We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close and personal with wild animals ...”
Review of Five Sisters Zoo

Five Sisters Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Five Sisters Zoo offers a great value family day out for all the family. With over 120 different species from all around the world from bats to bears and lemurs to lynx everyone has their favourites. Daily handling sessions, keeper talks and feed the lemur sessions. School and groups are most welcome, group rates available. Please see the website for full details and admission charges. Open all year.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with wild animals ...”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We visited five sisters zoo on 05.08.2014, we got there for opening at 10am so we could buy the additional ticket to feed the lemurs (£5). Time seemed to fly by and before we knew it it was 1pm time to feed the lemurs! We both went into the enclosure with 4 other people and the zoo keeper gave us our dishes and let us feed the animals.. It was such a surreal experience... The lemurs paws were as soft as velvet, the only thing I wished five sisters did was take a photo of this special moment so you could take home as it's quite difficult to do so yourself whilst feeding the animals. All in all an excellent day out I'd recommend it to all my friends and family and I'll more than likely be back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ca231209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about your visit and delighted that you enjoyed your day with us and especially feeding our lovely ring-tailed lemurs. Will pass on your comments about the photograph and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    217
    28
    10
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing day out!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I usually visit Five sisters with (adult) friends, but we took a friends wee girl yesterday and we all had the most amazing time. It's been a while since I visited but there have been HUGE changes recently and all for the better. The castle petting zoo is lovely with goats, rabbits, guinea pigs etc and the new enclosures are brilliant. There is much more space for the meercats and the new monkey enclosures are great. The walk through enclosure for the wallabies is lovely too. The Arctic wolves are just beautiful!
Being with a child for the first time I realised how good the play park is, and the mini cars were a firm favourite too.
We paid extra for the lemur feeding and animal handling tickets, but both were well worth the extra.
As always the staff were friendly and helpful beyond the point of good customer service and were genuinely enthusiastic about the park and the animals.
My friend's little girl is already planning our next visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about the Zoo, delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found it to be an enjoyable, value for money day out. Hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic family fun day out, in a wonderful caring & nurturing family run zoo :-) :-) :-)”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Come every yr 2 visit during july. The zoo is a fabulous, fun packed & informative place 2 have a super family day out, where u can spend the whole day & have plenty 2 c & do. The animals r extremely well cared & provided 4, in lovely surroundings, where u can get up real close 2 them &, even pet & walk amongst many of them. Every yr the changes made get better & better. I have always found all the staff 2 be extremely helpful & very informative & friendly. They will stop & chat & answer all your questions on the different species. Very good value 4 money & certainly worth a visit as guaranteed ul not be dissapointed. Upon request 1 of the keepers even took the time 2 enter the macaw parrot enclosure & retrieve numerous colourful feathers 4 my little boy 2 take back 2 school & gave us a very interesting chat on the parrots.This made my sons day. Keep up the fantastic work Fivesisters & looking 4ward already 2 next yrs visit ☆★☆★☆

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, we are thrilled you like all the changes that have taken place and enjoyed your recent visit. Thanks so much for being such a great supporter of the Zoo - look forward to welcoming you back again! The staff all work so hard looking after both the animals and the visitors and this makes it all worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had such a lovely day at Five Sisters. We took a 5 year old and a 2 1/2 year old. Entrance fee was reasonable for the amount there is to see and do. Although the children enjoyed stroking the rabbits in their pens, I didnt think it was very well staffed and volunteers were less than helpful. I did feel that the coops that some of the chickens were in were far too small and one of the cockerels in particular was showing signs of distress. Handwashing facilities were non existent within the area where goats and kids were living which worried me as its not easy to stop the kids from touching animals. The rat enclosure was a favourite.We managed to catch the feline talk in the afternnoon which was great for the grown ups, the keeper was knowledgable, the children just wanted to see the cats eat their lunch. Our kids loved the park, plenty of room for them all to play. I can't imagine we'll visit again all that soon, no need for a season pass but perhaps once the new Reptile house is up and running. I did not expect to find such a generally excellent zoo in West Lothian it has a lovely atmosphere and the majority of the enclosures are spacious and well maintained
As a ps could I point out that the sign for the sheep states that one of them is a Ryedale, he is not, he is a Ryeland. Apologies for the pedantry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Truly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about the Zoo and delighted that you and the children enjoyed your visit. We have noted your points about the chickens and we will check as there are normally a number of hand sanitizer dispensers in the Castle Zoo. Hope to see you again once the Reptile House and indoor play area are complete. Will also check on the sheep information!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Day Out with Children”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent a sunny day her with another adult and 3 children ages 4, 5 and 7.
Good deal of covered picnic shelter for keeping out of the sun, or the rain.
Interesting animals to see in what appears to be good quality 'pens'. Spacious area for the birds and animals compared to some other (larger) zoos. Easy to walk around, and with handling opportunities (both paid and free) in the 'castle zoo'.
Large outdoor play area which our children loved.
Food and refreshments available to purchase on site, but ,as always, more cost effective to take supplies with you.
Will make a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesscotland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fivesisterszoo, Public Relations Manager at Five Sisters Zoo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about your visit - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your day and seeing all the animals that we care for. Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Sisters Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Five Sisters Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing