We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower Bank Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Near Sawrey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tower Bank Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently organised a lunch at the tower bank arms for my fathers 70th. We were 17 and there was no problem booking. When we arrived we were given excellent service and the food was great. I was thoroughly recommend this pub and will try to come back and this time stay the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    47
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
178
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at the Tower Bank Arms many times and always enjoy the hospitality. The owner is an excellent host the food is always top notch and the service is exceptional. The area is peaceful and quiet yet very convenient for all major Lake District centres. Paul and Linda.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Quantr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have eaten at the pub on many occasions and I'd always wanted to stay given it's warm, cosy and welcoming feel to the pub. We extended our long weekend to the Lakes especially so that we could stay at The Tower Bank Arms. From the email correspondence before we arrived right to when we left after a beautifully cooked breakfast (amazing sausages), everything was just perfect.
The atmosphere at the pub is lovely and friendly and Anthony and all the staff really do make you feel welcome. We were thrilled when we arrived to be upgraded to the best room, which was a lovely surprise.
A real treat after a long weekend of walking and camping...thank you so much for your kind hospitality.
We will def visit again when we are in the area....!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoghurtshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed there one night on spec. Very helpful and friendly staff/ manager and manager's daughter. Fab food, best sausage in the UK. Quirky room, very clean except behind the bathroom door! Would definitely stay there again. Perfect location for Beatrix Potter house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have just returned from a two-night stay at the Tower Bank Arms and really loved it. As previous reviewers have said, the atmosphere is wonderful - a proper pub where you can relax and enjoy a chat, a drink and amazing food. Everything we had for both evening meals and our breakfasts was perfect. The staff made us feel so welcome. The bar and restaurant were busy both nights and although I think there were only two staff working, we never had to wait for any drinks or food. The room was lovely with stunning views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This pub is really cosy with a lovely atmosphere. The cheese board that we had was delicious and the there is a great range of ales to pick from. The bar staff were very friendly and welcoming. I would deffinately visit it again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloutom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Called into this pub whilst out on a walk only intending to get a drink. As soon as you enter you are greeted by a roaring fire (much needed on this typical damp lakes day) and a cheery welcome from the staff. After ordering drinks we decided to have some lunch and we were mighty glad we did. Soup of the day served piping hot with fresh warm roll and the best steak sandwich I have ever had (and I've had a fair few). All in all a pleasant surprise as we nearly walked past not sure from the outside that it was open. If You're in the area drop in you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank markandlizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
3.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Bank Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Bank Arms

Property: The Tower Bank Arms
Address: Near Sawrey | Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower Bank Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Tower Bank Arms Hotel Sawrey
The Tower Bank Arms Near Sawrey, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing