We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant for a short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beech Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant for a short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My first trip alone with my greyhound. Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the hospitality and facilities in this well located B&B. Short drives to Windermere,Ambleside, Coniston and Grange over Sands etc. Dog walking along country lanes just outside the door. Dog friendly pub 2mins walk away. The local steak I had was excellent (as was the local lager). Jenny, the owner is full of local knowledge and even gave me some free dog training advice! Room spotlessly clean, comfy bed with supersoft sheets. A nice touch is the mini fridge which housed my wine to settle down for the night with a DVD from their collection. Hearty breakfasts, lots of choice. Would definitely go back if looking at the Lake District again. Brilliant place for guests with or without dogs (no doggie smells which was a worry beforehand)

Room Tip: My room was nearest the main road but it was not enough to cause any disturbance - and still looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Our bed and breakfast is close to the lakes yet away from the crowds, which is perfect for a quiet day out or to join in the hussle and bustle of the busy villages and towns. We, as do many of our guest like that, and with the road network being the way it is makes it easy to tour the area.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of help, so please let us know how you get on? Thak you also for your comment about there being no 'doggie' smells. The nicest thing about having greyhounds for residents is they don't smell doggie, which is a big bonus, and ours only have access to our living area. Being aware that 'doggie' smells can easily arise we pride ourselves in cleaning the guest rooms to ensure they are as clean and as fresh as we can make them. We greatly appreciate your comments and very much look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are visiting our area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
121
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent three nights at Beech Hill House B&B and had a very enjoyable stay. We stayed in room 1 which has its own balcony/patio area and private side entrance through the garden, which was ideal as we had our dog with us and this was very convenient for taking her out. Beech House is very dog friendly and Jenny, being a dedicated dog owner herself, understands what makes a difference and provides lots of great extras such as a dish of dog biscuits, a dog bed if required, feeding bowl and a good large blanket so you don’t have to worry about dog hairs. There are extras for humans too such as a mini fridge, safe deposit box, sherry and chocolates, bubble bath and even a shoe shine kit. The bed and bedding are really comfortable and there is an excellent choice of high quality breakfasts. It is only a very short stroll to the Derby Arms where good food is served and dogs are allowed inside. Grange-over-Sands and the Lake District are nearby so there are plenty of places to enjoy whether you are with your dogs or not. Jenny made us feel very welcome and we would happily stay at Beech Hill House again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_P_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do try our best to make everyone who stays here as relaxed and as enjoyable as we can. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again, as indeed we do all our guests when next in this area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here on a Monday night. It was, I guess, what you would call a taster night as we have only owned our greyhound (Kim) for just over 5 months and we needed to start our dog-friendly UK breaks somewhere! Thankfully everything went perfectly and we would definitely visit again.
Room 1 was perfect for us as we had our own entrance and patio decking, helped make it a little less daunting for our Kim. The place was great, didn't know what to expect as we are used to our all inclusive resorts abroad. We chose this place for its greyhound connections and thought that would be the best place to start and it really didn't disappoint. We didn't see their dogs much, but because we had the patio area off our room, now and then you would see 6 cheeky faces over the fence which our Kim loved. So did we! The room was spotless, I was worried a dog friendly place might have a certain doggy smell, but it was the nicest smelling place I've ever stayed. Every attention to detail was there, even a bucket on the patio to wash muddy paws! Even the tea and coffee basket impressed me and I don't drink it, shame. But I did bring a bottle of wine and there was a selection of glasses and corkscrew. They really have thought of everything. Little fridge so I could chill my left over packed lunch. Amazing. Also great DVD and book collection, I've never seen this in a hotel before!
As for the breakfast I have high standards as I used to work breakfast shifts in a few hotels. But it met and exceeded my expectations. Again every detail thought of, choice was vast, and very good quality meat. Felt guilty because I didn't each much - I had ordered full English so I knew I wouldn't have room for anything else. Fried bread was amazing! So yes, would definitely recommend. Also local pub is lovely, tad expensive but it was worth it. Charming place. Kim settled eventually - first timer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and that all went well for Kim's first outing to a bed and breakfast. We don't think you have any need to worry about going away with Kim because of her nature as she is so sweet, and will take going places with you in her stride.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, the comments of which we greatly appreciate as they help us in our desire to ensure guests staying here have an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime and once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed last night with my dog. Had room 3, exceptional is the only word. Torch to get back at night, sherry and chocolate to say welcome, dog bed, bowls, treats for my dog. King size bed beautifully made up, bathroom to die for and brilliant facilities. I will never think of anywhere else to stay again on way to and from Scotland as it is better than many hotels I've stayed in and the owners have put a great deal of thought into your comfort - even a dvd and cd library and board games. Dog made to feel very welcome and I'm sure I put half a stone on with the brilliant breakfast - even the dog had a brekkie! Don't hesitate to book this great B&B.

Room Tip: Room 1 has balcony to garden but Room 3 very large and great big bathroom with bath and shower. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for writing such a nice review and for the photos you placed on Tripadvisor. Emailing them to us was most thoughtful. We particularly liked the one of the 'goodie' basket and other items we put in the rooms for our 'four legged guests'.
Many guests like yourself enjoy staying here on their way to or from Scotland because we are easy to find from junction 36 of the M6 and it breaks the journey nicely.
As we have no street lights around here, with being dog friendly and the village pub being just along the road we think a torch is appropriate for our guests, and, with much trial and error we find the wind up ones are the best as it avoids batteries failing. We look forward to welcoming you all here again in a couple of months time, and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at Beech Hill House on 3 rd and 4th of February in room 1. We were on a short weekend break. We took our Miniature Dachshund with us. The break was enjoyable despite snowy conditions. We were made to feel most welcome by Jenny and our little dog had a her own B&B experience with bedding biscuits and other pleasantries. The room was clean comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was well laid out and we had a balcony of our own. Not only does Jenny do hospitality exceptionally well she also love her canine guests as she fosters rescued greyhounds. A unique weekend we would not have missed. The food in the adjacent Derby arms is also excellent.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groesfordd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Found through Google search looking for a treat for my wife.What a find!!
Easy to find junc 36 M6 was very impressed with Jenny;s greeting and room 3 blew us away. A walk in wardrobe fantastic bathroom and King Bed. After a great nights sleep we woke to a great view from the window and breakfast was equally as good.

Room Tip: All were good 1 no shower 2 double bed single bed 3 double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

what a joy to have such a warm welcome for us and our dog. doggy basket was a lovely touch in the bedroom. we stayed just one night but wished we could have stayed longer. everything we needed and a lot more. comfortable and clean bedroom and ensuite, nice towels and good selection of toiletries. good supply of tea/coffee/chocolate and biscuits, even some treats for our dog. marvelous breakfast, just couldnt fault it, cant wait to come back again. Pub a few yards away, also dog friendly made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witherslack
6.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
4.4 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
5.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill House

Property: Beech Hill House
Address: | Off the A590, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Hill House is a truly dog friendly bed and breakfast situated just off the A590 at Witherslack. 8 Minutes from the M6 J36 we are situated in the South Lakes near Grange-over-Sands on the edge of the Lake District National Park. Receive discounted rates for multiple night stays by telephoning us direct - see our web site for details. With 3 spacious, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with king-size beds, each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with CD/DVD player, silent mini-fridge, safe deposit box, hair drier, hospitality tray and many other 'home from home' comforts to help you enjoy your stay. One bedroom has a private balcony with table and chairs, with access through the enclosed guest's garden to the drive while another has both a king and single bed in it making it an ideal double, twin or family room (sorry no children under 10 years of age). Dogs are truly welcome and we have an enclosed guest's garden with dusk to dawn lighting, parking is available, and our village pub is dog friendly and 50 yards along the road. Beech Hill House makes an ideal stop-over while travelling and base for visiting the Lake District and South Lakes Furness Peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beech Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill House Witherslack, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing