We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dog Friendly B&B”
Review of Beech Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beech Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Dog Friendly B&B”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed here last night with our two dogs and the place was wonderful. The rooms had everything you could possibly want, with lots of extras apart from the tea and coffee tray. The dogs even had their own welcome basket with towels, plastic bags and little treats. The owners were a delightful couple who owned and fostered rescued Greyhounds and it was great meeting the 'Gang' in the garden. Breakfast was delicious with local produce and it set us up perfectly for the day. The pub down the road, served exceptional food and you could even take your dogs in there. All in all well worth a visit and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
124
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were on our way back from Scotland and wanted a B&B near Grange Over sands so that we could visit two specific Historic houses before returning to the wilds of North Yorkshire !
My wife found the B&B on a Google search and checked out the reports on Trip advisor.
We were not to be dissapointed about the many excellent reports about Beech Hill House.
We were made extremely welcome and were offered a very well appointed room with welcome sherry, tea/coffee, full sky tv and an extensive DVD library !!! all in the room.

Breakfast was first class which would put many 5 star hotels to shame. We very much enjoyed our first stay and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, UK
Level Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Great stay at this charming B & B - very comfortable rooms and decor. Don;t worry about the traffic noise comments of previous contributors - it's there yes but at negligible levels - it didn't keep us awake anyway. Ideal location for either lake district or onward travel northwards.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornwall-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, UK
Level Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

A very warm welcome was provided and our stay did not disappoint - very comfortable rooms and great breakfast. Yes there is some traffic noise but a trip to the pub can help to alleviate that! highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwall-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Very good B+B. The room is full of nice touches to make your stay more comfortable, in fact I can't remember the last time I saw such a well stocked bathroom. Great pub just up the road which did good meals too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Cracking place to stop if you have or even have no dog with you, Made very welcome and very impressed with £4 charge for dog, You got dog bed, treats, towel, water bowl and even doggie bags for this. Room very clean with really nice touches like welcoming sherry and bed covers (everyone knows you cant keep them off so its good to get a cover) for the dog. Breakfast was realy nice and your dog could come with you too. We loved it and will go again, the dog loved it and says it all 'Woof !' down boy.

Room Tip: go for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
It was lovely you were able to stay here with us the other day and we thank you so much for your kind comments. As dog lovers ourselves we appreciate the importance of your little dog being with you and it gives us great pleasure to welcome our '4 legged' guests as we do their owners. We hope the little plant cuttings take off and perhaps one day we can look forward to welcoming you all here again when you are next in this area. We love welcoming new guests to our bed and breakfast, thank you for taking the time to write this review and we send our kindest regards to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stopped by for an overnight bed & breakfast at Beech Hill House. Everything was excellent. The room was clean and tidy with all mod-cons and crisp bedding. The proprietress, Jenny, was welcoming - we even got a welcoming sherry. The breakfast was good, and our dog, Ghillie, given particular attention both upon arrival and at meal times. It is situated in a quiet part of the Lake District with a charming and friendly local pub that felt as if it had been there for centuries.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
May we thank you for your kind comments about your overnight stay here and hope that when you are next passing or staying in this area again you will call, and we can have the pleasure of welcoming you again. We do try our best to ensure our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us be it for an over-night stop or for a short break to visit the area. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us and we send you all our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witherslack
4.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill House

Property: Beech Hill House
Address: | Off the A590, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Hill House is a truly dog friendly bed and breakfast situated just off the A590 at Witherslack. 8 Minutes from the M6 J36 we are situated in the South Lakes near Grange-over-Sands on the edge of the Lake District National Park. Receive discounted rates for multiple night stays by telephoning us direct - see our web site for details. With 3 spacious, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with king-size beds, each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with CD/DVD player, silent mini-fridge, safe deposit box, hair drier, hospitality tray and many other 'home from home' comforts to help you enjoy your stay. One bedroom has a private balcony with table and chairs, with access through the enclosed guest's garden to the drive while another has both a king and single bed in it making it an ideal double, twin or family room (sorry no children under 10 years of age). Dogs are truly welcome and we have an enclosed guest's garden with dusk to dawn lighting, parking is available, and our village pub is dog friendly and 50 yards along the road. Beech Hill House makes an ideal stop-over while travelling and base for visiting the Lake District and South Lakes Furness Peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beech Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill House Witherslack, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing