We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, definitly stay again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Near Sawrey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tower Bank Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Delicious food, welcoming staff and a lovely atmosphere. We stayed in Yan which was plenty big enough for us with our 2 medium sized dogs. (Which were also made very welcome too!) The view from our room was stunning too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Chosen for a family birthday special meal, it most certainly delivered! It's a pretty pub, inside and out with little touches of Beatrix Potter, roaring fires, friendly staff and superb food! It's also very special to visit a place that has been as a subject for one of Beatrix Potter's books. If you are a fan, you must visit. And even if you are not, you will still be very glad you went :-)
Thank you Tower Bank for making our birthday celebration so special

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank MollyBCrowthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We always have the Tower Bank Arms on our "must visit" list when staying in the Lakes and it never fails to disappoint, maintaining it's original old world charm. We were lucky to get a seat by the fantastic fire on a very busy Saturday lunchtime.The food was as excellent as ever, fresh and well presented, and the wine and beer were so good we had to stay for another! It's so refreshing to see that the prices are still very reasonable when they could so easily be inflated due to the history and relevance of the pub, which unfortunately is the case with some other places in the Lakes. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

just a quick review, loverly pub, great beef stew and very good local beers,dates way back and still retains the looks we were made welcome , go and enjoy.but not many seats so be early great location for miss potter fans

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sidney62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for the one night, it was a little over priced. The room and bed were fine, lovely views and a delightful village. Our breakfast was not what was advertised on the menus...no fresh fruit, and my partners English breakfast was good but the owner bought the wrong order!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyParker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were staying next door at Buckle Yeat and decided to try the Tower Bank Arms for dinner.
I had the beef stew which was delicious and my wife had the salmon. We rated both dishes highly.
A nice cosy venue on a typical drizzly Lake District evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family I have been to the Lake District many times but have never been to this area before but we will certainly be going back one of the nicest places we have stayed in the Lake District. The tower bank arms is a 17th century inn which still has all it's character from years ago throughout. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet though we did have a very squeaky bed and every time you turned over it made quite a noise, think you need a bit of WD40 on that. This is the village were Beatrix potter had her own house and wrote many of her books which we visited and nothing has been changed since she lived there, you can see all the houses in the village, some of the lanes actually illustrated in her books which was very surreal. If you are a Beatrix potter fan than you must stay here you will not be disappointed. The staff at the Tower Bank Arms were lovely, very welcoming and polite. The food is definitely worth a try it is lovely. Can't wait to go back again with our daughter.

Room Tip: When booking book the methera room very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GwillsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
718 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Bank Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Bank Arms

Address: Near Sawrey | Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower Bank Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Tower Bank Arms Hotel Sawrey
The Tower Bank Arms Near Sawrey, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing