We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place on edge of Lake District. A shame about noise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Derby Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Derby Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place on edge of Lake District. A shame about noise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely inn, much better than expected and only 2 minutes from the motorway. Rooms are clean and have character, shower was powerful. Dinner downstairs was worth the money, good range of local ale. Only downside to the visit was noise from next room and the bar below.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    96
    40
    16
    21
See reviews for
54
190
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely Victorian high ceiling styled rooms with all the mod cons you can need, food down stairs was really good and breakfast was adequate. Location is easy to get to straight off the dual carriageway

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our first time staying here and I'm sure we will be back. Room with shower was plenty big enough to even include our "German Shepherd" cross. Very animal friendly and well used by locals. Local walks were excellent for walkers and dogs alike. Thoroughly enjoyed it and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms with baths were taken but our shower was above average and powerful. Music from bar below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed as we were attending a wedding in the village. The building is a beautiful, rambling old place with bags of character. Stripped floors with rugs, open fires and a collection of mis matched furniture just add to it's charm. The room was clean, comfortable and with an en suite with a proper "bin lid" shower (not a dreadful electric thing).
There's a good selection of local real ales and the menu is great. Breakfast was just the thing for the morning after a wedding party and you can choose between cooked or cold, with plenty of fresh coffee, juice and artisan bread to toast.
As has been said by another poster. A perfect place to stay if you're exploring the lake district

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A quaint place with some oddities, let's call it character. The doors don't close easily, it's a pub so there's noise on Friday and Saturday nights but the people are nice and interesting, the food is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrudiSimonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deal, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were told on booking the room over the phone that a table would be reserved for us as we were staying at hotel. When we booked in it had not been done and were assured that we would have a booked table that night. Later someone knocked on bedroom door to find out who we were! When we went downstairs for supper the table had not been booked after all!! A table in the back room was found for us.
at breakfast there is only one kettle for the whole room to use to make ones own tea or coffee. the coffee was instant!!!! we had to ask for proper coffee which took ages as they used the kettle in dining room to make it!
staff were very nice but absolutely useless.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UKcoastwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

at first we were a little disappointed - but not for long. the room was clean and the bed comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful.......but the food was BRILLIANT - would recommend this place a s a perfect base for Lakes exploring. Thanks.

Room Tip: make sure you choose either a lovely claw foot bath, or a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betsy54089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witherslack
8.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
3.4 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beech Hill House
Beech Hill House
#1 of 2 in Witherslack
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derby Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derby Arms

Property: The Derby Arms
Address: Witherslack, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Lake District National Park, The Derby Arms Hotel serves traditional British cuisine and real ales in the popular on-site restaurant. The elegant rooms have spacious bathrooms and free Wi-Fi. The quaint country pub offers charming rooms with crisp white linens, antique furniture and ornamental lamps. All rooms feature a plasma-screen TV, and some rooms have scenic views and luxury roll-top baths. A generous continental breakfast is served each morning, and full evening meals and lunches are also available. The beautiful restaurant features a grand open fireplace and polished wooden tables, and is intimately lit by candlelight. The Derby Arms has a spacious games room, which features a pool table and darts board. There is also an on-site village shop, and free on-site parking is also available. Dogs are welcome throughout the hotel, and packed lunches can also be arranged. Grange-over-Sands is just 10 minutes' away, and Kendal town centre can be reached in 15 minutes' drive. Morecombe Bay is a 10-minute drive, and Grange-over-Sands Railway Station is 7 minutes away, offering trains to Ulverston and Carnforth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Derby Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derby Arms Hotel Witherslack
The Derby Arms Witherslack, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing