We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I can recommend this hotel for couples and for families with children too. The spa is wonderful, the staff is very-very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable. The best is teh restaurant. The breakfast and the dinner were perfect and delishes. I can't write bad things about this place. And the wines... taste it :-)!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borisz719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    42
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
38
72
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had the opportunity to spend a weekend at this fantastic place... really was my best vacation!
In my opinion a very well deserved 5 star for the hotel, regarding the cleanliness, the staff (all of them!), the atmosphere, the service, the attitude, design, ideas, sooo; everything.
Location is nice, it's not a long trip to reach from the train station. They said welcome to us with a glass of wine, of which we later bought a bottle, it was so tasty. The room was spacious and elegant: no useless decoration, but everything from the best quality. We had a small gift too: a little plate of sweets, a welcoming card and a bottle of a quality wine. The bathroom was lovely; i've never seen so stylish atmosphere before. The wellness was awesome: the wide variety of different relaxing-bathing-sauna possibilites guaranteed. The breakfast service was delicious and decent selection, the waiters were polite and nice. They offered a good choice of dinner; altough seemed to be small portions, they were satisfying in taste and portion-size too. Tarcal itself is a wine-region, offering wide variety of quality hungarian wines; we also tasted them on a trip, but not in the hotel. Last they we were invited to use the spa once again: they were super nice and we were very well satisfied with all the experience we could get there.
I can only highly recommend this hotel! I wish i will have the opportunity to visit it once again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milendoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

A nice hotel with a high quality spa and excellent service. The old mansion - now it suits function rooms - dominates the street view, behind which lies attached a modern hotel with well equipped, nicely furnished rooms. Breakfast is generous with quality bakery and meat products and fresh produce. There is a vinery attached to the building, which can be visited with vine-tasting. They sell a nice selection of the region's vines. The spa is simply grandiose with a large pool and several Jacuzzi-type elements organized into a cave. An air-conditioned glass-house (winter garden) is attached to the building which is accessible from the pool - complemented with a huge terrace with lounge furniture - a perfect solution for those lazy days.. We have visited the place several times (living only 150 kms away) it is also possible to use the spa facilities as an extern with pre-registration: it is worth the expenses this way too. The terrace snack bar has a limited menu, they serve very tasty salads and sandwiches, desserts, which is acceptable during the day, but they would benefit from a wider variety of food for dinner guests however.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank istvanj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonyme Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Nice and large rooms with very good breakfast ( if no kids around with arrogant parents ).
Dinner was bad due to the waiter from the winter garden who speak a lot and do nothing.
Restaurant menu not in ton with the region and I got for the first time my "club sandwich" without pommes frites and a lot of vegetables..
Wines by glass are ok but you have to like theTokaj wines.
Clean rooms and good sleeping quality.
Welness area is nice and ,if you are lucky and no kids (again) it is really to enjoy.
Beautifull landscape around and a place to spend some days, if you have where to have a good dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at second floor are more suitable for the acces to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights with our 2 years old. Everyone enjoyed our stay very much. The standard rooms are really spacious, well decorated and made of high quality. Upon arrival we received welcome drinks. Food: breakfast is really nice wih fine Hungaian dishes, it seems to be an avarage continental breakfast first, but there are some truly Hunagrian types of food. Everything was really tasty. Plenty of choices.
Lunch and dinner: you can either dine at the restaurant (where the breakfast is served) or at the "Winter Garden" or Atryum (which is next to the Spa and would be the snack bar). The menu is not that long, so if you stay longer and only eat at the hotel, it might be an issue, but for some occasions it might be just fine. We tried 4-5 courses from the menu and everything was very well prepared. Food is more expensive then in an avarage restaurant but not unrealistically. For something that we would pay 6-8 thousand forints outside, we payed 10 thousand at the hotel 5% service fee included). The wine selection is more impressive, there is a separate wine card for that. We did not do wine tasting (only tried some types occasionally) but once in the Atryum we heard the "small program" in English, which seemed to be quite nice and professional.
Spa: it is just as on the pictures or even better: a nice swimming pool, a cave with 5 different smaller pools with different jets, 1 large jacuzzi, 1 finnish suna, 1 salt cabine, 1 color therapy sauna, 1 steam bath, 2 ice bowls, 1 tropical shower. In the cave the water is warm so it is also recommended for kids, especially that most of the time only 3 of the smaller pools operate ate the same time. As the snack bar is next door you can basically enjoy the Spa all day long. It is easy to move around in the hotel: 2 elevators and 1 of them takes you directly to the Spa.
Parking: either in front of the hotel or in the side parking lot. As there is not much to see in Tarcal, it is recommended to arrive with a car - unless you do not want to get out of the hotel during your stay (which is perfectly understandable).
Service: all staff has been extremely helpful. We were even stopped by the manager and asked whether they can help us in any way and whether we have been enjoying our time. A personalised welcome card was waiting for us in our room and really everyone was kind and professional.
Kids: the spa is absolutely recommended for kids as well, there is a separate play room with some lego and coloring papers, which is just fine. There is a small, private playground near the hotel, my daughter enjoyed it a lot, and there is also a nice, bigger public playground in Tarcal.
Internet: wifi is only available in the public areas and not in the rooms. We tried wired net (in our room) and also wifi (in the Winter Garden), both worked without a problem.
Price: We paid 80 EUR per room per night, which I consider to be a really good value.
Hotel said that peak season is from September to January (especially for the harvesting) and in the rest of the year there are only a limited number of guests, which was also the case in mid-March: there were around 15-20 people around and most of the cases we could use the cave pools on our own. This is the reason why the hotel was very calm and quiet, though our stay was from Monday to Thursday, so weekends might be more busy. The Spa is also open for non-guests: you can get a daily ticket, which costs 5000 HUF per person on a weekend and 3500 HUF on a weekday.
Altogether a fine hotel with excellent accommodation offering quiality cuisine and spa treatments.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My goodness! What can I say about the Andrássy Kúria Hotel?
What a hidden gemstone!
In the village of Tarcal, at 94 Fö út, Northeast from Budapest, along the M3 and M30 highways, then at the city of Miskolc turn-off, take the left turn onto the National route 37 towards Szerencs (home of the former Hungarian chocolate manufacturer).
Go a few kilometres further along the route 37 and you are in the heart of the Tokaj region. The town of Tokaj is literally “just up the road” from Tarcal.

The hotel itself is a substantially built, modern establishment, but built to reflect former times of building and hospitality in old Hungary. Warm in winter and cool in summer, this is the place to rest and enjoy the life that you have missed stuck behind that desk that earns you the money to visit restful places like Tarcal.

The rooms are sizeable and furnished with all the amenities that any decent tourist could want for (internet connection and multi-channel TV - if you want to waste valuable hours in front of the boob-tube).
The food is delicious and well presented. The Spa is all that you could want to soothe the work or travel-weary tourist or businessman.

But it is the bar, and its staff that are the true hidden gem.
The Télikert Bisztró Menü is not extensive but what it lacks in choices (4 salads, 2 soups, 5 sandwiches, drink and coffee - Lavazza) it makes up for with its friendly staff.
In particular, and if you are lucky enough to be served by Attila (an exemplary Hungarian and fine ambassador of that country, only too willing to make your visit pleasurable with his knowledge of spirits, wine, beer and food recommendations).
By all means try the restaurant, but you’d be crazy not to enjoy the company of Attila in the bar.
The manager, Andás Mozsár is a fluent, English-speaking Gentleman. He makes you feel really welcome in his fine establishment.

The rooms and amenities are reasonably priced for this level of comfort and hospitality.
So, if you want to visit the wine growing region of Tokaj in Hungary, look no further than the Andrássy Kúria Hotel in the village of Tarcal; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I loved loved loved the Andrassy. We called ahead to see if we could get a transfer from the train in Tokaj. One of the front desk attendants came and got us on his own time, even though he wasn't scheduled to work for several hours. The young woman who helped us check in couldn't have been more helpful - organizing transfers to our private wine tasting in a cave, arranging for a late check out, on and on. The food in the restaurant was great. The rooms were spacious and the beds were so comfy I slept a full 12 hours. Which would be my only complaint as I missed valuable spa time!! The spa and sauna areas are truly incredible. Grottos, ice falling from the roof. Everything was top notch from the minute we stepped off the train. And by North American price standards, this place was an absolute steal. Don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcal
1.2 mi away
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
23.2 mi away
Hotel Vecsecity
Hotel Vecsecity
#1 of 1 in Hernadvecse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
#1 of 1 in Sarospatak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#1 of 1 in Demjen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tokaj & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Madi Kuria Hotel
Madi Kuria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa

Property: Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
Address: Fo utca 94, Tarcal 3915, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Tarcal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa Hungary/Tarcal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing