We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Calahorra
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calahorra
Accrington UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Modern comfort”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Calahorra is one of the Parador organisation's more modern incarnations. That said, it is a comfortable place to spend time in the Rioja region of Spain.
It is easy to find in the town, and check in was quick, polite and efficient. The rooms were large and clean, the usual well equipped parador bathroom with two sinks, and the bedrooms had large, comfortable beds. We had not specified any special room requirements, but were more than satisfied with our accommodation. The dining experience was excellent, a well presented and politely served meal with a reasonably priced wine list. Breakfasts were the usual high standard expected in these hotels with plenty of choice available for all tastes.
The staff were all polite and attentive and helped with recommendations for suitable bars and other points of interest to us in the town.
To sum up, this is not one of the Parador organisation's flagship hotels by any means, but nevertheless is a welcoming and comfortable base in which to pass a couple of nights, or to use as a stopover hotel on a journey further south.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pansantander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    155
    100
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
201
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our second stay here, a week compared to a couple of days last year. This time as recommended elsewhere we had a 3rd floor room to minimise the creaky floor issue when your upper neighbours mode around. Staff again very friendly and helpful, from desk to bar and resteraunt, everyone makes you feel welcome. Have to give a special mention to breakfast waitress Blanca, who went out of her way to to make us feel welcome, even as far as bringing out a cake with candles on my daughters birthday. Going back in June and looking forward to it. Overall a great place to stay if you want to explore La Rioja.
**note**Please ignore Fitness centre mark, there isn't one & I can't remove (fat fingers on I-pad)!

Room Tip: Get one on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here, in February 2014, en route from Alicante to Santander.
The staff were so sweet and friendly you could hug them.
Our check in was welcoming and we were taken, to our large comfortable room, rather than just being given directions.
Dinner and breakfast, whilst not being cheap, were each delightful. One man, not the same one, served every table at each mealtime. They both did so speedily and with genuinely happy smiles at all times.
A very pleasant experience. We are looking forward to going back some time to explore the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel and it was a great experience.

From the onset the staff were friendly and helpful. I spent most of the day in the lounge where the bar staff brough over snacks and our drinks periodically and were extremely diligent.

The room was spacious and had a good connection to wifi, The bathroom was clean and large with a large bath tub which is always nice in a hotel. The TV in the room was at first glance purely in spanish, but with some wrangling with the remote it was possible to change the language to english so channels that were originally recorded in the english removed the spanish dubbing.

The food in their restaurant was amazing and the portion sizes were extremely generous. The waiter serving us did not speak a word of english and we not a word of spanish, but he was extremely enthusiastic and with a bit of back and forth we managed to order what we wanted and his gesturing of how we wanted our steak cooked was amusing. The local wine is also extremely recommended to be ordered.

I forgot to bring a UK adaptor but the reception staff were extremely helpful and found one for me to borrow, which was great for me.

Overall a lovely hotel in a lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevemwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

As all paradors are....this is a great place. The prices seem a little lower than the others, i guess because of the size of the town. It makes a great place to stop on the way north to Hondrarribia. Welcoming staff, good food & a central location to the freeway make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very good hotel a few minutes off the motorway to/from Blibao. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Rooms large, comfortable, clean and quiet. Bathroom large and spotless. Restaurant is open all day and the food is local produce and very good. Supermarket next door and a short walk to the old town of Calahorra. Plenty of car parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Good location 5 minutes off the main road from Bilbao to the Mediterranean.
Easy to find. Good safe parking. Friendly staff throughout.
The room was a good size and clean. It was very creaky although this didn't keep us awake.
Breakfast was the best that we had in 2 week. All quality ingredients, nice choice of cheese, hams and breads etc.
The hotel seemed very quiet in fact the main restaurant wasn't open in the evening. We ate in the bar area. Food was ok although there was little or no atmosphere.
Calahorra itself is pretty workaday, slightly run down town. The modern precinct immediately outside the hotel has a number of café/bars and on a nice evening the atmosphere was quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calahorra
2.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit Calahorra
Hotel Zenit Calahorra
#3 of 3 in Calahorra
73 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Palacios
Hotel Palacios
#1 of 1 in Alfaro
496 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hospederia de Alesves
Hospederia de Alesves
#1 of 1 in Villafranca
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Balneario de Gravalos
Balneario de Gravalos
#1 of 1 in Gravalos
21 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria Ibis Styles Arnedo
15.9 mi away
Balneario TermaEuropa Arnedillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Calahorra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Calahorra

Property: Parador de Calahorra
Address: Paseo Mercadal, 26500 Calahorra, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Calahorra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calahorra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Calahorra 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Calahorra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing