancho, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to know that you had a very good experiences with us.

We hope that you feel better and we hope to see you soon.

For your next reservation please send you request by e-mail to : nhhaitielrancho@nh-hotels.com

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

First, let me say that this recently rebuild/refurbished hotel is beautiful. This could be one of the most beautiful hotels in Haiti. However, their restaurant was a major disappointment. Sat down with my family for lunch and no one came to our table. We moved and notified the hostess that no waiter came to our previous table so, we relocated to a new table and she took our order (nice of her). However, we waited for over an hour for our food to arrive (we ordered sandwiches and hamburgers!). And with small children this is not fun. This is my second visit to the restaurant and the second time this happened. It's like buying a beautiful brand new car that looks and smells great but when you get in it to drive it, you find out it has no engine. Yikes! Please, El Rancho, do something about this problem! Your competition in the area have outstanding service and would love your business! Without improvement, people (like me and my family) will grow weary and just go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyMan526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaarani B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Haiti El Rancho, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback,

Since our re-opening, we are working hard on our food service. Based on your feedback, we can see that we have to work harder to improve in those areas.

We hope to see you soon to give us another try.

Best Regards and Happy Easter !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this property at the end of a surgical trip to Haiti (Jacmel).

Immaculate hotel. Pool-side scene was LA-ish. Check in process was a bit painful, but expedia check ins can be painful in US.

Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Personnel, in particular Sandy at the bar, was attentive.

Will be my go to hotel in Port au Prince.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank father3KansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaarani B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Haiti El Rancho, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

On my latest travels, haiti was my destination. El Rancho is by far a terrific hotel in Haiti. Recently refurbished, it is an awesome experience. Everyone is so friendly and polite. Nothing is a problem. Beautiful surroundings. A magnificent poolside. And the food is first Class. Rooms are very clean and peaceful. Cannot fault one single thing. 4 Star but should be 5.

Room Tip: Poolside view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eamonncotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaarani B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Haiti El Rancho, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Mr,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are happy to know that for your last travel your choice was Haiti and our hotel. We are glad to know that your stay at the hotel was good.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards and Happy Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petionville
2.9 mi away
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
#1 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karibe Hotel
Karibe Hotel
#3 of 13 in Petionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oasis
Royal Oasis
#5 of 13 in Petionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kinam Hotel
Kinam Hotel
#4 of 13 in Petionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Petion-Ville
96.6 mi away
Port Morgan
Port Morgan
#3 of 3 in Ile-a-Vache
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Haiti El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Haiti El Rancho

Property: NH Haiti El Rancho
Address: Rue Jose de San Martin 5, Petionville 6140, Haiti
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Petionville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petionville
#2 Family Hotel in Petionville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Haiti El Rancho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star NH Haiti El Rancho hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Petion-Ville, the residental suburb of Port-au-Prince, Haiti's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Haiti El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Rancho
NH Haiti El Rancho Petionville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing