We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greyhounds galore and wonderful breakfasts”
Review of Beech Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I along with our greyhound Sally spent 5 nights here. The weather was extremely wet but we couldn't fault the accommodation. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. You can meet their greyhounds, some of which are up for re-homing, or you can choose not to - we chose to!
We had Bedroom One which is recommended as the best option for greyhounds which can enter via the patio doors, accessible by 2 lots of approx 3 outdoor steps, rather than the quite steep staircase inside. Despite being next to a dual carriageway there is hardly any traffic noise in the bedrooms.
Good food available at the Derby Arms just a 2 min walk down the road. Nature reserve and dead end road for dog walking on the door step too.
Jenny and Stuart done their best to sort out any little queries we had and could not have been more helpful.
May we wish them well with their wonderful B&B business and re-homing the greyhounds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greyhoundfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in room 1 , we would recommend this room if you take your pet as this has its own patio an access up some steps without disturbing other quests , we liked this idea very much as it rained very badly and we were all soaking wet . Jenny and Stuart have thought of everything to make the stay comfortable an relaxing . We have never been away with our pet before (Barney our boxer) an booked this BB for this reason of being dog friendly , we did not expect all the little extras for Barney , Jenny and Stuart had thought of everything . The breakfast was lovely really fresh an tasty done to order . The place was spotless , the bed was really comfortable with fresh crisp linen , bathroom was spotless with nice white towels , the only thing that bothered us slightly was the shower which is on the taps vc we cudent get it to work it just kept going into the bath so we ended we just having baths , would of been lovely if we had a power shower , overhaul we enjoyed our stay and would defiantly stay there again . Our granddaughter especially loved the greyhounds visiting us by the patio . Some of which have been fostered as Jenny and Stuart rescue Greyhounds , Jenny has wrote a book on this , which we have ordered as she had none in stock my husband is really looking forward to reading this . Beech Hill House is unique and only has three rooms which makes it more personal . Thank you Jenny and Stuart .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

From the outside this charming B &B looks very ordinary. We would probably have driven past it and thought "no". However, having booked for 3 nights on the basis of previous reviews and taking the chance because it was in close proximity to our friends' house we could not have been more delighted with our stay.
We had booked room 1 because of the balcony where we were allowed to smoke and was also good to take advantage of the very limited amount of sunshine that we experienced!
Breakfasts were unbelievably good with loads of choices and wonderful local bacon and black pudding from a local butcher.
Jenny was a sweet and kind person - she had thought of everything that anyone would want in a room- and the whole interior was spotlessly clean.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KatieEnglandU.K.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

On arrival, Beech Hill House looks very ordinary - do not be deceived, it has everything a guest could possibly wish for - and more! We had a warm and helpful welcome and were taken to room 3, which was very clean, but again it looked pretty ordinary. It is only when you look around that you appreciate how much thought has gone into providing a really well appointed room. We have stayed in five star hotels all around the world and none had so many things a traveller might need.
Great lighting, good mirrors, plenty of storage, a silent fridge, DVD library, more books than we could read in several years, welcome sherry and mints, comprehensive tea/coffee basket, a fan, hot water bottle, washing line and pegs, clock radio, free wi-fi, etc etc.. Breakfasts were good too and cooked to order using excellent local produce. We had a lovely view of sheep and a crag from our window. The only, absolutely ONLY, problem is that Beech Hill House is very close to a busy road and there is road noise. If this might be a problem, take earplugs. There is a super pub/restaurant 50 yards down the lane serving very good food. Beech Hill House welcomes dogs, so for anyone holidaying with dogs we can't think of anywhere better to stay. We didn't have a dog, though we are dog lovers and we enjoyed meeting the resident greyhounds. Beech Hill House is ten minutes from Grange over Sands.

Room Tip: Room three has a big bathroom with bath and shower and good lighting. It also has a separate walk i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillyhasbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Have visited the Lake District on numerous occasions with my wife in the past years, Beech Hill House is the best place we have stayed at, Jenny and Stuart are very meticulous in the way they run their establishment, rooms are spotless and the breakfasts are 1st class !!

Loved the greyhounds, wish we could have taken one home, will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecolonel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My partner and I stopped in Kendal for the afternoon whilst driving home from a holiday in Scotland and decided last minute to stay the night somewhere nearby & take a tour round the lake district the following day, so we booked a room at Beech Hill House - which is nestled in the little village of Witherslack.

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely bunch of Greyhounds who were in the side yard & then greeted at the door by Jenny, who was very welcoming. We were then shown to our room (room 2), which was very homely & well stocked up with tea, coffee, biscuits, dvd's, books etc. Anything you would want to occupy yourself!

Breakfast was wonderful & there is so much choice! Fruit, cereals, jams, bread for toasting and then your cooked breakfast too! You're definitely not going to get hungry in the day once you've had breakfast here!

Although we only stayed the one night, it was an enjoyable stay. I must mention as well, if anyone is travelling with dogs, this place is VERY pet friendly. I wish I had my pooch with me, she'd have loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Jenny and Stuart have a head start here as my greyhound is as welcome (if not more so) than me! Seriously though the room facilities are clean, with great touches such as the small fridge, ideal for snacks and drinks and now free guest wi fi as well. Cooked to order breakfast really sets you up for the day. Location is great too, not far from M6 but enough to be close to Windermere, Grange over Sands,etc. Nice dog friendly pub with good food a minute away. Once again Jenny is a mine of information both about the area and dogs. Lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazzyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beech Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill House

Address: | Off the A590, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Hill House is a truly dog friendly bed and breakfast situated just off the A590 at Witherslack. 8 Minutes from the M6 J36 we are situated in the South Lakes near Grange-over-Sands on the edge of the Lake District National Park. Receive discounted rates for multiple night stays by telephoning us direct - see our web site for details. With 3 spacious, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with king-size beds, each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with CD/DVD player, silent mini-fridge, safe deposit box, hair drier, hospitality tray and many other 'home from home' comforts to help you enjoy your stay. One bedroom has a private balcony with table and chairs, with access through the enclosed guest's garden to the drive while another has both a king and single bed in it making it an ideal double, twin or family room (sorry no children under 10 years of age). Dogs are truly welcome and we have an enclosed guest's garden with dusk to dawn lighting, parking is available, and our village pub is dog friendly and 50 yards along the road. Beech Hill House makes an ideal stop-over while travelling and base for visiting the Lake District and South Lakes Furness Peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beech Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill House Witherslack, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing