We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place To Stay”
Review of Hotel Montsant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montsant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xativa
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place To Stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is set in a fantastic place, half way up the hill to the castle. With views all around it. Beautiful grounds with seats placed to enjoy the peace and views. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. It was like staying with friends who made you feel at home. The attention to detail in the hotel was amazing ,an old building with a very modern touch inside. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    56
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
91
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely location for a 7 day visit, at the time we visited the hotel was undergoing renovations, during the renovations they made a significant archeological discovery this meant that there were students and archeologist by the hundreds visiting, the hotel has not found its direction and needs to focus on its priorities..if targeting tourist the hotel needs to do much more to support and guide the tourist. Map of the area was given w all the restaurant locations that was it no other info given...the lift, pool and gym was not working whilst we visited. and has been out of use for some time...Hotel does not cater for English speaking tourist.. No English speaking TV etc...no music

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulinaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here late Aug 2012 for one night as part of a 3 week road trip to Spain. Our Sat Nav (Tom Tom) wouldn't recognise the address so we set it for the street below by looking on Google maps and found it from there. There is good secure parking. The road up to the hotel is quite long and steep so if walking down into the town be aware of the walk back if you have any health problems. Trying to find a taxi to bring you back could, as we found, be impossible.

We never ate here so can't comment on the food. The decision to go eat down in the town rather than at the hotel was made after we ordered some drinks shortly after our arrival - we were hot and thirsty after the long drive to get here. The hotel receptionist was also the barman and it took him an age to bring our drinks out as he was fiddling on his computer and seemed to be too busy to attend the guests. We had to go and ask him twice if he'd forgotten, so based on that level of service we decided to eat elsewhere. It has to be said that when we arrived there was a girl on reception and she was very helpful, but she'd gone off duty when we got back to the bar.

Although from first impressions the hotel looks beautiful - and it is, with the original building having once been an old monastery - the "cabin" we had looked more like a cupboard when we finally reached it, (the girl on reception at that time was lovely and helped us up with our bags) it was very uninviting from the outside. It did have air con however, and was better inside than out although it was a bit jaded and needed a spruce up. Getting hot water to come out of the shower or taps was a bit hit and miss - sometimes we had it, others we didn't. Both hot and cold water smelled strongly of chlorine and we stunk of it too after after our shower.

Xativa is an unremarkable little town but quite lively with it's little bars and restaurants, one night here was enough though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way from Barcelona to the Costa Blanca, and it was fantastic! It's an old monastery turned into a hotel in a small town. The terraced property has beautiful gardens, old walkways, waterways, a pool and restaurant. Our dinner outside was fantastic and our sever was extremely attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast buffet spread was also varied and delicious.

The hotel is at the base of a castle built on top of the hill that is worth a visit. I would recommend staying for one or two nights as there isn't much in the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AXQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Only spent 3 nights here as base for family wedding in nearby Carca but loved every minute of my stay. My first visit to Spain and, being an asthma sufferer, the walk up the hill from railway station with luggage is not to be recommended. However I was met with immediate support and kindness by a staff member. The rooms are more than comfortable, the surrounds and views breathtaking. Food and service excellent. Really can't find fault. Thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel and friendly town!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Mont-Sant is a classic, unpretentious restaurant and hotel in Xativa, a quiet, un-touristic town about 50 minutes from Valencia.

We were married there in 2011, and had an amazing time. The building and grounds are beautiful, and the setting is comfortable, quiet and very green. The food at the restaurant is mostly excellent - we tried a few disappointing dishes, but the good ones were fantastic. The staff was helpful, friendly and courteous, and went well beyond the call of duty to make our wedding - and the stay of all our guests at the hotel - perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b1unozr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed two nights and found the ambiance and food to be great. You are half way to the castle at Mont-Sant. Not much happening in Xativa at night and had a hard time finding another place to eat. Oh well, we enjoyed the setting and quiet at Mont-Sant. A resort set up for weddings and business conferences, but works for the tourist as well. A nice wine selection. Price was reasonable for such a beautiful setting. Cabanas have bathtubs and very spacious. A nice change from the bustle of the big city and a castle worth seeing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brodyman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xativa
0.2 mi away
La Maga Rooms
La Maga Rooms
#2 of 3 in Xativa
128 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel La Gastrocasa - Adults Only
21.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Masia La Mota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Portal del Caroig
Hotel Portal del Caroig
#1 of 1 in Enguera
50 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Kazar
Hotel Kazar
#1 of 1 in Ontinyent
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Aldomar
Casa Aldomar
#1 of 6 in Xativa
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montsant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montsant

Property: Hotel Montsant
Address: Carretera Castillo s/n | Subida al Castillo de Xativa, s/n, 46800 Xativa, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Xativa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xativa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montsant 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montsant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing