We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

pierwsza rzecz z czym mi sie ten hotel kojarzy to cisza i spokoj. polozony w starym ogrodzie palacyk w bylej szkole winiarskiej. cudowne miejsce dla ludzi chcacych odpoczac a jednoczesnie dobre miejsce na wypady w okoliczne winnice. oferuja zwiedzanie piwnic i degustacje swoich win, moim zdaniem niezle. obsluga mila, drobne braki jezykowe nadrabiaja checia pomocy.pieknie urzadzone pokoje. niezla kuchnia. polecam brac kilka dni w degenfeldzie plus kilka dni w andrassy kuria ktora moze nie ma takiego klimatu ale pozwala pomoczyc sie w cieplych basenach. jedyny minus degenfelda to brak oferty dla dzieci - przydal by sie maly plac zabaw, pokoj zabaw (jak np w kurii).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdullah_abdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband and I spent one night here, during our trip in Hungary.
We had a spacious room with an elegance bathroom.
Food was incredible, from the breakfast to the dinner and the wines were something else.
Staff and service was very professional.
Garden area was cured and perfect.
It would have been beatiful stay here more days.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CondeNast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the glorious Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel in June. In hindsight we should have stayed longer as this was by far the best hotel, food and service we received in our two week travels around Hungary.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It suited us to a tee.

The food at the restaurant was incredible and the service from the wait staff was that of fine dining at Michelin rated establishments.

The service we received throughout our short stay was over and above what we could hope, with the professional and friendly concierge and reception assisting us on our itinerary plans to visit wineries in Tarcal and nearby Tokaj.

If you are planning on visiting Hungary's best wine country, look no further!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NookTravelClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed there one night.....over $ 1,000 in Us Dollars and Euros was stolen from my locked room.....NO SAFES IN ROOMS !
Management was unhelpful in either trying to catch thief or compensating me....claiming, I should have used downstairs central safe.....therefore, my fault.
I travel a lot, and this never happened to me before in a 4 star hotel !
Be warned !

Erwin Kelen, Minneapolis, USA

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2011

As I wrote for you we are extremely sorry for the losses you have suffered. However, we remain of the opinion that there is no actual proof that the valuables in question disappeared solely and indisputably from our hotel.
The provision of a room safe is not obligatory for 4-star hotels in Hungary. A central safe and the possibility for valuables to be guarded are mandatory and it is offered as one of our services. As in countless other hotels around the world, our in-room information material informs guests that the hotel can only take responsibility for articles which have been left in the central safe.
The main problem is that more than 48 hours elapsed between your departure from the room and the communication of the problem to us. During your stay in Tokaj and in Hungary, other places were visited, which allows for the possibility that any loss or theft took place elsewhere.
Even when the bill was paid, there was no mention of any missing valuables. In the situation of a complaint being made while a guest is still within the hotel, we naturally organize an immediate investigation. In the present case, however, not even the Hungarian police would be able to take any steps towards resolving it.
It is for the above reasons that, unfortunately, we are unable to offer you any kind of compensation.

Pál Visztenvelt
Hotel director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We booked the wine tasting package and enjoyed 3 lovely tasting of Tokaji wines. The hotel itself is beautiful the grounds are immaculate, the facilities (e.g Spa) excellent, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was superb, especially the lovely breakfasts. Price for a beautiful and spacious suite with 3 wine tastings (personal tours of cellars and wineries followed by tastings of delicious whites), plus breakfasts and dinner for 2 nights =$440. Would have cost at least $1500 in Napa.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManOLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Just tops in everything ... spacious very well appointed room, sparkling wine for breakfast, incredible food and wines, great wine tasting, spa with excellent therapist, gracious staff ... a real find!!! Worth a return visit!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This is the second time I have been there and it is really a hidden spot! Very priceable and nice. Good food, nice surroundings and just to recommend everyone who wants to have a fine time! The staff is really friendly also.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liselott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcal
1.2 mi away
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
22 mi away
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
#1 of 1 in Hernadvecse
46 reviews
4.3 mi away
Madi Kuria Hotel
Madi Kuria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mad
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
#1 of 1 in Sarospatak
31 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Aventinus
Hotel Aventinus
#1 of 9 in Nyiregyhaza
48 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#3 of 9 in Nyiregyhaza
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel

Address: Terezia kert 9, Tarcal 3915, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Tarcal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Price Range: £89 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel was reconstructed from a historical mansion in the middle of the one hundred hectare vineyard. The rooms are equipped with Empire furniture and fascinate with their fabric and color harmony. The salon and the library are equipped with antique furniture, old paintings and Venetian chandeliers reflecting the atmosphere of the 19th century. The elegant restaurant for 60 persons, the pleasant summer terrace with an overlook to the park, as well as the wine bar in the cellar with unique atmosphere for 40 persons are expecting those who prefer excellent food and high standard wines. The separate room gives place to business and family events, as well as receptions at a high standard. Besides the wonderful environment the qualified staff ensures high standard, but still family like hospitality. Our additional services include: heated outdoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness room, tennis courts , own parking place, 24-hour reception and concierge service, program organisation, restaurant, wine bar, summer terrace, salon, library, conference hall, laundry service, central safe and bicycle rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grof Degenfeld Castle Tarcal
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel Hungary/Tarcal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing