We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Continent(Nyiregyhaza)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aventinus(Nyiregyhaza)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Civis Hotel Phoenix(Tiszaujvaros)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Veronika Hotel(Tiszaujvaros)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lugas Hotel(Nyiregyhaza)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
74
25
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
25
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingcomfortable bedsexcellent stayno ideapool and saunafour star hotelwild boarspent nightsvineyardsbudapestregioncastleestateaccommodationtokaywaiterenglish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This could be an excellent hotel but a number of things are just not good enough and our visit was a bit disappointing. We had the suite and had afternoon tea one day and a glass of wine before dinner in the room..we came back after dinner and no one had bothered to collect the tea stuff or the wine glasses and the room had not been turned down. I expect turn down service with a suite or at least dirty dishes removed.
The sommelier was a riddle, we had a good tasting with him and he organized a day trip for us. But he was not in the dining room for dinner on the Friday night when other people were there and our waiter really had no clue of the wines...why is the sommelier not there?..we talked to him at 4.00pm and if he was not going to be there he should have helped us chose wines then.

5000 Hungarian from the train station, 11 minutes there and back..a total of 22 minutes. yet we had the same driver and van for 6 hours for 16,000 Hungarian..that makes no sense. Do not get the hotel to pick you up at the train station.
The hotel needs a personality or a manger to be available to help. We got the impression the hotel only really wants to sell business conventions and weddings and is not really interested in travelers on their own.
In support of my argument I wrote with the above items to the Mr Sipos who was maybe a manager but he never bothered to reply.
It is not a bad hotel or experience but it could be so much better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you are travelling by your own car in the Tokay region and if you are looking for a hotel and especially if you are looking for something more than just a bed and a bathroom this is the hotel for you. Everything is breathing good taste and high class. The rooms are big the staff is friendly and service minded and the restaurant can serve you a very good dinner. And, needless to say, the wines that they recommend with the dinner (not only the white ones) are of highest class and very reasonably priced. This was my second visit to this hotel and surely not the last

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I are currently enjoying a wonderful stay in this tranquil and serene castle setting. The location is great, the grounds beautiful, the staff ridiculously friendly and attentive, the food delicious and the room lovely. It's a shame that they don't have a great spa, but it's not too much of an issue as with the free bike rental you can visit one within 5 mins. This would definitely be my recommendation if you are visiting the Tokaj region.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gmhutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

An immaculate hotel in beautiful surroundings. Great location in the heart of Tokai country, so great for wine-lovers. Rooms spacious and very comfortable and service of a high order. My wife and I booked a wine tasting with the vineyard's own winemaster, which was both informative and good value. Best of all was the dinner which really was quite outstanding, Hungarian foie gras dishes featuring prominently on the menu. Stay at this place - it really is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent a lovely autumn weekend in the Castle, and we really felt like royals. However, this is really not my style of architecture or decoration, I have to admit it was exquisite and I was still charmed. The rooms were spacious and beautiful, the perfectly manicured garden and the vineyards were glittering the autumn lights, the staff and the service were very very friendly and kind, and the food was great (not the best in the region, but still incredibly pleasing). Oh, and the breakfast was lovely also - we were even offered prosecco by glass. Real five star experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohmyfoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews