We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Arnaud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelson Lakes Home Stay
Ranked #3 of 5 Saint Arnaud B&B and Inns
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Great value for service”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stop at Nelson Lakes Homestay. I felt very welcome. My hosts were very knowledgeable . I was given great advice on where to go and to consider .I would recommend this place for anyone passing through Nekson Lakes

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ishoej, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Beautiful private home located just outside of St. Arnaud. Gay and Murph was an incredibly helpful and hospitable hosts and interested in everything and gave good directions to the tour. Nice and clean room, beautiful and well cooked breakfast. Can be strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Unfortunately we stayed here for just one night and would have liked to have stayed longer. This is a homestay, so be prepared to talk to your hosts and fellow guests; it's part of the experience. The two guest rooms are first rate and the owners - Merv & Gay - have tried to think of everything to make their guests comfortable. They provide tea and cakes on arrival and a drink in the evening (Merv even offered us a beer).

The house is quite isolated and very quiet; it's located about 4km out of St Arnaud. This isn't really a problem as there is not much happening in the village at night. You need to be aware that there is only one restaurant (at the lodge in the village) and the fish & chip shop closes at 7pm.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas and it included our 20th wedding anniversary. The hosts were wonderful, providing excellent food and hospitality and even going out of their way to make our anniversary so special with a special request from myself! Such peaceful lakes and scenery. Other overseas guests were also special people.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APatS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Maunganui
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Beautiful peaceful environment. Our room had it's own entry through glass sliding doors. Through the doors was a view of snow capped mountains as was the view from our window. The lounge is very comfortable, hosts full of information and enthusiasm. Home baking delightful. Peaceful and quiet.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Be careful as there are very few and some nights no eating facitlites in the local township. Check with the hosts they will let you know what is available and when.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
2.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
2.5 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson Lakes Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Lakes Home Stay

Property: Nelson Lakes Home Stay
Address: 5 Kehu Lane | Nelson Lakes, Saint Arnaud 7072, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Arnaud
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We moved from the North Island to St Arnaud in April 2016 and happy to be living in this beautiful part of the South Island.We have been working and offering a service to the tourist that come to NZ for the last 11 years. Berkeley Vale our home has 2 rooms both with ensuites. One double and one twin/ king room. Also we have a fully contained unit sleeps 4 Aunt Daisy Tin Shed . Very early New Zealand in style. Berkeley Vale the house has a lounge also a tea and coffee station.. We won't our guest to feel at home when they come to stay Home made cookies always on hand. All our jams, jellies and pickles are all made here at Berkeley Vale Nelson lakes. Our grounds are mainly native NZ.We sit at the base of the St Arnaud ranges and 5min to the beautiful village of St Arnaud. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing