We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever stayed at.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Arnaud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Arnaud House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Saint Arnaud B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a great time we had with Margery
and Russell at St Arnaud House, their
gorgeous home in the forest by Lake
Rotoiti, Nelson Lakes. The wildlife was
amazing, the room was spacious,
comfortable and beautiful, the meals
were delicious and the hospitality was
the best we've ever encountered in a
B&B. Thank you so much for making our
stay truly special.
Jenny and Laurie, Auckland

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

We agree that St Arnaud and especially lake Rotoiti and the surrounding Nelson Lakes National Park, is a very special place. It gives Margery and me great pleasure welcoming all visitors to our home and making your stay memorable and relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed with Russell and Margery for one night on our way to the West coast. We had a lovely welcome and Russell was very interesting and knowledgeable about both the local area and the country as a whole. The evening meal was delicious and we were very sorry to only have the one night. We loved it and would heartily recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Tui room has a skylight through which you can see the stars!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell and Mar... C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

The South Island of New Zealand has some beautiful areas to explore and see, just passing through can only give you a glimpse of what is there to see and do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed just one night and really enjoyed the stay. The house is in a lovely spot - very quiet and peaceful. We had a warm welcome from Margery and Russell. Food was lovely and we really enjoyed our chats with our hosts. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell and Mar... C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

We enjoy meeting and making friends from around the world, chats over a cup of tea, at breakfast or evening dinner only enhance your stay in our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a great stay at St. Arnoud b&b. Friendly hosts, delicious homecooked meal, cosy room with view on the garden. Clean room, good beds. The hosts will sit and eat with you, kind and sociale people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell and Mar... C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Margery and Russell both enjoy the company of our guests to St Arnaud house, we have found that having meals or a glass of local Nelson or Marlborough wine with our guests makes for a relaxing enjoyable evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

What a find! We stayed with Margery and Russell for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. They have a secluded and beautiful spot amongst native Beech - a marvelous setting for a very inviting and comfortable home. Margery and Russell were superb hosts...we really enjoyed our lengthy chats over Margery's outstanding home cooking and Russell's excellent barista-quality coffee! The room was well appointed and the bed was very comfy. Pug and Chilli the cats were very entertaining, as was Ruby the dog! Neither of us are used to living with pets but these little guys were delightful. On the first night we chose to dine at home...and the food (and company!) were so pleasant we did it again on night #2. Margery really is an excellent cook. Both hosts are unfailingly generous and kind.
Overall - we loved it. We would stay again in an instant. Heck, we'd even book a holiday around staying here it was so good! St Arnaud itself is a knockout. Beautiful walks, stunning forest... and Russell and Margery's house is the perfect place to unwind at the end of it all...share a glass of wine in front of the fire and a fine meal.
I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B...an absolute highlight of our holiday!

Room Tip: Can't comment on other rooms (though I'm sure they're excellent as well) but the Tui roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights here recently and had a pleasant experience with some highlights (as others have pointed out) including marg's breakfast, the best coffee we had in our two week trip around NZ, and a very comfortable bed. Will certainly recommend to friends and family and if we are in the area again will be staying here if we can. Thanks to both Russell and Marg for such a welcoming and enjoyable time.

Hopefully next time I'll catch some of those elusive kiwi trout!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell and Mar... C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi Richard, it was all our pleasure having you stay at our place, The Brown trout here can be elusive and can definitely test your skills and your patience sometimes.
There are some very good trouts ones to be had in the rivers and the lake, that make it very worthwhile for future trips to our beautiful area.
Look forward to meeting you and your family sometime in the future
Russell and Margery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Russell and Margery were wonderful, welcoming hosts. Their home is beautiful and comfortable and I cannot fault our stay here. Russell and Margery truly deserve the fabulous ratings they have here. The surroundings are fabulous and the food was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
246 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#2 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
6 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Arnaud House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Arnaud House B&B

Address: 4 Holland Street | PO Box 88 St Arnaud, Tasman, Saint Arnaud 7053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Arnaud
Price Range: £108 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Arnaud House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Arnaud House is a boutique sub-alpine Hosted bed and breakfast lodge nestled amongst native beech forest and its abundant bird life. We are within easy strolling distance to Lake Rotoiti the gateway to the Nelson Lakes National park We have three queen bedrooms available, all with en-suite bathrooms. Wireless broadband internet, evening meals are available by prior arrangement. St Arnaud House is heated by log fires and heat pump, making for cosy warm evenings in the winter. Whether you desire a romantic break or adventure holiday, or just yearning for fresh mountain air, St. Arnaud House is the perfect location.Come warm your toes in front of the log-burner after a great day's hiking, fishing or skiing. relax with a great espresso coffee, Please contact us for one of Margery's superb home cooked evening dinners, which includes a complimentary glass of wine are available by prior arrangement.)Russell & Margery, our Burmese cats, Pug & Chilli and Poodle, Ruby, look forward to welcoming you into our home and sharing our wonderful location with you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing