We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Spa Experience..food so so....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow
Level Contributor
260 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best Spa Experience..food so so....”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Having just returned from a week in Hungary and having stayed in 3 great places offering spa and wine packages ( The Gere and Bock wineries in Villany ,as well as the Andrassy) it might be useful to compare and contrast them... First of all , the Andrassy comes in big first when it comes to the spa experience..The facilities are stunning..They were far and above the nicest of the the three. From the magnificent swimming cave to the many different saunas it would be hard to imagine a better experience.. The spa service and upkeep is world class..The hotel is also very comfortable. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated , the desk service friendly and welcoming.( the personal welcome letter from the hotel manager and chocolates in the room a nice touch too!) Of the three, the Andrassy was the ONLY one to offer an English language news channel . Nice one guys! CNN news junkies will be very happy....Now, after all of this why only a VERY GOOD rating? Sadly , the food does match the rest of the experience.. Arriving quite late for lunch we had a look at the snack menu but decided we didn't want burgers..After all, when you visit Hungary you want to dig into the local cuisine! Good luck . Thinking we might find it in the Czarda ( roadhouse) down the road we were bitterly disappointed... Avoid it at all costs. The food was disgusting..an adjective I have rarely used when describing a meal... what an insult ...We should have walked a few hundred meters down the road to the Grof Degenfeld castle .. Though I suspect that a simple dish of goulash might be beneath them..Anyway, that night we dined at the Andrassy. The service was fine but when you charge that kind of money for a meal it had better match ones expectations..The slow roasted duck was over-seasoned and the chicken stuffed with foie uninspiring, dry meagerly sauced , served on a lump of mashed potatos garnished with a few cherry tomatos...The wine list is long but difficult to make sense of.. especially if you are a novice when it comes to Tokaj wines... While the menu offers a couple of nods to Hungarian cuisine, the fish soup being a local specialty, most of the offerings were, as another reviewer noted, continental..now I KNOW the manager reads these comments and really cares about his guests so I humbly offer up these suggestions...Why not offer a short menu of local specialties? Why not take REAL advantage of the goose and duck liver Hungary is famous for? what about a catfish hazale, so much better than carp.. where is the venison and boar? Why not indulge your foreign guests with some creamy paprika sauces? Why not pair these dishes with wine suggestions? Have a look at the Bock and Gere menus.. They offer wine suggestions AS WELL AS tasting notes to help guide guests...Tokaj wines are unique and they can be a real minefield to the uninitiated. We could use all the help we can get...By the way: Breakfast are GREAT... no complaints there! So nice to have such an opulent spread included in the room price for one....Anyway, I hope to return soon, so relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Balint, Guest Relations Manager at Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Mark H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We highly appreciate your feedback which we acknowledge. As detailed in our private response we have given our comments accordingly.

Kind Regards

Eszter Balint
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    44
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
75
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a trip to Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa in February, when snow was covering everything around, and it was an unforgettable memory to sit in the dining room sipping amazing prime quality wines while watching the snow around us.
The staff is very helpful.
One of their waiter is really enthusiastic about wines, and he is a good recommender for personal preferences. I am really picky for "spicy wine taste", but still not sweet and he managed to amaze me with amazing wines.
As well, I recommend, you try their cheese plate next to your glass of wines.
Their room is clean, tidy, quite and nice.
Their Spa as well is prime quality with funny extras. (like jungel bird singing shower & cave pool)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Balint, Guest Relations Manager at Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Barbara J,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Andrassy Residence. I was delighted to hear that our wine tasting had given you a real experience. It is always great to receive positive comments and I will certainly pass them on to the Team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tarcal.
Kind Regards

Eszter Balint
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent a superb week in the hotel. The best part of it was the spa of course for our children, but for us also.
The family room was confortable and big enough for four person. The furnitures and cleanness was excellent also. The staff was friendly and the service was perfect. The meal in the restaurant was absolutely good, the dishes were very fine and varied.
I can mention only one unlovely thing, the spa closed 8.00 p.m., two hours more would be great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelemenZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrassyresidence, Guest Relations Manager at Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear KelemenZoltan,
Thank you for sending us your kind feedback and for choosing Andrassy Residence for your recent stay. Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and I am delighted to learn that we were able to leave a positive impression.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Eszter Balint
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visitied this hotel twice, both times were very positive. This time we were with our doughter, who loved swimmingpool and all facilities. Very friendly staff. Great bar next to the swimmingpool area. Restaurant also good however they should make one work to be perfect (steak and lamb much to dry), but duck liver the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKrk_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrassyresidence, Guest Relations Manager at Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear AnnaKrk_01,

I am pleased to read that you chose The Andrassy Residence for your family getaway and how much you enjoyed the whole experience including the spa area. It will be my plasure to share your kind review with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to The Andrassy Residence.

Kind Regards

Eszter Balint
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Luxurious place, friendly people, fantastic spa with Disney-like cave pools, tropical showers, steam rooms, and many other features. Certainly a great get-away place with gorgeous country side and charming near-by villages. Tokaj is within ten minutes drive, and some good restaurants in the surrounding villages. On a busy weekend parking can be awkward, unless you find the hidden, upper parking lot. Service is a bit mixed, but on the whole it is good. The breakfast buffet is remarkable, containing a variety of Hungarian and international goodies.

Room Tip: We certainly found the rooms on the second floor, over the lobby spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrassyresidence, Guest Relations Manager at Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear IGF,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Andrassy Residence. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that we were able to accommodate you in a room that suited your tastes. I am also delighted to read your comments about breakfast and that you very much liked the surrounding area in Tokaj region. I am sorry to hear you felt certain aspects regarding service as it did not meet your expectations and your comments have been heard and taken on board.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Eszter Balint
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We were spending three nights and were very satisfied. Hotel has about 40 rooms, our was spacious.
Pro:
* beautiful venue, everything looks still new
* tasteful wine to try at check in
* chocolate as additional welcome in the room :-)
* spa: definitely a plus: light therapy sauna (up to three pers), finish sauna (up to eight pers), infrared sauna (max two), steam bath (max eight), three adventure showers (temperature and waterflow are defined) and a cold water pool.
Additionally there is a swimming pool that is fine for a little practice and a "cavern" that holds three jacuzzis for sitting and two where you can even lie. Also there was enough space for resting.
* rooms have enough space to spend some time there, very quiet
* although there is no WLAN in the rooms (only cable on request), we had an internet connection as our room was above the entry hall (where wireless is available officially) :-)
Con (hence only 4 instead of 5 points):
* as it is a 5-star hotel with according prices: towels have loose twines, shower head is in a height for small people (and shower is not separate)
* breakfast (which is included) is fine and very good, but not 5* (although you get the typical sparkling wine, but no cook for on demand egg variances or pancakes)
* spa is only open till 20:00
However, we enjoyed our stay and would come again

Last word: the main street from city of Miskolc to the Hotel is terrible! You can't drive faster than 70kmh due to the really deep potholes! Therefore follow a local car and watch when he is avoiding the holes - and do the same moves...

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrassyresidence, Guest Relations Manager at Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Brunni,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.
I was very delighted to read that you were impressed by our welcome drink offered upon check in, the spa facilities and also the chocolate amenities in your room.
Regarding internet connection we are already taking steps towards improvement and by now most of our bedrooms do have wifi.
I have passed your comments to the Department Head in connection with the linen prepared in your room just as well as to our Executive Chef regarding breakfast. I can assure you they will be looking into options to improve the situation.
Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
I do hope we can welcome you back very soon at the Residence.

Kind Regards

Eszter Balint
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I went to the hotel in January. I was really curious as I heard positive news about the place. It is located in Tokaj, one of the most famous wine area in the northern east part of the country. It takes 2.5 driving from Budapest, 80 % on highway. The hotel is in Tarcal near Tokaj (20 km).
The building is really beautiful, it is mainly new or renewed. The room is spacy, equipped with very nice furniture. Bathroom is immaculate, clean and nice.
The spa: it is probably the nicest spa I have seen in Hungary. It is perfectly designed, the colours are amazing.
Food: it is probably the weakest point of the hotel, I would say it is average. As far as the service is concerned, everyone was kind and helpful. It was a pity they had only one masseur it a time, so only one of us could try it.
All in all it is a very good place to stay. Congratulations!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittersweetBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcal
1.2 mi away
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
23.2 mi away
Hotel Vecsecity
Hotel Vecsecity
#1 of 1 in Hernadvecse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
#1 of 1 in Sarospatak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Madi Kuria Hotel
Madi Kuria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#1 of 1 in Demjen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tokaj & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa

Property: Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
Address: Fo utca 94, Tarcal 3915, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Tarcal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa Hungary/Tarcal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing