We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place”

Travers-Sabine Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Arnaud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travers-Sabine Lodge
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Spent one night recently, with my partner in one of the Log Cabin style Studios.
We were very impressed with comfort, cleanliness, the rates, and the quiet.
Met Richard the owner, very friendly, he had no hesitation, in showing me around some of the other larger units available. ( for future reference!) There is also a good backpackers' facility...Dorms, a Double Room, shared kitchen, etc.
A short walk takes you to the 'Clinker' Cafe, open 7 days a week, with yummy menus for breakfast through to dinners....good service, indoor/outdoor dining.
Take a walk to the Lake, or, pack a picnic lunch, and go for a bush walk, there are many to choose from.... the whole area is stunning.
Word Of Warning...The Sand-flies are really big, and mean, I highly recommend taking repellent of some kind.

Room Tip: Studio 14 was a good and quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omaszefczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Clean, accessible, relaxed. Clean and large kitchen. Good for stopover. When we stopped over there was only another room booked, so we had the whole place to ourselves pretty much.

Lake is beautiful, but not a lot of food options in area, bear that in mind when traveling here. Two restaurants.

Do recommend a visit though, there are lots of nice walks in area, and you can drive up to midway up mountain for a panoramic view which is amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LeanneHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed in the backpackers lodge and was very impressed. Was greeted and shown around by a very nice staff member. The room was really nice with an awesome view of the mountains. The kitchen is well equipped, and the shower was good and hot. I was impressed with how clean and tidy every part of the lodge was. The birdsong in the early morning is incredible, too. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PersonWorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed in the backpackers' section. The facilities were good, our room was nice and the bathrooms were clean. Unfortunately, the manager was incredibly rude and unfriendly! When we arrived, we had to pay on arrival and therefore had to transfer money from one account to another but had no internet reception. I tried to explain this to the manager and he seemed really suspicious - I think he thought we weren't planning to pay. He was SO unhelpful with us needing internet access in order to pay, made it as difficult as he could. I very much got the impression that he didn't want us to stay.

All of our subsequent encounters with him were uncomfortable and he was brusque and rude to the extreme. He made a very strange comment when he spotted something that showed we were Jewish. Not impressed! If we go back to Nelson Lakes, we will not stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeMaunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We rented a studio-style "log cabin" unit at the end of a group of four units. It met all the basic requirements: regularly serviced; good king-size bed with firm mattress; clean well-lit bathroom with good shower; fairly basic kitchen facilities: pots and pans but only a small hotplate, so you wouldn't be cooking elaborate meals here. The nights were surprisingly warm and we could only open two small windows so the airflow was not all that great, but this is probably not a major issue in Saint Arnaud for most of the year. Saint Arnaud is a jumping-off point for trampers in the Nelson Lakes region and also offers a variety of beautiful short and long forest and mountain day walks and Lake Rotoiti for boating and (high summer only!) swimming, so it is a good destination from the Picton Ferry or from Nelson, on the way to the West Coast and other points in the South Island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Taking into account the regular price of this room, and its location, my rating of "very good" captures the fact that the room exceeded expectations. For a similar price, other motels tend to be a bit dated and 'ordinary' whereas the Travers-Sabine is noteworthy for its spacious and open floor plan, its open-timber construction and high ceilings, self-catering option, and modern bathroom facilities.

The kitchen is equipped with a hot plate, kettle, microwave, small fridge, dish ware, cutlery, utensils, and washing-up supplies. There is wireless internet signal in the room ($4/hour) and SKY TV with a few channels including a Movie channel. The bathroom appears to have been recently renovated with tile floors, new shower enclosure, and new sink/faucets, and toilet. The comforter on the bed was dated but the linens were good. And the room was very clean.

There is on-site coin laundry and dry lines outside each room - very nice features for those of us on extended journeys.

The lodge is very close to the Nelson Lakes, and has a nice walking trail behind the lodge that takes you to the nearest lake. You can also walk to the nearby Department of Conservation visitor centre for help with planning activities in the park.

Despite the solid-looking construction, the walls of this lodge are thin and so require that you give consideration to your neighbours (and vice versa). If I could recommend improvements, I'd suggest that the bathroom could have used a couple of hooks for hanging personal belongings; and I would have appreciated a second nightstand to place my eyeglasses and book.

That said, on the whole, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Travers-Sabine and found it to be very good value for the money. We certainly will stay again if we're through the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Always stay at the motel units ,the staff are very accomodating ,the service is great .St Arnaud is a special place. Will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNVKaikoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
10 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travers-Sabine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travers-Sabine Lodge

Address: State Highway 63, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Saint Arnaud
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing