We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal For What We Wanted”
Review of Beech Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We wanted a B&B to take our Greyhound on her first jaunt and were recommended this place by The Greyhound Trust.
We had a great stay and nothing is too much trouble for Jenny. They even provide a 'Doggy Kit' for our dogs arrival as well as a very welcome sherry for our arrival.
The room has everything you need for a comfortable stay, I honestly can't think of anything we were short of.
During the afternoon we went for a walk in the beautiful surrounding area, there are several great walks from the doorstep.
In the evening we wandered up the dark lane (torch provivded!) to The Derby Arms (with dog) for a few drinks and a meal and were joined by another couple and the B&B owners and had a lovely evening before wandering back and crashing out on a very comfy bed.
I have to say, the breakfast in the morining was probably the best breakfast I have ever had. The choice was excellent and the freshness and quality of the food was extremely apparent.
The only reason we didn't score it a 5 was because there was some road noise from the room and the rooms were not ultra modern (understandable for dog friendly B&B) but very clean indeed.
We would certainly return to this B&B.
Can't think of much more to say but if anyone has any questions I will gladly answer them as best I can.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a balcony which would be lovely in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSt_Helens_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and that Beech Hill House was chosen for your greyhound’s first experience of staying overnight away.
For those who aren’t familiar with our area, the road outside our house has no street lights, as do a large number of roads in the National Park and around the Lake District. The provision of a torch is to help guests who are not used to the darkness, and especially because the road leading to the pub isn’t a lane, but a ‘normal’ Lake District road that connects the villages together.
With Beech Hill House being over 100 years old, we feel ‘ultra modern’ is something that isn’t in keeping with the age or style of the house. Being dog owners ourselves and welcoming dogs to our bed and breakfast have no bearings on our choice of decor or the level of our standards, indeed, if anything, being dog friendly enhances the quality of our work thus ensuring our standards are to the level required for guests with or without dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Quite simply, this B&B is fantastic! This was our second stay at Beech Hill House with our greyhound, Ella. As the first time we stayed, everything was perfect. Jenny and Stuart are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and always to hand if you need anything. The rooms are spotless and very well furnished, very comfortable beds. The breakfasts are superb. The pubs are a little pricey around here but we found one on our last night in Milnthorpe, called the Cross Keys which was very reasonably priced for pub food. Great location as good road networks to main parts of Lake District. Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellaLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights with our pet dog and enjoyed every minute of it. We stopped in room 2 which was very clean,very spacious with en suite bathroom and with a wonderfully comfortable king size bed. Everything is provided for you in your room including,wine glasses,DVD,s,CD,s,dog basket/blanket/treats and even a torch for getting back from the local pub. The property is well situated for many walks straight from the door and if you want to go by road it is just off the A590. The local pub (Derby Arms) is under a minute away and well worth a visit for wonderful food and real ale. The breakfast is provided after you fill in your request (by paper menu in your room) the previous night and it is vast and sumptuous. Our only gripe is that breakfast time is limited to a very early 8:00 - 8:30 and maybe adding an extra half hour would be better, but this should not put you off visiting this very well ran and hospitable guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonysprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments, which we greatly appreciate.
Stuart and I once served breakfast until 9am, and 9.30am at the weekends, but found very few guests wanted it that late and those who did, impacted on us getting the rooms and rest of our work completed to our standard before our new guests arrived. After much thought we devised our ‘breakfast tray’, which we serve to guests in their bedrooms. Copies of the breakfast tray menus are in our ‘welcome’ folder in the bedroom, and is very popular with guests who wish a very early breakfast, breakfast in their room and those wishing a slightly later breakfast than we serve in the conservatory. This is something you may wish to try another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

What a great place it is everything the owners say it is. We had a wonderful stay in room 1 with the terrace and its own entrance which our Cairn terrier Ozzy loved. The breakfast was better than many 5 star Hotels I have stayed in all over the world. Well done keep it up we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fil6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here for a week and had an excellent time - Jenny and Stuart were extrenely welcoming and made us feel at home the moment we got there. We chose this place as they took dogs and it was our first holiday with our greyhound. They provided a dog basket, food bowls and treats for our greyhound Mack in the room

The room itself was incredibly well presented and had everything you could wish for, even better than a standard hotel room - there was a a bath and shower, fridge for drinks, TV with Freesat and CD/DVD player with a choice of DVDs and books

We also sat in the guests lounge in the evening which had a nice comfy sofa and also made use of the outside seating areas on the days that the weather was warm and sunny

The breakfasts were great and cooked to order and we could bring Mack into the breakfast room so sit with us

The other benefit for us was that there was a pub a minute down the road that served an excellent selection of cooked food , decent ales and wine and again was dog friendly

All in all a great holiday and was really sorry to leave - we would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Room 1 with the private balcony if you can get it - it was booked out when we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardBraisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Would highly recommend this property to take your dog.No need to take anything for your dog as all is provided only need to take dog food. Rooms are spotless and very spacious breakfast great . Pub 50 yards down road for evening meal also dog friendly,plenty of walks nearby.Books,dvd and cd in bedrooms owners can even provide you with toiletries if you forget them. Had a great two night stay and will be back

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank peter_pennels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night in June with our Greyhound. The rooms are lovely, spacious and so clean. A great deal of attention to detail has been put into the rooms. There are DVDs, books, the latest television magazine and even a sewing kit. Obviously being greyhound owners ourselves we were interested to see the rescue Greyhounds. We did see them playing in the garden but , other than that , they are kept very much to the living quarters where I believe they are kept behind a gate and way away from the kitchen. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and quality ingredients with "proper" sausages from the local butcher. . Our dog Rosie really enjoyed the treats left for her in the room together with bed and feeeding bowls. We had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to use Beech Hill House again

Room Tip: Room 1 with the balcony looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules999531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beech Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill House

Address: | Off the A590, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Hill House is a truly dog friendly bed and breakfast situated just off the A590 at Witherslack. 8 Minutes from the M6 J36 we are situated in the South Lakes near Grange-over-Sands on the edge of the Lake District National Park. Receive discounted rates for multiple night stays by telephoning us direct - see our web site for details. With 3 spacious, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with king-size beds, each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with CD/DVD player, silent mini-fridge, safe deposit box, hair drier, hospitality tray and many other 'home from home' comforts to help you enjoy your stay. One bedroom has a private balcony with table and chairs, with access through the enclosed guest's garden to the drive while another has both a king and single bed in it making it an ideal double, twin or family room (sorry no children under 10 years of age). Dogs are truly welcome and we have an enclosed guest's garden with dusk to dawn lighting, parking is available, and our village pub is dog friendly and 50 yards along the road. Beech Hill House makes an ideal stop-over while travelling and base for visiting the Lake District and South Lakes Furness Peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beech Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill House Witherslack, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing