We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Harburn House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Calder
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harburn House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Calder
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We spent a delightful weekend here at a wedding - what a venue! We had wonderful accomodation with a four poster, the room was huge, the wardrobe was the biggest I've ever seen, the bathroom bigger than most hotel rooms. Main house has great character, high ceilings, period features, historical family portraits etc. Food was all excellent. Friendly helpful staff. The actual wedding venue was a barn-conversion style stone and timber building with great character and provided for an excellent atmosphere.The grounds are immense and beautiful, don't get lost.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Having spent a few weeks last year looking for the best place to have a family re-union for 30 family members of all ages I found on the internet this magical place. We were SO lucky as we had only seen Harburn on the internet and could not visit before booking so had all fingers crossed!
OH BOY did they come up with what we wanted and a lot more, we never expected the standard of care to be so high we were just amazed at what we got for what we paid. I agree with the other reviews that I have read and can only say if you want a family holiday you cannot do better as long as you want Scotland. The privacy and spaciousness of the estate combined with the amazing caring staff and food was the ultimate experience. Whow Thank you Harburn we will be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank becky13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I run a cancer charity and Harburn House was the venue for our pamper day for cancer patients. Harburn House and its grounds are beautiful, tranquil and a joy to visit. We were given the House and the grounds for the day free of charge. Complimentary tea, coffee and light refreshments were provided. The lunch was one of the best I have experienced and was served by the very helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure everyone was comfortable. The bedrooms are beautiful and were at our disposal in case anyone needed a lie down. The grounds have to be seen to be believed. Many thanks to all at Harburn House.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mags P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I've attended and photographed a number of events at Harburn House over the last 3 years, and I'm always delighted to go there. A superb location, a Georgian mansion within it's own estate grounds, perfect for weddings and photos, and the food is always superb. Overall, just quite splendid!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhoddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here as part of a course. Huge estate with different property across it. I stayed in one of the lodges. Accommodation was fine albeit could do with an upgrade.

Food and service very good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Calder
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
522 reviews
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Carlowrie Castle
Carlowrie Castle
#44 of 204 in Edinburgh
40 reviews
Bankton House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Livingston
65 reviews
West End Hotel Limited
#1 of 1 in West Calder
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harburn House

Property: Harburn House
Address: West Calder EH55 8RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > West Calder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Calder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Harburn House Hotel West Calder
Harburn House West Calder, Scotland - West Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing