We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm & Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We recently spent 2 nights at this gem of a hotel and wish that we had been there longer. We found the hotel an oasis of luxury in rural Hungary. The beautiful gardens and pool encouraged us to just relax and take some time out to do nothing. I would also highly recommend the wine tasting, the house wines are of excellent quality and is a good way to sample the different types. I would recommend doing the wine tasting for lunch before an afternoon nap, as snack food is provided (of course you have to pay for the wine tasting!!!!). Tokay itself is quite small with not a lot going on however there are opportunities for wine tasting the famous sweet wines of the region. I would also highly recommend the town 'langos' shops. Mature travellers should avoid Tokay during festivals, we just missed one and apparently university students were passed out in the streets and 5 drowned in the river due to intoxication.
Guests at the Grof Degenfeld may also appreciate the employment policy they apparently have for the cleaning staff. Seeing the girls clean windows was like watching a Robert Palmer video (think 1980's Simply Irresistable).

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oz5travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2007

Grof Degenfeld was probably the highlight of our six night trip to East Europe. My mum's family are from the region and it was a lovely area of vineyards and wineries. Much nicer than just staying in Budapest. The hotel was a gem. Very nicely done and luxury. One problem we had was my parents were given a twin room instead of a double as i booked. This happens commonly in Europe. They were advised to push beds together as they did. One other point. We booked the wine tasting. Now maybe we are naive but nowhere did it mention the cost of this. When I saw it included a tour of the winery and some nice cheese and nibbles i had a feeling it would cost. We tipped our guide as he was a student and did a good job in english. However after dinner the bill came for the wine tasting, fair enough, and the service charge. Ouch. Live and let learn.
They could do with a porter perhaps and the pool seems a bit under utilised being outdoors. But it was a lovely stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2007

I have just spent 3 days on business in Tokaj, Hungary which is very simple, quite poor and has very little amenities. I stayed 15 minutes outside of Tokay and I'm really pleased I decided to make the effort and not plump for staying in the town itself. I'm not sure if the Degenfeld has been renovated or is quite newly built, but this lovely large country house sits amongst it own vines and is a real haven of comfort in this poor area. The staff are very accomodating although a bit thin on the ground, you have to ring a bell and wait for someone to turn up. My room was very clean, large and comfortable - the bed afforded a couple of good night's sleep, it was spacious enough for a small seating area and the bathroom was new, clean and more than adequate. At 120 euros a night for a double this place offers real value. Outside at the front of the hotel there is a large patio with tables and chairs and it was really pleasant sitting in the sun having a glass of the local sweet Tokaji wine; the hotel sits in its own grounds so it was peaceful too. There is a pool which I didn't use but fellow guests said it was large, clean and good, although not heated so cold. The food in the restaurant is not great - but that's just the regional cuisine; compared with other restaurants in Tokay it was good. If you're going to this part of Hungary I would recommend this place whole heartedly.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at Grof Degenfeld for 3 days in August 2006 (in fact we booked for 2 nights but extended our stay because we liked it so much).

This is a real gem of a hotel, in an area that has a shortage of good quality hotels. We had a lovely spacious room with good bathroom facilities. he public rooms (library, living room) are also beautifully done. There is a lovely outdoor pool where 4 or 5 children were playing very happily all day while their parents sat in loungers around the outisde of the pool. The gardens are very nice, and the whole grounds are surrounded by the castle's own vineyards.

The staff are young and not that experienced, mostly young locals, but were extremely helpful and enthusiastic - they arranged train tickets and transfers for us to see other towns in the area, as well as wine tastings as local wineries.

The restaurant was good but not outstanding - we had two dinners there and had three good main courses and one not so good. I would recommend the goose liver starters - very good!

Other guests were mostly Hungarian with a smattering of Americans.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Possom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2004

Stayed at the Grof Degenfeld Hotel and Winery in July 2004. A beautiful new hotel in a very beautiful area about 3-4 hours drive east of Budapest. The hotel was absolutely first rate. The restaurant was wonderful. The hotel arranged for tours of neighboring wineries, (as well as their own), complete with a driver/guide. World class wine and a great hotel!

7  Thank 5lbbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Attila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcal
1.2 mi away
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
4.3 mi away
Madi Kuria Hotel
Madi Kuria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mad
21 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
#1 of 1 in Hernadvecse
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
#1 of 1 in Sarospatak
23 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Aventinus
Hotel Aventinus
#1 of 8 in Nyiregyhaza
47 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#2 of 8 in Nyiregyhaza
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel

Address: Terezia kert 9, Tarcal 3915, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Tarcal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Price Range: £93 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel was reconstructed from a historical mansion in the middle of the one hundred hectare vineyard. The rooms are equipped with Empire furniture and fascinate with their fabric and color harmony. The salon and the library are equipped with antique furniture, old paintings and Venetian chandeliers reflecting the atmosphere of the 19th century. The elegant restaurant for 60 persons, the pleasant summer terrace with an overlook to the park, as well as the wine bar in the cellar with unique atmosphere for 40 persons are expecting those who prefer excellent food and high standard wines. The separate room gives place to business and family events, as well as receptions at a high standard. Besides the wonderful environment the qualified staff ensures high standard, but still family like hospitality. Our additional services include: heated outdoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness room, tennis courts , own parking place, 24-hour reception and concierge service, program organisation, restaurant, wine bar, summer terrace, salon, library, conference hall, laundry service, central safe and bicycle rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grof Degenfeld Castle Tarcal
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel Hungary/Tarcal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing