We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Haiti”
Review of Ibo Lele

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petionville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ibo Lele
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Petionville
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home in Haiti”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have been staying there since the mid-sixties (Papa Doc's time). Third generation is now running it. Food is just acceptable, but when we don't go out to eat we'll just have a hamburger and beer. Breakfast is a delight, overlooking Port au Prince, the sea, and mountains. The view is the hotels best selling point. Not your typical franchise chain hotel but a different, but delightful experience. Help wants to be helpful, tries hard, but sometimes fails in a quaint Haitian way. It's different than your run of the mill upscale hotel. We recommend it if you want an acceptable but different hotel experience. We go to Haiti once or twice a year and have tried others but this seems like our home in Haiti.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
2
1
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Pros - beautiful view, very tasty food, well kept rooms/hotel, gorgeous restaurant, great pool, friendly front desk staff (and on time wake up call).

Cons - rooms no wireless, very slow restaurant service, grounds need improvement

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason_moffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Best thing about this hotel I would have to say is its location. Situated on top of a hill, it offers some of the most amazing views of Port-au-Prince from the pool and the restaurant.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank V_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadiz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed at Hotel Ibo Lele for a week, for a business trip (international cooperation). The price is too high, and they actually charged me 20% more than they had offered to charge when I made the reservation - a clearly unacceptable practice. Staff is nice but very slow, even for Haitian standards (and that's quite something). Wonderful view and nice setting of the hotel, inclduing swimming pool. Obviously, being at this hotel, you live better than 99% of the local people, but the quality provided doesn't justify the high prices. And for this price, you'd expect clean towels and basic items like a shampoo, which were not provided.
One day I got sick, most probably from the hotel food/drink as I took all my meals there. Hygiene is definitively a problem in the kitchen, also found a cockroach on my plate once...
It's on top of the hill and far away from all the restaurants and bars in Petion-ville, so you need some way of transport to go there. I can not recommend the place, mostly for hygiene problems and for the high price. But the pool is nice and the view as well - good for an afternoon break if you have the time. The bar (Point Bar) is popular with the local High Society, especially on weekends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Petionville hotels

DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at Ibo Lele for 4 nights. I can imagine that once, many years ago, this hotel was probably one of the nicest in the area. The view of Port-au-Prince is beautiful. The restaurant has a limited menu and many of the items were not available. The common areas by the restaurant and pool were very nice but the rooms themselves are very basic and run down. If they invested a bit of money in updating bedding and towels and curtains the rooms would feel and look refreshed. However, on the bright side the rooms were clean. I would stay here again if the nicer hotels in town didn't have any rooms available but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place is amazing! it is so family oriented, and the view to port au prince is incredible. I had a great time there. They have the best sushi with a super nice bartender at the lounge. And as far as the sports bar, its the best bar in the entire city of port-au-prince, everybody goes there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nastassia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

It is possible for one to see what could be, and what it must have been, to be at the ibolele in the 50s, 60s, and maybe event the 70s. Unfortunately, the place has not seen any updates since. The hotel is run down, service is horrible, and everything is over price. The ibolele takes advantage of its remote location and gouge its patrons for every possible dollar and steal a few from you while you are not looking (I'll talk about that in a second).

For the pros, the hotel have one of the best views in Petion-ville. The hotel offers a dominating view of Port-au-prince from the patio. Everything positive stops there. The rooms are awful. They are stuffy with an unpleasant odor. The service is BAD.

During my stay at the Ibolele, I had several clothing item magically disappear from my room along with my i-phone. The front desk was clueless about the lost and became offended when it was brought to their attention. If this is not bad enough, the wait staff was constantly engaged in verbal altercation over how gratuities were split/shared. No management oversight to speak of.

Overall, my recommendation is "stay away". If all you want is a bed (not necessarily free from bedbugs), then ibolele is the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay away from the older part of the hotel. The rooms facing the pool are a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimOne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petionville hotels
1.3 mi away
NH Haiti El Rancho
NH Haiti El Rancho
#1 of 13 in Petionville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Oasis
Royal Oasis
#6 of 13 in Petionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kinam Hotel
Kinam Hotel
#4 of 13 in Petionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Karibe Hotel
Karibe Hotel
#3 of 13 in Petionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Petion-Ville
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Therese
Hotel Villa Therese
#5 of 13 in Petionville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibo Lele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibo Lele

Property: Ibo Lele
Address: Petionville, Haiti
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Petionville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Petionville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Ibo Lele Hotel Port-Au-Prince
Ibo Lele Haiti/Petionville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing