We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is Spain give me more!”
Review of Hotel Montsant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montsant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xativa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Only spent 3 nights here as base for family wedding in nearby Carca but loved every minute of my stay. My first visit to Spain and, being an asthma sufferer, the walk up the hill from railway station with luggage is not to be recommended. However I was met with immediate support and kindness by a staff member. The rooms are more than comfortable, the surrounds and views breathtaking. Food and service excellent. Really can't find fault. Thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel and friendly town!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scousek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montsant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Mont-Sant is a classic, unpretentious restaurant and hotel in Xativa, a quiet, un-touristic town about 50 minutes from Valencia.

We were married there in 2011, and had an amazing time. The building and grounds are beautiful, and the setting is comfortable, quiet and very green. The food at the restaurant is mostly excellent - we tried a few disappointing dishes, but the good ones were fantastic. The staff was helpful, friendly and courteous, and went well beyond the call of duty to make our wedding - and the stay of all our guests at the hotel - perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b1unozr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed two nights and found the ambiance and food to be great. You are half way to the castle at Mont-Sant. Not much happening in Xativa at night and had a hard time finding another place to eat. Oh well, we enjoyed the setting and quiet at Mont-Sant. A resort set up for weddings and business conferences, but works for the tourist as well. A nice wine selection. Price was reasonable for such a beautiful setting. Cabanas have bathtubs and very spacious. A nice change from the bustle of the big city and a castle worth seeing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brodyman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have been twice and stayed both times in the old building's tower and main rooms. All were top class. Restaurant very nice and greatly convienient if you have just traveled a long distance. Service all had nice smiles.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winebore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This hotel is that type of accomodation that make Europe so special,Perched on the hill just below the famous historical building , nested in a garden with orange and several other plants where you can discover a refreshing pool. The rest are the fragrances, the silence, the sense of being away from the speed of our time . Drink a good glass of Rjoia on your terrace, find a book you love and let the ambience do make you fell well.
Rooms are with a large use of wood and make the warm feeling even warmer.
A good breakfast and a restaurant on place do complete what can be an excellent option to stay in Valencia

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enricoallievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I should probably start by saying that this hotel can be difficult to find if using SatNav. The quoted address of 'Carretera del Castillo' is on the other side of the mountain. Best to use directions for Xativa castle and you'll find Mont sant on the road out of town to the castle. We had a bit of a mixed experience. We had an excellent meal on our first night when we tried the tasting menu. Great service and lovely wines recommended by the waiter. The following night we had a disappointing experience from the a la carte. Poor quality, fatty food. We found most of the staff were disinterested. Most interactions with them were very transactional. The breakfast menu had cooked choices in addition to the buffet. On the first day there were no staff in the breakfast room during so we could not order anything . Day 2, friendly staff and a great breakfast, Room was spacious but very dark. No view from the room, only trees. It's a 20 minute walk up to the castle which is well worth a look. It's also a 20 minute walk into town. It's a steep uphill walk on the way back so only for those who are active. The hotel has nice grounds, a gym and a pool which was not yet open when we visited.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This is a great place,in spite of some drawbacks(none of which can not be easily corrected).The site,the buildings,the rooms ,the grounds are first class and very beautiful.
There is one exeption to this ,and this is the restaurant room,which is kitted out to serve conferences of lower grade civil servants or eat as much as you can at a fixed price tourists.
Luckily,we were placed in the chimney alcove for our supper.
This is an establishment that makes us very ambivalent-situation,attitude,concept,interior and exterior design are great,and show individual creative thinking.With maybe two exceptions we know of no other houses in Spain where one can stay in such comfort.
One arrives up a steep hill,is met by rather indifferent staff(not very engaged,eg guest question:Is this a smoking room?Staff answer:Your suite has many balconies-but it may be cold!Reality:Our suite had at least five ashtrays!Guest reflection:Don't they know what they are running,or do they enjoy their personal jokes on your and the owners expense?
Anyway,approaching the hotel part,you wonder at first wheather this is a mountain hut in Norway or in Japan?Inside you're bowled over-it remains wooden,but richly and stylishly
so-you feel warm and cocooned,and you enjoy the huge spaces(and the ashtrays).
Our dog liked the garden of our suite-in the middle of December we were rather indifferent to its charms.
Supper was adequqte to good,service friendly and somewhat competent.It was strange-the gentleman at reception who apparently did not know that our suite was a smoking one also told us that our dag had to stay in the suite during our supper.When we asked the serving staff,the answer was .Bring the dog if he is well behaved.We did and he was.
To sum this up:Great and ecclectic design of the hotel part,fantastic grounds,in great need of closer owner attention to and management of staff.We would like to return to find
some improvement in this area.
Overall,a hotel we liked very much indeed.
D&CGoeransson

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claesgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xativa
0.2 mi away
La Maga Rooms
La Maga Rooms
#2 of 3 in Xativa
133 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel La Gastrocasa - Adults Only
15.9 mi away
Hotel Portal del Caroig
Hotel Portal del Caroig
#1 of 1 in Enguera
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Masia La Mota
12.3 mi away
Hotel Kazar
Hotel Kazar
#1 of 1 in Ontinyent
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Cigroner Xativa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montsant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montsant

Address: Carretera Castillo s/n | Subida al Castillo de Xativa, s/n, 46800 Xativa, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Xativa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xativa
Price Range: £88 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montsant 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montsant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing