We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa de Abalos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel in a quiet but ideal location for exploring this surprisingly beautiful region.
The beautifully restored building of Villa de Abalos outside is impressive and full of character, only surpassed by the inside, which has been decorated to a very high standard and is adorned with art and crafts which are interesting and quirky whilst still maintaining a homely feel.
The owners did everything possible to make our stay in the region a delight, giving us advice on wine (they have their own winery), food and the locality. For us with two soft-top two-seaters, the private secure parking was also a real bonus. One of the highlights of of every trip out was finding our way back to the hotel through the narrow winding streets of the small village. I don't think we ever used the same route twice!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmarshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

A lovely hotel with pleasant rooms set in a quiet village. However what spoilt the visit was the intransigence of the owner not to have dinner any earlier than 21.00. However to be fair I suppose that is our problem as it is the norm in Spain. However more and more hotels are becoming flexible about this and offering earlier dinner times if with a reduced menu. Breakfast was at 09.00 but after much arm twisting it was agreed to serve it at 08.30 when I said that if he stuck to 09.00 we would have to leave without.

Room Tip: At the back over looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMW8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights between 12th and 15th March 2014.
The hotel is charming, nicely renovated 12 years ago and sympathetically decorated. Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable. We ate an evening meal twice in the hotel. The menu is limited but the food is bought in specifically for the number of guests dining, this is very fresh and beautifully cooked. We can't comment on pudding as we were too full to try this.
We did however try the very delicious wine produced by the proprietor, realising too late that we could have toured his vineyard! Breakfast was very good, bread and preserves are home made and everything else high quality.
This is a small, family run hotel and each member works hard to ensure that guests are made most welcome and enjoy attentive service.

The hotel is ideally located for touring the whole of the region of 'La Rioja'.
It is approximately two and a half hours drive from Santander and an hour and a quarter from Bilbao. Friends who joined us from Madrid took three and a half hours to drive to Abalos.

The village is very small - a population of 300 - and there are no other restaurants within walking distance. You can comprehensively walk the village in 15minutes so anyone who is not content with absolute peace and quiet would be better off elsewhere.
For our purposes it was perfect and we would be happy to return to both the hotel and the location which is beautiful.

Room Tip: We can recommend room 2. All rooms would be pretty (and) quiet Soundproofing was good from room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suffolk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here in Sept. for 2 nights with another couple. Initially we had reservations about the
location in a small village without any obvious alternatives for dining. Doubts were quickly overcome. Villa de Abalos has fantastic meals, great serviceand their own wine, Empatia, was superior to other Rioja wines we tasted, so we were delighted to dine there on consecutive evenings. The breakfast was the best we had in over three weeks travelling in Spain (including some rather grand hotels). JoseLuis was a charming & informative host. We'd be happy to stay
here again some time, pity it's so far from Australia!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a top floor room, there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fOOtlOOse2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September. Nice little village, although no shops, restaurants, bars etc. Hotel is nice, lovely large bedroom and nice bathroom, so good sleep quality.
We ate at the hotel on both nights as otherwise one of us would have had to drive somewhere.
Food was good but I wouldn't go as far as saying it was excellent.
Wine was very nice which was their own and reasonably priced too.
Breakfast, well now, this I would say was excellent and best one of all on any Spanish holiday we've been on.
After visiting the area, it was nice to come back and sit outside with a bottle of their own chilled white wine and relax for a couple of hours before getting ready for the evening.
A very relaxing home from home feel hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent a couple of nights in this charming small hotel in Abalos in the Rioja wine region. The rooms, breakfast and the warm welcome all made our stay all too short. The small dining room is available for dinner by prior arrangement and is very good and convenient for late arrivals. there was a wine festival in the town the day we left which looked like great fun we were sorry we had to leave without sampling all of it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltyc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at the end of our holiday.

The hotel and surrounding area is very beautiful. The staff are attentive and hospitable. The breakfast is superb. We ate there for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The wine is beautiful but unfortunately we could not bring any home as we were flying.

On our final night Andrea, the daughter of the owners was in charge do the dining room. She was absolutely fantastic, her attention to detail and manner is superb. She is also good at English,which was helpful to us. He parents have taught her well and it was great to see her being afforded the opportunity to 'run the show'.

I would recommend this hotel,and hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abalos
15.4 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
715 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
593 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
6.3 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de Abalos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de Abalos

Address: Plaza Fermin Gurbindo 2, 26339 Abalos, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Abalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abalos
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa de Abalos 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa de Abalos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa De Abalos Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing