We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
77
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson lakeslake rotoitirecommend this b b to anyonenearby lakenext morninggreat conversationnew zealandlocal areaenjoyed our stayother guestsupstairs roomperfect stayspent two nightscomfortable bedrussellmarjoriehosts
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

St. Arnaud house is situated right in the beech forest, so close to the lake, the closest neighbours being the bellbirds and the tuis. Russell and Margery were the most attentive hosts making us feel extremely welcome and giving us a very special holiday. Our room was exquisite with great attention to detail and marvellous views of the mountains through the skylights. After a long day's walking to return to good conversation, a glass of wine and a wonderful dinner (cooked by Margery) added to our overall enjoyment. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 566Toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

A wonderful wonderful place located at a wonderful location it is in a secluded spot that gives you the filling you are in the middle of the forest and yet within 10 minutes walk you are at the lake and all the activities are near by.

The rooms are specious the beds are very comfortable with view to the forest or the mountains - depending on the room 100% cotton sheets with worm duvet as well as electric blankets.

The en-suit shower is very specious and you have everything you need.

the leaving area is big and comfortable.

Breakfast is cooked to your liking by Margurie (an artist in the kitchen) it varies between cooked English breakfast (bacon and eggs - Rassuls favorite choose it if you can :)) as well as muesli and freshly backed muffins - and of course don't miss Russles delicious coffee!!

Dinners are as good but wait for the desserts (puddings...) non stop feast!!!

But the most important feature of this place are your hosts a warm couple that makes you feel at home right away and is very helpful and kind which made me feel like I'm staying with close family or old friends - after 5 days there it was very hard to leave for the rest of my trip :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Our B&B hosts Russell and Margery Chilton could not have been more welcoming. Their wooden log-style cottage is set in a beautiful garden only a minute off the "63" main road in St Arnaud, between Murchison and Blenheim. We met their pet dogs and cats and instantly felt at home. The room we had was a little small and lacked a cupboard but in all other respects was cosy and clean, with an en-suite bathroom and toilet. We slept very comfortably and warmly on the Queen sized bed - and warmth is important in the cool alpine climate! Even though we visited in mid summer the night temperatures dropped below 15 deg C. Margery and Russell shared life experiences from the area and from their past as retired farmers. We shared many jokes and really appreciated the insight they gave us to activities in the area and particularly advice on day walks in the beautiful Nelson Lakes National Park (to which their property is closely located). We soaked up the bell bird calls and otherwise virtual complete silence at night. We enjoyed day walks and a boat (water taxi) trip on the Rotoiti Lake, which Margery kindly helped us book. Her breakfasts are a feast and her gourmet dinner a treat too - she is a respected cook in the area from speaking to the folks in St Arnaud village. Russell makes a good coffee and has many stories to share. We loved this place and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Das63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

St Arnaud falls into the 'best kept secrets" category. It is a particuarly beautiful spot of bush around quite a picturesque lake. I think it is a village of about 30 families. St Arnaud House is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility or as a basce for fishing, skiing etc. The accomadation is of the highest standard. Service from the hosts is outstanding. We prchased dinner and I don't belirve you would find better value anywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Russell and Margery, the owners of St Arnaud House, are the most superb hosts. They took a genuine interest in us and were keen to ensure our stay in St Arnaud was a memorable one. We arrived early and it was no trouble to leave our luggage while we scaled the peaks above St Arnuad. Margery cooked a magnificent meal for us, after our six hour trek to the top of the world and it was simply the best meal we had on our holiday, and we had dined in some top class restaurants in Christchurch, Picton, Blenheim and Nelson. Russell's knowledge of local wines ensured we drank only the best. We enjoyed a relaxing, pleasant and entertaining evening with them, one of those nights you don't really want to end. We awoke the next morning to a magnificent breakfast, again enjoying the wonderful company of Russell and Margery. We have travelled to New Zealand three times over the last five years, we enjoy holidaying there, but this was by far our best holiday and a major reason for that was our stay at St Arnaud House. We can't wait to return and we will. Do yourself a favour, spend at least one night at St Arnaud House on your next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwifanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews