We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch whilst visiting Lake Rotoiti. To be honest we weren't expecting much as we saw it simply as a place to grab a bite. Boy were we wrong! Both of the dishes we ordered were absolutely fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed. We might have to stay the night some time in the future as the area is rather picturesque.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank b_and_d_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Great to be able to choose from backpackers to 3star plus, in one establishment backed with a fully licensed 4 star restaurant and bar. The bush walks are simply the best with bird life singing everywhere. The sand flies love this place as well, take strong insect repellant. Most picturest Lake Rotoiti is only a few minutes walk. stunning views. It's hard to believe a place this tranquil can exist just one hour from the sea and a major city. This is our fourth stay. Summer this tome. Got snowed in 4 years ago!! This is a special place for a slice of high country NZ equal or better than we've seen anywhere in th World. Simply a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmw84015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights here with our family which included 2 young children. The hosts could not have done more to make us all welcome, the children were tired at times and a little fussy but they accommodated them and us in a splendid way.

The rooms were good, clean and comfortable with lovely views. We ate in the restaurant for all three breakfasts and dinners and one lunch. The food was really good and well presented and the wine list had plenty of local wines to try.

I could not fault this establishment at all!!

The area around St Arnaud is probably one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The view from the top of Mt Robert spectacular and the Lake Rotoiti just awesome. We also walked the scenic route around Lake Rotoroa. I have never heard such lovely birds (Bell Birds) a chorus like no other I have heard.

Heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

set within the tiny settlement of St. Arnaud in the Nelson Lakes region this lodge is a natural stop over for those traveling between the coasts of New Zealand. It is of course a great centre and base for tramping and skiing in the immediate area and the scenery is just beautiful in both winter and summer. In summer however, make sure that you have your sandfly spray and apply liberally.

From the back of the hotel there is a short walk down to the lake following a meadering stream that also runs alongside the lodge.

We arrived without reservations, NOT a smart move over a holiday period, but with a few room movements our friendly receptionist fitted us in to a ground floor lodge unit, which was tidy, clean quite sufficient for our needs. At check in we received vouchers which we could spend at the bar, and everything else was put on a restaurant/bar tab, a continental (quite substantial selection it turned out to be) was included in the room rate.

the menu was good and the selection of dishes quite acceptable for a lodge type establishment. The food was excellent and we accompanied it with a nice bottle of Marlborough wine. Being somewhat isolated the lodge must be both difficult to stock and staff, and such is of course reflected in the selections of food and wines and sometimes the professionalism of the staff. But such does not distract from the frendliness and good food provided.

Indeed it was pleasing to discover that they had a full house the following day with a wedding party traveling from Wellington. Such speaks volumes for the Lodge, as I would have little doubt that the bride and groom would have either visited or met here before. It's that sort of place, that brings one back time and again.

There were the usual, lunch stop overs, whilst we were there, many on motor bikes, and several family parties were there also making full use of the children's play area. we sat in the "deck chairs" in the brilliant and hot sunshine (after spreding ourselves with the sandfly spray) and had several local Nelson boutique beers each of which we were allowed to "Taste test" before buying a Proper sized english pint glass. Such is a fine accompanyment to the lunch menu.

A walk down to the Lake where one is assailed by numerous signs that Dogs can kill kiwis so they are not allowed on any of the walks.......Nothing about people killing them also, but they are allowed (under duress) to use the walks provided you abide by the multitude of rules.

DOC certainly seems to have missed the pklot a bit on that one, as I don't understand why responsible owners can't take well controlled dogs on leashes along the walkways.

Incidentally, the Lodge allows dogs (well behaved) with an additional 15.00 per night fee. We parked ours out of the back, in his bed, on his leash under a big umbrella we always bring along for such a purpose. Good on the Lodge owners for being so accommodating.

So all in all, a great place of hospitality, for couples, groups, trampers (in the hostel) and families.

Room Tip: ground floor Rooms at the end of the wings have the stairs alongside and can be a bit noisy if one r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian-R-Bray-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here on 2nd/3rd March 2013. The staff were professional and most friendly considering that we arrived in the evening in the midst of a huge gathering for a national classic boat show in St Arnoud. The evening meal was faultless, tasty, well presented and generous.
The surroundings of this hotel are absolutely out of this world, a paradise for birds and trees and many local forests to walk through next to lake Rotoiti. Lake Rotoroa is not far.
This is possibly one of the best places to stay and relax in the South Island of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had no intention of staying in St Arnaud when we left Picton but the road to Nelson was cut off by a major accident, so we headed south, so glad we did. St Arnaud is beautiful and the Alpine Lodge was a great place to stay, the staff were friendly and helpful and we had a great meal in the restaurant it made the start to our South Island adventure very pleasant. The walks around the area are amazing, highly recommend a stay here. Only negative (not for me but for teenage daughters) is the wifi, slow and unreliable, I thought that was a good thing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Reception was friendly and informative. Location is superb...a nice forest trail to the lake. Our room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. The hotel put on an excellent buffet dinner for the Classic Boat Show that weekend. The staff was very friendly. We will return if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
3.9 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.2 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
0 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range: £89 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing