We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of rest, good food and history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
Ranked #3 of 5 Saint Arnaud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2013

After a hard but invigorating day's walking in the beautiful hills around Saint Arnaud and the Nelson Lakes, we descended to this delightful hotel, of which we had heard so much. Perched on the edge of fields overlooking the mountain ranges, the hotel/restaurant is full of genuinely historic facets, including rooms with their original features and furniture.
After we had enoyed a delicious cream tea - I think they called it a Devon tea - with extra tea and scones as required, the new owner elaborated at length on the history of the house, and some of its less than salubrious episodes. We were really grateful to her for taking the trouble.
The menu on offer looked so enticing, and the bedrooms so attractive, that we wished we could have stayed longer, had a full meal, and spent the night there. But it was not to be.
Next time we are in the area, we will definitely call agin and use their facilities, and I recommend anyone else to do likewise. Don't miss a real experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We recently celebrated our silver wedding anniversary with 10 of our friends, we really wanted to celebrate this occasion at the Tophouse Cafe, because of its great atmosphere and old world charm.We were not disappointed, we had a excellent gourmet barbecue meal around there historic table, that seats 12 with ease. There was lots of yarns told and much laughter and a fun time had by all. We throughly recommend Tophouse if you are planning a small gathering . Jennifer was and excellent host and came up with some great ideas for the menu and added the extra touch with some decorations which was unexpected.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantAndrea110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This is a historic hotel, with a huge amount of charm and lots of old stories. We stayed in the rooms in the main house and were looked after and fed by someone minding the place while the owner was away who was excellent. Be prepared for quite small rooms, shared and rather basic washrooms and lavatories, but that adds to the feel of a hotel the aims to recapture some of the experiences of 19th century New Zealand.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Brancacci186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We called into the Tophouse for a cuppa and the Devonshire Cream Teas did not disappoint. We were greeted with a friendly smile from Jacqui, who showed us around this very quaint historic homestead. It was like stepping back in time 100 years!! It certainly seems to be a popular spot, as quite a few other people were calling in for lunch too. It's a beautiful spot and well worth a visit, whether for an overnight stay or just a break on your journey.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FREWENNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutchkiwi59, Manager at Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for timing the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. TopHouse is under new ownership and as such we are striving to offer customers, great fresh food and excellent service. Your review affirms that we are heading in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had always wanted to stop at the Tophouse and this Christmas was the perfect time. The old homestead was decorated to a high standard and reminded us of cosy Christmases in the UK. We stayed in one of the chalets which was clean and comfortable however, looking at the rooms in the house means we will be back. We couldn't eat on the day we arrived due to over booking but we did have scones and jam for breakfast! The best bit was the little 'honesty bar'. We are planning on returning for our anniversary - dinner, bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We live just 3/4 away from Top House but thought it would be nice to have an evening meal there with visitng family and we hadn't visited for quite a while. Our booking was handled very promptly and in a friendly manner. We were greeted on arrival, had a drink from the bar, nice to see our local Tapawera Pete's lemonade available, we then had our meal and looked around at the history of the building which is very interesting. The meal was lovely, good Kiwi meal with local produce. Great evening I'm sure we will be back as their lunch menu looks a temptation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinkie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hospitality minded people! Excellent food and nice, clean and good looking accomodation! Last but not least awesome views on beautiful surrounding, definately reccomend the place. There are some nice walks around the place for both; beginners and advanced trampers. The owners are locals and can tell you lots about the area as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GijsRikhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutchkiwi59, Owner at Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thanks for this wonderful review. As I am the new owner (as of 1 October 2012) of the Guesthouse, Cafe and Bar I have made changes to improve the food and make the stay in Tophouse Historic Guesthouse even more wonderful. Please see the TopHouse website for the improvements that have taken place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
3.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
240 reviews
4.1 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar

Address: 68 Tophouse Road | Nelson Lakes, Saint Arnaud 7072, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Arnaud
Price Range: £69 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TopHouse Historic Guesthouse offers accommodation, meals and drinks ( in NZ's smallest bar) to travellers and has done so since 1887. TopHouse is located on the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park and offers fabulous mountain views from the guesthouse or from your veranda of your chalet. The Guesthouse has a home away from home atmosphere. It is steeped in history so come and experience the atmosphere and feel the warmth. The mountainview chalets are each self- contained and sleep a max. of 4 adults or a family of five. The Nelson Lakes National park is an outdoor persons delight with, boating, fishing, walks & hiking on your doorstep. In the area there is mountain biking, wineries, 4x4 tracks and more. The property is set amongst farmland and is a safe haven for young children. We have the best views to the mountain ranges. Retreat to your deck of your chalet or the garden terrace and watch the bunnies, cows, goats, sheep meander in the fields or read a good book in utter peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing