We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Five Sisters Zoo

Five Sisters Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Five Sisters Zoo offers a great value family day out for all the family. With over 120 different species from all around the world from bats to bears and lemurs to lynx everyone has their favourites. Daily handling sessions, keeper talks and feed the lemur sessions. School and groups are most welcome, group rates available. Please see the website for full details and admission charges. Open all year.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What an amazing place this is. All types of animals etc and fantastic to know that most of them have been rescued. I love the fact that you can get so close - not like larger zoos where you have to play 'hunt' the animal. Great place foe taking the children as the owners have provided a huge play area including tables and benches if you want to take your own picnic (what a bonus) however they do have their own Brown Bear cafe which is very reasonably priced. If there's one thing you do this summer please visit ...even if you don't have children

Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play park"
in 114 reviews
"handling session"
in 40 reviews
"reptile house"
in 97 reviews
"picnic area"
in 56 reviews
"sisters zoo"
in 29 reviews
"value for money"
in 71 reviews
"great family day"
in 39 reviews
"keep up the good work"
in 23 reviews
"all ages"
in 57 reviews
"animal handling"
in 24 reviews
"family ticket"
in 21 reviews
"last visit"
in 21 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 16 reviews
"wide variety of animals"
in 13 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 31 reviews
"great wee"
in 24 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 16 reviews
Filter

945 - 949 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

It's been over a year since I was last here and I was slightly anxious visiting again after the tragic accident last year I was unsure what to expect.

I was thrilled to arrive and see the car park very busy even on a Monday afternoon, once in the zoo I could see why. The grounds are very well maintained with lots of flowers, water features and of course the memorial garden for all those lost last year.

All of the animals I saw were active and looked well and very happy. I love parrots so I was all giddy to find myself scratching a cockatoos head as it says hello to you.

A new attraction is the wolves. They are cool and although very shy they did come and get some meat from the keepers who told us all about their story.

Five sisters have done an amazing job getting the zoo looking so well and I will be back very soon and will recommended to everyone that five sisters is worth the 2 hour drive from Aberdeen.

Thank you for a great day out.

Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your recent visit, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and seeing all the animals, especially the new wolves. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

what a great wee zoo 1st time we have visited our grandson who is only 5 months old but he really enjoyed himself stroking the donkeys and other animals he even had a wee play on the swings. there is plenty to see and do here and could easily spend a whole day.the staff were very friendly with smiles and hellos and could answer any questions we had for them. the picnic areas are of plenty and are kept very clean overall we had a great day and cant wait tae lewis gets older to bring him back.

Thank ANNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your recent comments about the Zoo - we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and especially your grandson - here's to many more visits to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Typically, as soon as we arrived we had a huge downpour - not really anywhere to get undercover so we headed off with umbrella and puddlesuit for the smaller one to see what Five Sisters had to offer.
The animals also seemed unimpressed by the precipitation, most were hidden or huddled in the corner of their enclosures (which were all good sizes and full of appropriate terrain/vegetation). About half way round, the rain stopped. Then the animals who had previously been seeking shelter came out, in particular the African Grey Parrots became very vocal!
The zoo paths are easy to get around with a buggy, some are gravelly but I had no issues. Most path are flat or a slight incline, but there are one or two short but steeper slopes. Understandably so.
The animals all looked well cared for and it was nice to have a couple of areas where you could walk through them.
My daughter was very impressed with the size and condition of the play area - and so were we! I was a shame it was so wet, I'm sure on a future visit, should it be drier, she will be entertained for a good while there!
We finished off by having lunch in the Brown Bear Cafe next door - small, but friendly service and a basic but tasty menu.
We will return!

Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much for your recent comments, we are sorry about the rain, but glad it dried up for you at least and you could see many of our animals. Once the new Reptile House opens this October and a new indoor play area, visitors will have some new indoor areas to visit! Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Big improvement on the zoo since we visited about a year ago. New buildings, children's zoo where you can actually go in beside the goats, rabbits guinea pigs etc. New reptile house opening in the autumn. Only thing I think could do with improvement is the cafe, food was good enough, but the premises a bit small for when it is busy. Also not sure if there was a staff shortage as service was a bit slow, sometimes there was no one at the counter even when there was a que. Apart from cafe, was an enjoyable day out. Plenty to keep youngsters amused.

Thank r0syth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments and delighted that you enjoyed your visit and seeing all the animals. Yes, we are aware of the need for a larger café and once funds permit hope to either enlarge this area or create new eating outlets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Sisters Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Five Sisters Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing