We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique bnb”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Abalos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospederia del Vino
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This BNB is excellent. Beautiful setting to relax and visit the Rioja region. Jesus is a gracious host and will answer to all your needs. Our room was beautiful and tastefully decorated. The french balcony is a delight when opened and you can hear the birds singing. I highly recommend this place to anyone in search of peace and relaxation. To reserve just email Jesus your dates and your phone number. That's all he wants. No credit card info needed.

Room Tip: Room number three was very pretty. All the rooms are basically the same just different colors. Very...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteMiami_Fl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Hospederia del Vino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

6 of us stayed here in early September for 3 nights. The location is quiet and peaceful and Abalos is a nice, rustic town with a lot of character. My wife and I did a few walks up into the hills behind the hotel and got some great dawn photos of the the valley. The rooms of the hotel are awesome, very comfortable and modern. Jesus and his family have put a lot of effort into making this a wonderful place to stay. The breakfast ladies were really great and have very good English, if your Catalan is a bit rusty! We used the room above the breakfast area for a great dinner one night after shopping for local produce - meats, cheeses, breads and salads. With some of Jesus's very nice wines, we had a very enjoyable evening. There were a lot of fiestas on when we were visiting and we found that Haro was pretty much always open for dinner or shopping - no fiesta there!

Room Tip: They are all great but maybe away from the pool if you're sensitive to chlorine.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEddiesduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A really spectacular hotel in a great location. Jesus and his wife could not have been more friendly and accommodating! The rooms, pool, and grounds were beautiful. We felt like we had our own private villa in the vineyards. On top of everything, they had some great wine to finish off (or start) each day with! You simply have to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbasax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I selected Hospederia del Vino for the Rioja portion of our vacation after a lot of research and I was not disappointed. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. We loved looking out our window at the vineyards.

Abalos is will sited for visiting a lot of interesting towns nearby - Briones, San Vicente de Sonsierra, Haro, Laguardia and others.

The best, though, was how welcoming and friendly Jesus, his family, and Maria were. We felt like we were at home. We could use the kitchen, the patio that the family congregated on, the pool, go up to the tower and enjoy a bottle of wine, etc. We were treated to homemade chorizo and freshly picked little green plums. We played with the puppy Balto and wished that we could speak Spanish with the grandmother.

Wonderful 5 nights and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the bodega for 5 days and loved the place. The rooms are of a really high spec especially the gorgeous bathrooms. The pool is a great way to relax after the days activities and the personal tour we had was great fun and informative. Most of all though it is the warm welcome we received from Jesus and his family that set the bodega apart...we had the run of the place and loved our evening strolls around the estate.

Nuria freshly prepared the delicious breakfast for us each morning and also helped us plan our days with helpful ideas and information on the area.

The location is very central for exploring the area but you need a car and should be to be prepared to drive if you want to eat out. Laguardia is just a few km away. Alternatively you can use the kitchen to prepare a simple supper enjoy the excellent wine and stay put.

Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LinfinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way back to Santander to explore some bodegas. My parents had been before having discovered Jesus in a Malcolm Gluck article. The bodega tour is really interesting and Jesus has a most charming way about him. The new puppy kept my daughter entertained (although I am flip flopless as a result!). The rooms are modern and they really have made an effort to make the accomodation work for visitors. The breakfast was great and cannot be faulted. As for the wine. Our car is now full of it and I'm sure we will be back again to stock up and explore more of Rioja. All in all a real gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradburyburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Such a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the Rioja countryside. Jesus and his family are wonderful hosts. He gave a tour of the winery which was very informative and very personal. The rooms were wonderful, the pool is quite large, and the atmosphere peaceful and quiet. We kept the windows open at night and let the cool breezes blow through. There are only six guest rooms, and all the guests seem happy. One word of warning on conveniences in the area: be prepared to pay with Visa or cash (not Mastercard or Amex) - there are no cash machines nearby! Otherwise, this was one of our favorite places in Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megapax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abalos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa de Abalos
6.8 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
11.8 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
6.8 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Haro
6.6 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia del Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia del Vino

Address: Camino de los Molinos, s/n, 26339 Abalos, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Abalos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abalos
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hospederia Del Vino Abalos, Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing