We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quality B&B with excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Arnaud House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Arnaud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Arnaud House B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Arnaud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A quality B&B with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

St Arnaud house was our first experience of a New Zealand B&B and it certainly set a high standard.

The room was luxurious and comfortable, but what I most remember is the food - from tea with homemade cakes and fudge on arrival, a dinner to rival a high quality restaurant, and a huge breakfast. Margery is an excellent cook.

Russ and Margery made us feel very much at home, with as much or as little conversation as we wished. They also took dinner with us which we greatly appreciated and added to the feeling that we were staying with friends.

The only negative was the bathroom which in our (twin) room was very small and had a feeble shower which quickly ran out of hot water in the evening when we arrived sweaty from a walk in the mountains - fortunately in the morning there was plenty of hot water although the flow was still only adequate.

We would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
223 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Margery and Russell were delightful hosts. They are very warm and welcoming, very willing and able to help with questions, suggestions, directions, etc. Their dog Ruby is the dearest gem and even the cats will come snuggle with you in the living room; they seem to especially prefer men guests. Margery's breakfasts are tremendous...stuff yourself and skip lunch. Delicious! We didn't partake of this option, but Margery will also cook dinners (delicious per Russell, of course!) ...check their website for details re cost and amount of lead time needed.

We were in the Robin Room for three nights. Very comfortable beds, nice linens and even electric blankets if you need them. Bathroom for this room is en suite, very small, but everything you need. Windows on opposing walls for great cross ventilation should you choose to have the windows open. Awaken to birdsong in the morning. Lovely.

Short walk down their quiet, shady lane to Nelson Lakes National Park and the shore of Lake Rotoiti. Also an easy walk into the tiny village of St. Arnaud. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stay.

Room Tip: The Robin Room is a larger room with a very compact bathroom. The other guest room is smaller, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNMinAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Jeannie and I stayed in the upstairs room, which was quiet, lots of room, well ventilated, nice views, comfy bed... What a fine experience we had visiting for three nights with Russ and Margery at the St. Arnaud House B&B:
- Yummy breakfasts and dinners, with great company
- A living room table that was just right for my computer and papers
- A skylight above our bed to enjoy the stars
- What fun it was to wake up to birds welcoming the slow southern dawn
- Expert help from Russ with transferring photos from my cell phone to my computer
- Use of two mountain bikes for my wife and I to explore the nearby country roads and trails
- A beautiful garden to enjoy, plus watch a variety of birds
- Lots of books

Here's to Russ and Margery,
Paul and Jeannie Queneau, Golden, CO

Room Tip: Jeannie and I stayed in the upstairs room, which was quiet, lots of room, well ventilated, nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pqueneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

As soon as we arrived at St Arnaud House homestay B&B and were welcomed by Russell with a cup of tea and homemade biscuits (our choice - he did offer us a real drink!) we were made to feel as if we were family friends rather than paying guests. Russell and Margery's hospitality is peerless, with friendly conversation, great local knowledge, and superb food. Russell showed us where to walk down the river to the lake then around the pensinsula, to absorb some of the atmosphere of Nelson Lakes. He also gave us a very timely warning about sandflies around the lake's edge! Later, he put food out for the birds, so that I could get some photographs of the Tuis.

We stayed in the Tui room, a cosy wood-panelled upstairs retreat with ensuite and a skylight over the bed. Both the room and bathroom were well appointed, including tea/coffee, and were spotlessly clean. Being up so high (the house itself is on a ridge) all of the room windows, including the window in the shower, look out into the treetops. The bed was very comfortable, and the surroundings quiet and peaceful.

Margery is a superb cook and the dinner she prepared for us was 5-star. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was also great, with Margery cooking to order, as well as cereals, toast and fruits.

We'd love to come back one day and explore further - maybe even climb Mt Robert!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visited St Arnaud knowing little about the place. It is a beautiful spot, great for walkers. We stayed one night at St Arnaud House B&B and I can honestly say it was great. Margery and Russell are really nice and full of great conversation and hospitality. Their place is set amongst beautiful NZ bush and hundreds of birds. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice relaxing spot away from the city or anyone on a road trip and looking for a beautiful spot for a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at some lovely B&B's during our 3 weeks in NZ but we just had to vote Margery and Russell as the best. We felt so at home and woke up to the smell of Margery's delicious home made muffins every morning. The breakfasts were superb as were the evening meals we had with them too.
The room was cosy and comfortable and we found the whole stay there was just so relaxing.
Luckily Russell is a First Aid Trainer as I managed to shut my husband's finger in the boot. He drilled a hole in it to release the pressure and dressed it. I was very relieved about that!
We loved staying with you both and thankyou so much for our home made Christmas decoration which will bring back such great memories each Christmas. Lin and Mike, UK

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived it felt like we were part of the family. Margery and Russell were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We had the 'Bellbird' room which, though not overly large, was very comfortable. Breakfast was a great selection of cereals, fruit and yogurt in addition to eggs, bacon, tomato and mushrooms. We chose to have dinner with our hosts on one evening. It was delicious and very well priced. Great location for exploring the Nelson Lakes National Park and surrounding area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LucyP757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
It was our pleasure, Margery take great care in sourcing locally grown in season fresh fruit and berry's and offers guests a great choice for breakfast, plus teas and coffee,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Arnaud House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Arnaud House B&B

Property: St Arnaud House B&B
Address: 4 Holland Street | PO Box 88 St Arnaud, Tasman, Saint Arnaud 7053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Arnaud House is a boutique sub-alpine Hosted bed and breakfast lodge nestled amongst native beech forest and its abundant bird life. We are within easy strolling distance to Lake Rotoiti the gateway to the Nelson Lakes National park We have three queen bedrooms available, all with en-suite bathrooms. Wireless broadband internet, evening meals are available by prior arrangement. St Arnaud House is heated by log fires and heat pump, making for cosy warm evenings in the winter. Whether you desire a romantic break or adventure holiday, or just yearning for fresh mountain air, St. Arnaud House is the perfect location.Come warm your toes in front of the log-burner after a great day's hiking, fishing or skiing. relax with a great espresso coffee, Please contact us for one of Margery's superb home cooked evening dinners, which includes a complimentary glass of wine are available by prior arrangement.)Russell & Margery, our Burmese cats, Pug & Chilli and Poodle, Ruby, look forward to welcoming you into our home and sharing our wonderful location with you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing